We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Augusta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Augusta Lodge
Ranked #2 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We are happy to stay in Augusta Lodge. Rooms nice and clean. Very friendly service. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razbora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 861 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Dave is the most laid-back (and golf-mad) host you can imagine, with an easy Irish charm and very obvious insight into what makes folk feel comfortable. My son and I were looked after in great detail during our two night stay without being made to feel that the attention we got was intrusive. The place was easy to find, lots of parking, VERY clean, comfortable and the breakfast was more than enough in both quality and quantity. Good WiFi allowed a little business to be done back home. For our evenings out, Dave pointed us first at Geraghty's pub which was 'open-mic' but a bit 'Glen Cambell', if you know what I mean. Then to Molloy's bar which was traditional Irish music until the wee hours (behind a locked front door!) but a bit tourist-heavy, though I suppose that's what we were after all. Matt Molloy of 'The Chieftains' (who owns the place) was there and involved himself in the diddly-diddly to the delight of the crowd stuffed into the small back room.
We had to leave early on our check-out morning and this meant an 'out-of-hours' breakfast which Dave happily offered and provided without being asked first.
In summary, if you want to stay in Westport, you will not regret staying at Augusta Lodge and we will return!
Dave - thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSkeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We booked in for three nights and were made to feel very welcome by Dave and Stephanie. The room was great and the breakfasts wonderful. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillroamin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Westport was an enjoyable base for touring the area and Augusta Lodge was a great budget option. The room was clean and comfortable; the breakfast fast, ample and sufficiently varied to escape the "full Irish;" we could walk into town for the good quality music David provided handy information for exploring. Only complaint: the hot water at the sink was almost impossible to turn off and needed to be replumbed.

Room Tip: Rent the smallest but BEST car you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We just had 4 wonderful nights at the Augusta lodge in Westport and I can not imagine staying anywhere else there. Dave was a great host and very helpful in advising us about activities, pubs, music and places to eat in the area. I hesitate to say everything that Dave helped us with because I feel like future visitors might have unrealistic expectations and be too demanding of his time but suffice it to say he went above and way beyond what I would expect from a B&B host. We had just come from the four star Park House Hotel in Galway which was quite nice but I have to say that Dave has the superior full Irish breakfast. It is an easy 10 minute stroll into downtown and it was nice and quiet being a little bit away from the
city center and as a bonus you pass by the spot where Charles Parnell admonished the locals to "hold on to your homesteads." If you take a few steps outside the
front door you have a beautiful view of Croagh Patrick. I chose this place after looking
extensively at trip advisor and what I saw was that Augusta Lodge was head and shoulders
above the rest. I think his success is about a combination of high quality and value. I was
not disappointed, in fact it has been the best place we have stayed during our last 2 weeks in Ireland and I am sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caomhinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at the Augusta Lodge for one night in June. Our rooms were lovely and clean, and it was about a ten minute walk into Westport town centre along a sidewalk, so it is very easy to get in to the pubs and shops. You are a bit away from the busy-ness of Westport, which makes for a very quiet stay. Facilities were great, they even have a laptop you can use in the lobby for free if you want to check emails etc (also free wi-fi).

Breakfast was very nice. All in all a great stay and I would highly recommend to anyone staying in Westport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah92186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at Augusta Lodge , room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,694 reviews
3.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lodge

Address: Golf Links Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $84 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming purpose built 9 bedroom guesthouse on its own magnificent landscaped gardens, situated in the award-winning picturesque heritage town of Westport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Augusta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing