We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Achill Island, a real gem on Ireland Westcoast”

Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Achill Island, a real gem on Ireland Westcoast”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Achill Island could be compared with beautifull Connemara, only it is smaller. I've been visiting Achill Island in May and enjoyed the region with the violet Rhododendron flowers mixed with the yellow brooms. Achill Island is worth while to be visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 646Brigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    135
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful drive”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

the wild beauty of the drive has to be experienced to be believed.
the panorama is magnificent.not to be missed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This drive is terrific and in my opinion a "must do." Be sure to go all the way to the western end. Gorgeous beaches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tahotart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Scenic”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We drove around the south side of Achill. The scenery is spectacular and well worth the drive . The roads are good with plenty of stopping off points .If you are interested in landscape photography this drive offers plenty of photo opportunities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We drove this route from Westport on a whim and I'm so very glad we did. We drove clockwise around the Corraun Penninsula and ended up in Anchill. The scenery is amazing and by far one of the most memorable of our trip to Ireland. We had driven the Ring of Kerry 2 days before and found this to be just as spectacular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KateLouiseMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Drive on Achill Island also viewed

 
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Atlantic Drive on Achill Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing