We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and relaxing top quality stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Helpful and relaxing top quality stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a groupon voucher so stayed 2 nights with spa access.
Easily walk to town from here
We upgraded to premium room for 20 a night
Room was quality
Couldn't fault it.
We were near reception area...but was very quiet.
Shower was super! Room was clean and bright
Bed was soooo comfy!
WIFI wasn't great (Eircom, they said they were changing!) but one quick call to reception and we had a network cable.
Breakfast was lovely. Nice breakfast room. Ordered breakfast. Fresh fruit.
Pool was dated but nice. Hot tub was tight! Sauna and steam room were brilliant. Staff nice and friendly down there too.

Overall the staff were great. All very helpful which made a huge difference to the stay.
Room VERY comfortable

Room Tip: Upgrade for 20 euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    304
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
288
378
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were not impressed. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable but the food was quite hit-and-miss. On our first morning there the cooked breakfast tasted as though it had been cooked two days earlier and kept warm - the bacon was like leather and the sausages like rubber. Also, someone there really should go on a scone baking course because the scones were awful. Something so simple so wrong. Overpriced for the standard received. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

once again an excellent few days spent here - this time to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary
the room, food, leisure faciliities and of course the bar were up to usual exceptional standard
cant wait to return - hopefully over the Christmas break or early 2013

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Although frequent visitors to Westport this was our first time to stay at the Hotel Westport. Our preferred choices were not available and we hoped that this hotel would meet their standards. We needn't have worried and now have a new favourite. The room we were given was a large family one with a double & two singles. It was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The food was of a high standard. The staff were ultra friendly offering cheerful greetings at every turn.
The hotel is well located and has ample parking. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nortcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lots of good points about this hotel; food; staff; parking; location but the big downer for my wife was the Standard Room was of a poor standard. It was dull, the table was dirty the sheets were old, and it could generally do with a revamp. I didn't think it was too bad but compared to the good hotels we have been staying in lately it doesn't match up. However I think it deserves 4 stars, my wife disagrees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eamonn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife won a break in the Hotel Westport and we had a wonderful time there. Each member of staff was extremely friendly and professional. We would love to return and highly recommend the hotel. Below, I have copied the 'thank you' letter my wife wrote to the manager.
..............................................................................................................................................
I am writing to thank you for the wonderful, five day stay my husband and I enjoyed in Hotel Westport. I won the break in a competition on the goldenireland.ie website and was thrilled to receive it as we had honeymooned in Westport in 1977, so Hotel Westport provided a second honeymoon for us. It was a very generous prize, thank you.

We had a very relaxing time in the hotel. Our room was perfect, spacious and spotlessly clean. Cleanliness was a hallmark of the hotel: everywhere we went, bar, restaurant, pool was noticeably clean. The staff made our stay more memorable; Mary O’Reilly on Reception, Deirdre, Tunde and the redoubtable Elizabeth in the restaurant, and the guys in the bar, all made us feel so special.

We were impressed by the quality of the food in the restaurant: hotel restaurants, traditionally, are not always recognised for the quality of their food but we enjoyed dinner there every evening. The breakfasts too were memorable and relaxing.

We would like to offer some comments that might improve the Hotel Westport experience. The entrance might benefit by the addition of some colour: the name is dull against a grey background: bleak in comparison to the other signs with the hotel name in blue/yellow, opposite the entrance. We enjoy drinking shiraz with a meal but unfortunately your supply of Penfold’s Shiraz (No 35!) ran out during our stay. While the meals were delightful (good idea to vary the chef’s choice) the side dishes were always very similar, eg creamed potatoes and steamed chunky carrots: this is not a problem for guests staying one or two nights but guests staying for longer might appreciate more variety. Please don’t accept these comments as criticisms, merely as suggestions on how to improve some aspects for visitors.

As mentioned, we were totally spoiled during our stay: we will recommend the hotel, without reservation. You can be very proud of what you and the team achieve on a daily basis. Everyone we spoke to was complimentary for all aspects of the hotel.
Again, thank you for providing such a generous prize and we look forward to returning.

Wishing you continued success,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorcaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

No problem with parking. Booked room 20 minute before I arrived on my iPad. Arrived at reception and Aine had me signed in,in 5 mins. Food was nice and straightforward and delicious, apart from getting cheese instead of onion on my toasted sandwich, I joked with the waiter when he apologised for the mistake because I was grilling him at the the same time about where the best spot in Westport were for music and life. Ha!
Overall a very nice hotel with a good leisure centre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraigh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing