We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth stopping for...”
Review of Yvonne's Cottage

Yvonne's Cottage
Ranked #17 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A traditional Irish Cottage styled in the 1950 era. Serving lunches and freshly baked scones and breads. A great selection of coffees and dessert also available.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So worth stopping for...”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had such a wonderful day on the greenway, from Newport to Mulranny (&back!) We stopped off @ Yvonne's cottage for a well deserved break! The first thing that struck me was the view, wow! The second thing was the cottage, this traditional building was lovingly restored. The freshly baked scones hit the spot & the kids had homemade pancakes with chocolate sauce, they were in heaven! The staff couldn't do enough for us, even though they were extremely busy. We'll done everyone at Yvonne's & we look forward to our next visit already!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CastleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    23
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Interesting pit stop on the Greenway”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

On the stretch between Newport and Mulranny in Rosturk, one of the best parts is when you cycle over the crest of the hill at the turnoff to the cottage. The view from the approach road is breathtaking. Ride down the steep hill to the cottage (lots of flags fluttering) and take a well-deserved break. Tea, coffees, scones, cakes and simple sandwiches will take the edge off. If the weather is good, you can see out to Clare Island and Croagh Patrick. On the edge of Clew Bay, you can make out the walled gardens of Rosturk Castle. Inside the traditional cottage has been painstakingly restored down to the photos of the Pope's arrival and the Kennedy's visit. The Sacred Heart and family photos, historical artifacts and charming touches complete the picture. Plus, they have a modern loo. :)

The Cottage is accessible by car from the main road as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruising_kitty_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We cycled the Greenway from Newport to Mulranny and stopped off at the cottage on the way home for lunch. Highly recommend popping in, staff were lovely, the cottage itself is adorable, and the (much needed) food was delicious. Small portions, but when you're cycling you don't want to be full.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyVC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to bring the family.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stopped of here on our cycle of the green way. Brilliant service and lovely people. Beautiful cottage with a real homely feel. Food was fantastic. We were early so it was just baked fresh from the oven. Brown scones and fruit scones were gorgeous as were the pancakes. and just what we needed to carry on our journey. coffee and tea were just as good. Prices were very reasonable. Well worth stopping off if you are down that neck of the woods.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great chowder”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate here when we cycled the Greenway. Lovely spot with great food especially the chowder which was packed with seafood. Very helpful staff and good service too, no delays. Well worth stopping for a little r&r along the way

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tradmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yvonne's Cottage also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Yvonne's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing