We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly more of a 3 star rather than 4!”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Certainly more of a 3 star rather than 4!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for the October bank holiday weekend. We had a premier room which was really nice. It was a modern room which had great amenities like a mini fridge, jacuzzi bath, double shower, tea and coffee making facilities. Only fault I had with the room itself was the cleanliness of the bathroom - the bathtub could do with a good scrub (lots of hairs and red marks in it). The hotel itself is very average. I wouldn't exactly call it a four star. The decor is dated throughout the hotel (except for the premier rooms). We had dinner here and whilst the food was very nice, the service was a bit slow. The ladies on reception were very lovely and we had no wait when checking in and out. Location of this hotel is just a five minute walk from all the action which suited us just fine. Overall I think if we didn't have such a nice room I wouldn't be too impressed, as it is not the cheapest hotel in Westport for what you get.

Room Tip: Definitely get a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    334
    119
    56
    28
See reviews for
321
413
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and the staff were efficent and very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The menu on the breakfast table outlined everything there was for breakfast including fresh fish if wanted. Our room was comfortable with plenty of coffee and tea and enough channels to watch on the tv.Whilst the room needed decorating everything was clean and the cleaning staff were in every morning. I would recommend this Hotel as we found it very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I Booked a 3 night stay in a business Executive for herself a little guy (5yrs). On arrival the receptionist very pleasant. Got to room and was taken aback. Double + 2 singles rather dated and basic, bathroom very dated. Asked to be changed to different room with two beds, that was done but was carbon copy of previous. Logged on website and saw that they had put me in a standard (twice). Asked receptionist to confirm my room which she did, apology followed and was given executive room as per my booking. Huge difference, like being in a different hotel. NOTE, ALL THE ROOMS SHOULD BE LIKE THIS. Arrived at breakfast was met by girl in suit
(presume one of the managers) and told, sure you know where everything is by now i'm sure, so help yourself. Again, you should know your guests, attention to detail is what keeps most people coming back. Went to playroom on three occasions over the weekend and was locked, it should have been open . Only found it by accident on the way to pool, a sign would not go astray. This was odd as there was a huge banner advertising family friendly hotel etc in the reception area and was main reason for picking hotel. Food was quiet good and Bar staff very friendly. Pool was very clean and little lad loved it. Westport is a lovely place and im sure the hotel does quiet well but to be honest I left a little disappointed and won't be in a rush back to part with hard earned earnings.

Room Tip: Business executive - big difference to the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for 1 night before a wedding in a near by hotel the room was very dated I mean it is still a 4 star so the rooms should be a standard 4 star but the room was more of a 2 star at best breakfast was basic overall the hotel could do with a good clean and a revamp

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisasul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely break last week in Westport, climded Croagh Patrick and cycled The Green Way while staying at Hotel Westport. I would recommend Hotel Westport to everyone. From the minute we stepped inside the reception door we were shown exceptional hospitality and all everything was lovely. The staff throughout the hotel were really very nice. There is also a lovely river walk to the town centre which only take 5mins. Would have no hesitation in recomending Hotel Westport, it is also well signposted and we had no trouble finding it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and they could accommodate a family of four with a family room with a double bed and two singles. The room was clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room. Even though there was a wedding reception downstairs the room was quiet. The only noise was guests leaving the carpark.

The breakfast was huge with a chef serving great hot food. Even though the kitchen was very busy there was little wait for the food and no wait for a table.

We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which was tasty and the service was good. Again the restaurant was busy but we were served quickly.

We knew nothing about Westport and ended up there by chance but I would recommend both the hotel and the town for a visit. It is great stop between Dublin on the way to Connemara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Eire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break this week. The hotel certainly lived up to its 4 star status. The room was huge (3 beds). The breakfast fab. The dinner was top quality. The service was amazing. The staff were well trained for a top class hotel, very friendly, helpful and chatty. It was a bit pricey for a midweek break but all the hotels in Westport are expensive. Very glad we picked this one as convenient for town and could not complain about anything. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing