We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natives of Westport you are so lucky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Natives of Westport you are so lucky”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed in the Plaza before unfortunatly it was booked out for this weekend as was the Castlecourt on Friday night Lucky for us we were able to get a cancellation in The CastleCourt on Saturday night after spending a dull Friday night in The Harlequin Castlebar The Bistro gets a 5*plus from us food was served quickly really really beautiful and so well priced natives of Westport you are so lucky to have such a 5*+bistro on your doorstep wish we had a bistro like this near our home The room was very spacious and spotless clean I suffer with back problems so was a bit worried about changing beds but I neednt have the bed was great and in spite of the fact that there was a wedding on that day we had a great sleep a lovely meal in The Bistro and a great breakfast We would very highly reccomend The Castlecourt Hotel and cant wait to return Thank you to all at The CastleCourt for a lovely stay Paul and Evelyn

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor had a great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    365
    128
    51
    28
See reviews for
415
552
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a mid week madness deal last week, and it certainly was a fantastic deal! Even got a free bottle of wine with dinner. As a family of 5 we had 2 rooms. One had 2 double beds and the other a double and single. Rooms were large and perfect for our needs. The hotel food was fabulous and the kids enjoyed an evening of kids club with meal in the hotel followed by a trip to the local cinema. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked breakfasts were made to order so were piping hot when served. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especiall when it came to making up bottles and dinners for the baby. We had our wedding reception there almost 15 years ago and it was lovely to return with kids in tow and experience the same level of warmth and friendliness from the hotel staff all these years later. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great and well worth the money, stay and trip. Many thanks, Highly recommended. Ths was for me and a friend and we would definitely visit again from the UK. The celebrations were excellent, the staff first class and the general ambience was also well worth it, My thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Castlecourt Hotel with others.
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the celebrations at our new years eve Gala Ball, that you felt it was value for money and would highly recommend it to others. I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Once again Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Castlecourt Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself and my Fiance were here this time last year for his birthday and had nothing but positives. He loved it so much that i decided to treat him to night away for birthday. I was disappointed with some aspects but first the positives:
Lovely room but pure TV connection with snowy screen and 2 beds pushed together for a king size bed.
Extremely hard working bar staff- generally very friendly even very late into the night!
Decor in hotel- fabulous
Leisure centre fine but sauna and steam rooms very small!!
Ample underground car parking.
Breakfast till 11 (on a sunday).
Lovely music in bar- so good we stayed there all night.

Negatives:
Slow check in despite 3 receptionists being on: i dont mind waiting just acknowledge that guest has been waiting long time. Receptionist provided no information for us- it was like drawing blood from a stone. compare with last year- very friendly receptionist.
Waiting staff at breakfast were very sour but breakfast was lovely.
Dinner in bistro- poor enough with nonchalent waiter: e.g threw plates down on the table and walked away. Tasteless food for both of us (except Brie starter which was lovely)
Receptionist on check out did not ask how our stay went- i think this is very important to ascertain guests experiences and it was not busy at the time so there was no excuse. once she saw that we had paid, that was it: no thank you, no goodbye.


Everything last year about the hotel last year impressed me, particularly the staff. I feel some of the personnel did leave me with a poor second impression but i dont think this would stop me from visiting the hotel again next year. Would not dine there again though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick27Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for my parents as a Christmas present and I was extremely impressed with the level of service provided. I have dealt with many hotels and this one is truly one of the best to date. Blathnaid on reception is fantastic and dealt with my reservation in a very professional manner. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ker_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had our wedding in Aug. 2012 in the Castelcourt Hotel.

Neither of us are from Mayo so we stayed in the hotel a few times while organising the various things for the day (church, flowers etc, etc). Also most of our guests stayed there for the wedding wend too.

We were really happy with the service we received at the Castlecourt and would definitely recommend it to everyone for their wedding venue. The whole wend went perfect from the moment the guests arrived to the time we left 3 days later. The service we got on the day was amazing, the staff went above and beyone the call of duty to ensure everything ran smoothly and to plan. The food was absolutely delicious, both the meal on the day, the breakfasts and the meals we had during our prior stays. The rooms we reserved for our guests were perfect. One of the most important things in my view was that the staff were so lovely too. The flower displays throught the hotel are absolutely stunning!! Can't wait to return on our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had our Toastmasters Christmas Dinner at the hotel this week and thanks to the efficient staff had a great evening. The food was super with lot of menu choice. The staff were clearly on-hand but remained unobtrusive throughout the night.
The hotel management certainly know how to present the hotel to its best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel with others. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Club Christmas Dinner with us and that you found the staff efficient, food super with a good menu choice.
On behalf of us all here in The Castlecourt Hotel I would like to thank you for your custom and wish all the members of Toastmasters continued success for 2013.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing