We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Beach”

Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Secret Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lovely little beach, Keem Strand at the end of the road (R319) but as it is next stop America don't expect all the facilities and this is what makes it so special.
Also for those who like hill walking, park the car at the beach car park, start climbing the local hill (660M) but be prepared and make sure you have the right gear as it is not a stroll in the park, breath taking views and all part of the Wild Atlantic Way.
You will not be disappointed unless of course, the rain or cloud from the Atlantic has arrived in first, so check the weather before you set out. Only one request try and keep it a secret.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamsver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    122
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I first went here in August 1968 on a family holiday in Keel as the Russian tanks rolled into Prague. It has changed and been built up but the scenery is still really outstanding making me wonder why I don't go here more often, not just to Achill but to this whole lovely, bleak area

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must do drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We drove to Achill to do the cliff hike, but were equally impressed with the drive itself. Of course the beautiful sunny weather helped, but even in not so perfect weather it is a worthwhile drive!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chocaholic1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Achill Island with Kids”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were disappointed with this for our family party. Our daughters are aged 9 and 12, and after a long drive, not much to do unless you are into watersports.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A stunning place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Achill Island is in the back of beyond but well worth a trip. The blue flag beach is stunning and the visit to the very eerie deserted village is a must.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalachyByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Drive on Achill Island also viewed

 
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Atlantic Drive on Achill Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing