We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Rental House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Door Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Door Westport
Ranked #40 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Comber, Co.Down
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Rental House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

A group of eight of us have just returned from The Red Door and it was fantastic! We loved this house. Tracy the owner is so helpful and friendly. The house itself is very spacious with a huge well equipped kitchen. There are two living rooms so plenty of space for us all. The bedrooms are all a great size and two are downstairs which suited our group. Everywhere is spotless, very well decorated and furnished and you feel relaxed and at home straight away. There is lots of outside space and it is in a very quiet area so that suited us well. You do need a car to get in and out of Westport. You will not find better than this....we will be back. Thank you Tracy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our group of 12 ladies hired the red door for a hen in July and had a fantastic time, the house itself has four bedrooms of which the two upstairs are more than big enough for the four people each that stayed in them.
The decor is cosy yet modern with beautiful furnishings and the real wood fire in the smaller lounge is very welcoming.
The garden is a good size with outdoor seating, this would be a great house to rent out for any family gathering as it is well stocked with books, DVDs play station and board games etc.
I would definitely suggest a car if you are staying here as westport is a 10min taxi ride away.

Room Tip: The navy loft room is the largest, has nice views of the garden and walk in wardrobe with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nottsreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent lovely weekend in achill island, stayed in Red door B&B. Absolutely wonderfull house, beatifully decorated with all the details. En suite rooms are big and very comfortable with beautifull view over the countryside. Breakfast was fantastic: fresh bread, croissants, cereals, yogurts, fruits and full irish breakfast. Owner so kind and helpfull with everything. The only thing is location which is not really in the centre of Westport, so car own transport is necessary, but it wasn't any problem for as. Highly recommend that place!

Room Tip: cosy, warm, beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zankus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in this B&B in August 2012 as part of a group of 6. This is an absolutely wonderful B&B - beautifully decorated in all aspects. My husband and I got to stay in a largest room on the top floor which felt like luxury. It had fabulous views over the countryside on both sides, and included a large en-suite and even a walk in wardrobe! All rooms had tea and coffee making facilities which was greatly appreciated after mountain climbs in the area.
The host was very welcoming and helpful, even recommending and booking us a table in Westport on the Saturday night in a lovely restaurant.
The breakfast served the next morning also exceeded all expectations - there were cereals, fruit and the excellent Irish breakfast - enjoyed every mouthful.
The B&B is located a few miles outside of Westport so a car or taxis would be necessary however we had our own transport so this wasn't an issue.
I would not hesitate to recommend or stay in this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this superb little B & B on the west coast of Ireland. Tracy, the owner, could not have be more helpful. The whole house was spotless, you literally could have eaten your dinner of the floor. An extremely comfortable en-suite bedroom, with the best bed I have slept in excluding my own. Fantastic full Irish breakfast set us on our way. We could not recommend this any higher. Top quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is probably one of the nicest bed and breakfasts in Ireland. The house is new and beautifully furnished throughout. There is a communal sittting room and many books and dvds available to keep you entertained. The owner very kindly rang around restaurants in Westport for us and made a dinner reservation as we came at a particularly busy weekend. The breakfast was fantastic- a buffet of waffles, croissants, breads, cheese board, fruit, yoghurts, a wide selection of hot beverages, cereals and muesli as well as a full Irish breakfast cooked to perfection! I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast, the owner has gone to enormous efforts to make sure that you feel welcome, from the tea/coffee making facilities (which included a very welcome chocolate treat to go with your drink!) to ringing us (as we were quite late checking in) to make sure we were able to find the place. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisMartin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful little find on the West coast. Staying in an en-suite room with breakfast included. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and the rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated. We also had access to a comfortable communal lounge with TV and sofas to read and relax.

I have to compliment the owner - this was by miles the friendliest, most welcoming B&B I've ever stayed in. On arrival we were offered a drink, given maps and talked through the area, given recommendations for the best bars, restaurants in Westport and surrounding area.
Tracy the owner could not have been more friendly or helpful and we thoughly enjoyed our first taste of a full Irish.

This is how all B&BS should be. I can't think of a bad thing to say. We enjoyed staying here hugely and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Westport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltfish46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
4.9 mi away
Seapoint House
Seapoint House
#22 of 70 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boffin Lodge
Boffin Lodge
#13 of 70 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.3 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Rise & Shine B & B
Rise & Shine B & B
#26 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckfield Inn Westport
Buckfield Inn Westport
#15 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Door Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Door Westport

Property: The Red Door Westport
Address: Cogaula, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Door is just a short drive from the beautiful heritage town of Westport. You'll find crisp white linen sheets on the most comfy, cosy beds and awake to a sumptuous homemade breakfast to start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Door Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing