We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Augusta Lodge is a palace”
Review of Augusta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Lodge
Ranked #2 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moyvore
2 reviews
“Augusta Lodge is a palace”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Myself and 5 friends stayed here on new years eve and I cannot say a bad word about it. The rooms are spotless, the food was fantastic and the owners really made us feel at home. It is only a short walk into Westport town too. I would thoroughly recommend anyone travelling to Westport to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PluckMoyvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    101
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
227
359
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Augusta lodge in September 2010 and would highly recommend it. Our room including ensuite was very clean - great bed - tea and coffee provisions - openable windows & TV. Free internet downstairs is handy and guest lounge is very homely - included breakfast was superb - could not have eaten another thing! Hosts Dave and Steph were just lovely. About 5-10 minute easy walk into town - close enough to be convenient - far enough away to be peaceful. You will love it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra_and_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I and my friend visited several places during our trip around Ireland. This was the best of all.
Dave, the owner, wrote us a letter to find out our plans on the day of our arrival.
On the phone he named things we can visit on our way to Westport.
He thought about better location for us to pack the car as it was a snow week in Ireland.
On our arrival he reccomended us to visit local places of interest. The pub of Matt Moloy we went was a great experience.
It was the first room with no problem what so ever. Everything worked, it was warm, breakfast was tasty.
The house and the rooms have a lot to see too. Posters, photos, paintings, funny cards, golf clubs etc.
It is located not far from the very center of the city and easy to find.
Really good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeyaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Really friendly, helpful place to stay. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was big and yummy.
It´s walkable distance to town (when it´s not snowing) and only a quick drive to Croagh Patrick for a mighty walk. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croaghpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We visited Augusta Lodge on a snowy cold weekend in November. The lodge with the snow as a backdrop looked like something out of a postcard. The building itself is beautiful and it's location is but a 10 minuite stroll from the heart of the town. The service we received here was excellent and we wanted for nothing. Everyone was very curteous and made us feel right at home. The room we had was nicely decorated and spacious and given the freezing temperatures outside, the room and the lodge as a whole was lovely and warm. The golf memorabillia within the lodge is quite a sizable collection and I thouroughly enjoyed looking at the different photos, flags, golf balls and clubs that were all on display. And then there is the putting green outside which is a terrific addition to the property and a real unique feature that would appeal to any golf enthusiast. Alas no golf was played during my trip due to weather but there is always next time...
I wouldnt hesitate in recommending Augusta Lodge to anyone visiting the Westport area and is a place that I will certainly visit again. One final highlight for me was having a chat with the owner Dave about all things golf as we were checking out. Thouroughly enjoyed his company and he is the man to talk to if you are planning on playing a round or two while in the area. Finally there is the price - what absolutly terrific value for an establishment of this calibre. It was the icing on the cake to what was a terrific weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

very clean affordable b and b, the owner dave very welcoming and friendly, i travelled with my wife and three young sons,the family room was the best i have ever stayed in including hotels , very spacious and quiet

if travelling to westport its well worth a stay

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tackneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Enjoyed a one night stay in this lovely b&b,superb comfortable accomadation.Dave and Steph are great hosts and made us feel very welcome.Would recommend this establishment to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_ohora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
922 reviews
3.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lodge

Property: Augusta Lodge
Address: Golf Links Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming purpose built 9 bedroom guesthouse on its own magnificent landscaped gardens, situated in the award-winning picturesque heritage town of Westport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Augusta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing