We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Seapoint House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seapoint House
Ranked #23 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked seapoint house online recently and each member of our party were very pleased with the standards presented. Seapoint House, albeit off a beaten track, is probably one of the best B & B's in the west of Ireland. (so much so, i am writing a tripadvisor review, that i never do) Carol and her team have a family friendly, spacious and welcoming home with delicious home cooking and extensive breakfast menu with as much locally sourced items as possible. Having arrived to Seapoint House with a view to eating in Westport, Carol kindly offered fresh mackerel from the bay, which was deliciously barbequed and delicately presented with homemade brown bread and coleslaw. Each room is well appointed and well laid out with beautiful views of clew bay and clare island. There is also a very comfortable sitting/Drawing room with a well stocked library. Carol deserves a five star rating for service, food, ambience, cleanliness and functionality. I would recmommend Seapoint House to anyone seeking accomodation in the west or indeed those looking for a getaway break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned to the UK - spent 2 nights at Seapoint house. Lovely and friendly hostess in Carol. Very welcoming to her beautiful home. Nice clean room. Great breakfast. Wonderful view over the bay from our bedroom. Would definitely return should the opportunity arise again. If you stay at Seapoint House, the walk beyond the house is a must as the views from the hill are breath taking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent three nights in this property. Our room was spacious, with a fantastic view across the water. It was very comfortable, with two chairs and a good TV to watch. The whole place was very clean and tidy with a delightful hostess who was prepared to do anything to make your stay even better. We would definitely go back if we are ever in Ireland again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRyan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A good b&b , rather expensive compared with others we stayed in. Lovely large clean room with a good sea view. Would have liked tea making facilities & a few toiletries for the price. Breakfast was plentiful but a bit precooked.Lovely lounge facilities with open fire. Some areas a bit rough around the edges.Good location, wonderful part of Ireland. Overall we were happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I spent 1 night at Seaport House in April.The property was about 20mins to the north of Westport but worth the drive.LOOKOUT for the turn off which has only a small signpost on the left hand side of the road heading north.Our room was very comfortable with a nice view to the water.We had a bath in our ensuite.The guest room had a beautiful fireplace which was lit for our arrival and we had tea and cake infront of it. Breakfast was was great!! Carol the owner was loverly and had some interesting stories.We took a beautiful walk along the waters edge and over the causeway which is a must.Spent the evening in Westport and did a couple of pubs.A great on owned by one of the Cheiftons band.Live music in the evening.Could have easily spent more than 1 night here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robspunkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We're just back from our second stay at Seapoint House, well third really, we found the place on our kayaking travels last year, we only originally planned to stay for 2 nights in Clew Bay, but, having left intending to spend a few nights paddling around Connemara lakes, we ended up deciding to come back a few days later and treat ourselves with another night in Seapoint House. Seapoint House has it's own slipway into the stunning Clew Bay, for kayakers like ourselves this is such a treat; to have the amazing full breakfast (meats from a local award-winning butcher-delicious!) that Carol and Geraldine put up then just launch your boat, spend a few hours paddling and taking in the incredible scenery, then back to a lovely room, hot shower, and a 5 minute drive into Westport for supper.
The house is gorgeous and Carol and Conor are wonderful hosts, I don't have the words to describe what a treat this guesthouse is, well actually, travellers will appreciate something we overheard over breakfast this morning; a party of French visitors had arrived the night before, the weather was pretty bad and so some of the more weary visitors had decided to give the sightseeing a miss for the day; Carol took it in her stride and just said "well relax and put your feet up in the living room and I'll light the fire for you". I add here that they produce their own turf, and Carol makes wonderful scones and wheaten bread, left out for guests to enjoy as and when they come into the house.
We spent last night enjoying a bottle of wine in front of the fire in the beautiful living room, Conor and Carol came in for a chat, answering our many questions about the area, it was a lovely end to our wee break, it made us feel like we were staying in a friends house..
We have stayed in two different rooms so far, the views have been stunning from each.. I would like to reiterate other travellers comments, the walk on the adjoining causeway is a stunning way to round off the night watching the sun go down over the bay and then retiring to the comfort of the lovely charming lounge.. If the true measure of a guesthouse is that you feel like a guest in someone's house, then Seapoint House ticks all the boxes and is one of the many jewels that will make you want to return to Clew Bay again and again..

Room Tip: Room five has a view of the bay and doors that open out on a balcony over it..stunning at sunset..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Seapoint House and thoroughly recommend it as an inviting and homely base from which to explore the Co Mayo coastline. The location is beautifully tranquil and the views of Clew Bay from the house are stunning - even when the weather is not at its best. As others have reported, Carol is most welcoming and full of information about what to see, where to visit, etc. Also, her relaxed attitude and friendly nature just add to the pleasure of staying at Seapoint House - relax, unwind, and just enjoy the surroundings!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarchesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
7.1 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
4.5 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bertra House B&B
Bertra House B&B
#15 of 70 in Westport
125 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boffin Lodge
Boffin Lodge
#19 of 70 in Westport
296 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lurgan House B&B
Lurgan House B&B
#16 of 70 in Westport
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seapoint House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seapoint House

Property: Seapoint House
Address: Kilmeena, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seapoint House is situated on the waters edge amidst the islands of of Clew bay. It is a place of tranquility and extreme natural beauty. Ideal base for walking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, horse riding. Beside Clew Bay 9 hole golf course and only 9 Km from the award winning historical town of Westport providing Traditional pubs Seafood restaurants and good craic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seapoint House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing