We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff at this hotel make up for any shortcomings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent staff at this hotel make up for any shortcomings.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location and it's easy to see why this hotel has just win family hotel of the year. The staff are friendly, helpful and fo the extra mile to make your stay perfect. We had booked three rooms and they managed to rearrange things so we could have rooms together two adjoining with ab adjoining door.

The rooms are very tired and a but grubby. Surprised that they were not hoovered during our two day stay. Beds comfortable, and we all slept well.

The hotel is very popular with families and there were a lot of children about the place, often running about in their own, late at night.

Breakfast was buffet style and was fine. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and this was fantastic. Excellent choice, high quality ingredients, wonderful presentation and amazing flavours. This alone was worth the trip! Staff helpful friendly and attentive.

Overall a good value hotel where the staff more than make up for any failings in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    314
    110
    52
    27
See reviews for
299
389
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very disappointed, stayed one night on my own while attending a conference.
I have a wheat and lactose intolerance and informed receptionist when checking in to avoid any hassle at breakfast. I had also informed staff over the phone when booking my room initally. The reply I received from the staff member was "did you bring your own milk?" and "I don't know if we can get some to suit you".This was following a 5 and a half hour journey. I reassured her that every supermarket stocks lactose free milk nowadays. But breakfast was a dreadful experience and I left hungry and disappointed. I had egg and rashers, there was no gluten free bread offered just a sesame seed burger bun toasted which was inedible. The milk provided was not what I requested it was possibly rice milk so I was unable to have a cereal. The selection of fresh fruit salad was poor just one bowl of a mixture of fruit some of which I am unable to eat. No one checked back with me to see if everything was ok.
I did fare better at lunchtime. I had informed the organistion holding the conference well in advance and was provided with a toased gluten free sandwich which was alright and i was not the only person with this request. I did not eat the previous evening in the hotel but had a great meal in the town where the management could not have been more accomodating and the food was excellent. I really felt let down by the hotel as it is a four star and could not see myself returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val186643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night...staff really friendly...room clean and comfortable...great location to the town...the only complaint i do have is that they seemed short staffed in the restaurant and bar....had to wait a long time for food and to be served...apart from that great...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dearbhla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is great value for money. The room we were in could do with a bit of a facelift- but perfectly clean and comfortable and understandable that in this climate hotels aren't rushing in with renovations. All the staff are very friendly. The highlight of our stay was dinner in the restaurant as part of our deal. We presumed as it was included we'd get a fairly limited menu- but there were 6/7 choices for each course. Despite the restaurant being full to bursting the food was great and service was impeccable. Breakfast wasn't as good- with the hot food on a buffet and by the time we got to it at about 10am it seemed to be quite dried out. But plenty of choice of fruit, cereals and breads. The bar is lovely- very comfortable and they serve cocktails! The hotel is only about a 5 min walk into westport so very convenient.

Overall this is a great value for money hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a stag party, rooms clean, food great, service 100% short walk from town center,good value over all with breakfast and dinner included, only complaint would be that the dinner is off a set menu with no option for steak unless you pay a charge of €10 for it or anything outside the set menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Got an offer of 2 nights B&B + 1 evening meal. I can only guess that we got an inferior room because of this. It was terrible! The room we got was cold & dirty, cobwebs on & in the lampshades, smears on the ceiling where someone had obviously killed some bugs & not wiped it after. Walls must have been paper thin because we could here everything that was going on. We asked reception if we could be upgraded to a better room & were told that there was none available that night & they would make a note & let us know if something came up for the next night. We heard nothing! Dinner was another nightmare! When we checked in we tried to book for 7 pm, was told it was booked out but they could fit us in at 7.30??? We arrived at 7.30 & were seated alongside the other 3 or 4 tables that were there! After 3 hours of waiting & waiting we finally finished our meal & left. The food overall was nice but the wait was excruciating. Didn't bother staying for coffee. When we asked for the bill for the wine we were told we had to pay when we were checking out. When we checked out the receptionist was on the phone & didn't even bother to ask how our stay was, she just took the money & carried on talking. Don't know how this place is rated 4 star!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank EKW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here 29th to 30th September for a family members wedding. An excellent hotel could find no faults. The bedrooms (and I say bedrooms because I visited a number of rooms popping in, on other family members) were decorated to the highest standard, with flat screen TV in room and a large ensuite bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was like cotton wool, so relaxing. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The service went as far as the assistant manager coming out to the car park saying good-bye to us on our departure. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Sunday night, the food and service was excellent. Ample parking around the hotel and a lovely 5-minute walk along the river into the town. I had stayed in another hotel in the centre of Westport on the 28th September and found it very noisy with car traffic but there was lovely peace and tranquillity around Hotel Westport. I will definitely be returning to Hotel Westport as so much to see and do in the area and just didn’t have time on this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
945 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing