We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forget the recession - this hotel and holiday made that possible”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“forget the recession - this hotel and holiday made that possible”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

we re-visited the Hotel Wesport this summer and found it to be to the same high standard we previously enjoyed. our rooms had been recently upgraded and decorated to an exceptional standard. as we have come to expect the service in the hotel was excellent. we enjoyed walks in the countryside around the town, a fabulous visit to Old Head, and above all a freindliness and hospitality wherever we went. Highly recommended - can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    330
    118
    56
    27
See reviews for
315
409
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in Hotel Westport for two nights. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was great. The suite was huge, perhaps just a little tired looking but perfectly clean and comfortable lovely. We felt that the majority of guests in the hotel were either families or couples of groups considerably older than ourselves. We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was great and breakfast every morning was delicious. Overall its not the most hip hotel you will ever stay in but we had a great time none the less!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTLEBLAYNEY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights with two young children and we had paid extra for the upgrade, this I would highly recomend as the standard room is old fashioned and musty. When we checked in we were told the room would be ready shortly so we decided to drop the bags into the room but we were met with a very rude responce from the cleaner supervisor who was checking the room. We then went to the pool but on arrival were told that they had run out of towels and to get our own towels from our room. We had to ring reception to recieve the complimentary toileties and bottled water the girl at reception had to go away and check that we were due these extras.The meals in the restaurant are good but the adult portioned are small for the price of 33 euro.The kids can chose their dinner as soon as they enter from an a la carte this was a great idea and should be extended to desert as they were looking for ice cream when we were on our main course.The breakfast was very disappointing with very limited selection of cereals, no pastries, no chesse no cold meats. The juices were just apple and orange and both tasted cheap. There was no fresh fruit and the scones were cooked the day before .The cooked breakfast was ok but wasn't freshly cooked. The playground outside was very dirty and part of the slide was boarded up as it was dangerous .We were very disappointed with our stay and will go to the plaza next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PANDGMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

as a party of four (ages-40s / 50s) we were wll pleased with the location, service and the food. Our rooms (especially our upgrade to premier) were well worth the money,
Riverside walk to the town was a nice little surprise!
Good clean, lively pubs in the evening was also a bonus.
Really, we were well pleased with everything.
If we returned to Westport in the future, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary,
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Hotel was beautiful, lovely rooms but all there were facilities for children, the children were not as welcome as in other hotels. A good hotel for couples.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryTipperary_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We had a four nights, three dinner special travelling with two kids (5 and 2 yr old). The town is Westport is a really beautiful medium sized town and has lots to keep you busy for a short stay. The hotel is situated about 5 mins walk along the river from the town centre so very well positioned.

Positives:
- Staff were fantastic...recommend the Panda Club
- Room was well above what we expected, though we were in the newly refurbished rooms.
- The pool and gym were well kept and managed, esp good for an early morning dip before the place got busy.
- Did I say the staff make the place....I forgot my laptop cable and before I even managed to call them, they had forwarded it though to my home address....great service.
- Great for Kids

Drawbacks:
- Not overly impressed with the restaurant, though I think eating in the same place each night would have this affect on my at any hotel....think next time I would book it on B&B basis and explore the town a bit more for dinner (prob cost a lot more).

All in all a great mid week break and I would recommend to to anyone wanting a mid week break with kids....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenyOg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The hotel is located a 5 minutes walk from the city center (I liked the foot path that starts in the back of the hotel, at the end of the parking lot and goes along the river shore).
The hotel offers free access to a large swimming pool. Everything is very clean. Spacious rooms with new furniture. Very good and hearty breakfast. Hospitable staff. The price in the height of the season was very competitive. A real gem!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fane_Babanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,367 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing