We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time...especially for seniors!”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good time...especially for seniors!”
Reviewed October 25, 2006

I booked at the Hotel Westport because of the spa and for golf...that's it. Unfortunately, I didn't book my massage appointment until I arrived and they had no availability. Also, went to book a tee-time for golf and was told that they had none left! To be fair, there was some big party of older folks there (one was celebrating her 100th birthday!) and they monopolized most of the golf and spa.

This hotel is good for location, but the value isn't there. It was clean enough, but nothing special. The breakfast buffet was good (not great). One funny thing: We saw that it was a buffet and went to help ourselves. Some older ladies (I'm telling you, we happened to be the youngest people at the hotel this night) were waiting by the buffet and giving us confused looks. I selected my eggs, bacon, etc. and sat down. My husband came back to the table and told me that the ladies had scolded him because they were waiting to be served and we just came and took for ourselves! We didn't realize that we needed to be served....isn't self-serve the point of a buffet???

Note: We used the Rick Steves guide and it wasn't good for Westport. His restaurant recommendations were way off. Just tourist traps. All in all Westport is a fun town!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamcc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    323
    110
    53
    27
See reviews for
304
396
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Had a great time in the hotel and spa. staff were wonderful. the Girls on the reception were there with a smile every day. Dining room was busy and the food and service was excellent . could not fault anything.

  • Liked — Big rooms and short walk into westport town
  • Disliked — Going Home
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the hotels website for special offers - there are some great 1's
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MPOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Wesport in March for 2 nights bed and breakfast, including one evening meal.
We had no problem at all with the bedroom or bathroom - all very comfortable - and the staff were pleasant and courteous. On first impressions the hotel isn't aesthetically pleasing, but as soon as we entered the building we were greeted by luxurious decor and furnishings and lovely music.
We absolutely loved the breakfast but were very disappointed with the dinner; while we are both admittedly quite picky, we rarely go somewhere and find nothing on the menu that either of us can eat, as happened in this case.
The highlight was the leisure centre, and the treatments we received in the state-of-the-art spa - special mention to out therapist Amanda!
The location is ideal - just minutes walk from the town - and the hotel bar was quite nice for a quiet drink after our evening out.
Despite the dinner, we would both be very happy to return there sometime.

  • Liked — The Spa, and Westport itself
  • Disliked — The evening meal
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -Kate-2006-L-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

This was an unexpectedly pleasant stay. You will find other hotels in Westport that are better situated and have better views. However, the food and the atmosphere was great.

The whole place is contemporary and not exactly charming at first glance. However, the grounds are very nice. Most rooms overlook the carpark (unfortunately. Better planning would have given this an extra star from me), but they are nice and quite large.

Dinner was great, with the staff being very attentive and most produce from local farmers and markets. Quite a few locals had dinner there, always a good sign. I have read in another review that food was inedible - either the people must have burned their taste buds or something has happened in the meantime, because I had some really great food, and I am fairly demanding. Breakfast was also very nice, buffet style but with cooked options available.

The spa is very, very nice, even if you don't treat yourself to a massage or other treatment but just want to take advantage of the free options coming with the room itself (pool, jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna). And the gym is actually a gym with decent equipment, not the average dark cellar with less than functioning tools.

The hotel does different themes and has different offers. Some are aimed at elderly guest, others at families with young children, and you may want to ask in advance what they have on for the time you are going to stay there to make sure that it suits your ideas of a good stay.

Westport itself is a very nice town, one of the nicest in Ireland. And tidy enough to have a certificate to prove it. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main street with very nice pubs and still just far enough away to ensure you will get some peace.

  • Liked — The spa, the food and the closeness to Westport
  • Disliked — That most rooms overlook a carpark.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

My boyfriend and I booked a weekend break in the Hotel Westport in July. Having read some good reviews on TripAdvisor we were looking forward to staying in the 4star hotel and we booked spa treatments in the adjoining Ocean Spirit Spa. We booked the standard double room, for 2 nights B&B and one dinner, which worked out at 460 euro altogether.
On arrival, our first impressions of the hotel were that the exterior and the lobby were outdated, dark and smaller than we expected. The woman on the front desk was pleasant and we quickly checked in.
The first thing we were greeted with when we opened the bedroom door was a large toddler's playpen in the room - not exactly a great start for a "romantic" weekend away. I rang reception to ask them to remove it. They apologised and said that someone would be up straight away to take it away. However ten minutes later when no one had arrived, my boyfriend decided to dismantle the thing himself and leave it out in the hall for collection. Aside from this the room itself was very dark and the decor was horrible and outdated. The view was over the carpark, and was noisy with all the comings and goings of guests, and despite the tinted windows, it felt very exposed. The bathroom was like something out of an old nursing home, with blue rubber flooring, a cheap old electric shower in the bath and a dirty looking shower curtain that didn't do the job of keeping water from spilling out onto the floor. There was also a rather unpleasant smell in the room.
It being July, the weather was very warm and there was no air conditioning at all in the hotel.
We were entitled to one evening meal in the hotel restaurant, a very large, featurless room, completely lacking in atmosphere. The menu looked promising, however, the food that was served up was completely unsatisfactory and bordering on inedible.
Breakfast the following morning was even worse. I would go as far as to say it was without doubt the worst breakfast I have ever been served in this country. On top of this the service in the restaurant was appalling and the cleanliness of the tables, cups, etc was questionable.
We decided to inform management of our dissatisfaction and in fairness, the manager we spoke to dealt with our complaint in a very professional manner - she apologised and moved us to a suite that afternoon, and gave us a drink on the house.
The one redeeming feature of the Hotel Westport is the Ocean Spirit Spa, a clean, modern adjoining wing which is up there with any other 4 star hotel spa. It also has a leisure centre and pool which is fine, although we were charged a rather extortionate 5 euro each for the use of compulsory swimming caps.
On checkout, there were a number of mistakes on our bill, such as room service which we never used, and extra charges for use of the leisure centre which shouldn't have applied. These charges were removed when we pointed them out.
Overall, despite the gesture of the upgraded room, (which frankly was still below par) and the pleasant staff, the Hotel Westport is in our view, certainly not worthy of it's 4 star status and is badly in need of a complete overhaul and a new chef. We ended up paying quite a lot for a room we were unhappy with and food we couldn't eat - we didn't even go to breakfast the second morning as we knew what we could expect. Whereas it is seemingly a very family-friendly establishment, I would not recommend it at all for young couples looking for a romantic break in Westport and I definitely will not be returning.

Helpful?
6 Thank JDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing