We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, LOVE this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love, Love, LOVE this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My boyfriend had decided to whisk me away on a surprise weekend, and after some sneaky investigating had found out that Westport is a favourite of mine. However, he booked the Hotel Wesport which was a place I had never stayed in before. I'm a creature of habit and like the same places so was a little out of place that he had booked a hotel I had never stayed in before. However from the minute we entered Hotel Wesport I was immediately at ease and felt very welcome.

The reception was busy, but the covered the necessary requirements (key, how to get to our room etc). I was in love with the room, the shower area was just MASSIVE!! The overall decor and layout of the room was absolutely gorgeous and we had a balcony too. Having left the kids behind, we had forgotten it was still midterm and there were a lot of families staying there. All were amazingly well managed and the kid's club looked really cool too. We tried our hand at a bit of crazy golf but there were too many mini golfers there to compete with! Nothing to complain about though.

Every person we met that worked at the hotel were nothing short of amazing. Genuinely friendly, very happy to talk and cater for anything we needed and I honestly cannot fault anything or anyone associated with the hotel. I also saw the General Manager at breakfast and he personally greeted some return visitors by name, which was a lovely thing to see. I am disappointed to see some less than favourable reviews of this hotel, as a person who is very picky about hotels and the overall experience, I can honestly say that I had the best visit ever, and I can say hand on heart that this will be my hotel of choice each and every time we stay in Westport. A sincere thanks to all of the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    304
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
288
378
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here in a group of 8 over the 1st to 3rd of November.Got down early on Fri and we were greeted by a nice friendly lady at reception who checked us in early.The rooms are nice clean and spacious and the bathrooms are nice.There was a smell in the bathroom I think it was from the sewerage but that seemed to come and go at different times.We played golf on Fri and came back for some bar food it was ok but 3 diff pots of tea had to go back it seemed to be a problem as other guests were doing the same a foul taste of the tea.We ate here Fri night in the restaurant and it was very disappointing.The room itself is to big like a hall and too bright.2 of the 8 starters were sent back and one main course as they were cold I felt sorry for the waiter.Breakfast both mornings was very good and plenty of it.The pool is nice and clean but starting to get dated in the men's changing rooms plus the showers were freezing.We had bar food again Sat afternoon and again the tea problem hadn't been sorted.One colleagues fish was so burnt if was sent back he had a sandwich instead.So overall it was a disappointing weekend,the rooms & breakfast were fine but the restaurant wasn't up to much I would have second thoughts about going back here again.The last 2-3 times I've been to Westport I've stayed in the Plaza & Knockranny House far better hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanH483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Westport is a nice base within easy walking distance of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection was very good. Our room was clean and comfortable but was a little dated. Our shower (and that of our friend in a different room) seemed to vary in temperature for no reason. Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, 2 adults and 3 children- fabulous meals, great services, great pool and super attitude to guests and especially children. Oh, fantastic rooms!

What made this trip extra special was the Greenway cycle experience which is located beside the hotel-this is a superb facility for young and old.

Room Tip: Stay off the main ground floor corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location for us doing our family history research in nearby Mulranny and Achill Island. Wasn't in heart of town but was a 10 min walk to all the action. Parking lot presented alot of challanges with tour buses and parking. Lobby was gorgeous and Hotel staff very friendly and accomodating. Rooms however lacked the same quality as the rest of the lobby and restaurant. They were a bit outdated and shabby by comparison. Wifi was complimentary. Accessiblity was foremost at this hotel plenty of ramps for wheelchairs, and accessible rooms. However there were only 3 handicapped accessible parking spots in the car park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed her during October mid term break. Really great Halloween break for our 6 and 10 year old girls. Kids Panda club was brilliant. The staff had the children occupied with fun games all morning and evening. The atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed. Lovely facials in the spa. Will be back definitely!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for the October bank holiday weekend. We had a premier room which was really nice. It was a modern room which had great amenities like a mini fridge, jacuzzi bath, double shower, tea and coffee making facilities. Only fault I had with the room itself was the cleanliness of the bathroom - the bathtub could do with a good scrub (lots of hairs and red marks in it). The hotel itself is very average. I wouldn't exactly call it a four star. The decor is dated throughout the hotel (except for the premier rooms). We had dinner here and whilst the food was very nice, the service was a bit slow. The ladies on reception were very lovely and we had no wait when checking in and out. Location of this hotel is just a five minute walk from all the action which suited us just fine. Overall I think if we didn't have such a nice room I wouldn't be too impressed, as it is not the cheapest hotel in Westport for what you get.

Room Tip: Definitely get a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing