We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a lively town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The old mill is a well run hostel close to the town center, it has limited parking although there is a pay & display car park next to it. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen/dining area is large & well equipped. I would recommend the old mill hostel to anyone who wants to stay in a fun town for a weekend or a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Old Mill Holiday Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Myself , a friend and 2 adult sons booked a room in the Hostel for sat night after cycling the Western greenway(thoroughly recommend the spin,45k to Achill,look around-lunch and cycle back).The staff were very friendly the rooms was clean as were showers and toilets.Very pleasant communal area with cooking facilities and a fridge. Only gripe was that the room had one 1ft by 1ft square window and sleep was difficult as we had our own personal sauna going on for the night! Location is fantastic,town centre and everything a short walk away. Fine spot but pity about the ventilation!!

Room Tip: Make sure room has a good window as most rooms have very small ones!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the old mill a week or so ago and I left a pair of pants with my passport in them. I was very surprised to actually have it returned to me. Very honest place with a great location. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breedofhaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were scammed out of 70 euro each for a nights stay in this hostel, They make you pay a 50 euro damage / behaviour deposit, When we returned from a night out they complained about us talking in our room and in the morning refused to give us back our deposit. We had to call the Gardai to negotiate half our money back. I would seriously recommend finding alternative accommodation in Wesport.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
7  Thank steken73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old M, Manager at Old Mill Holiday Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

I'd like to make a few corrections to this review. This group booked in as two small groups with the intention of joining together on the night to form a large stag party. We do not take stag parties as a rule due to the disruption they usually cause and this group were no different. Even though they had signed a behaviour contract and (paid a behaviour deposit) that explicitly states that we do not tolerate noise after midnight and even though they were given three warnings during the night about noise they persisted with making noise all night long, disturbing a lot of other guests who made complaints about them the next morning. They also brought drink into the dorms and wrapped a plastic bag around the smoke detector to prevent the alarm going off as they smoked drugs all night long.

I called the Gardai as the group then tried to intimidate my staff into returning their behaviour deposit in the morning at checkout time. The Garda who came to the hostel agreed that I was within my rights to withhold the deposit. To end the matter quickly I agreed to give back half their deposit. The Garda asked the group to leave and then had to nearly arrest one member of the group for trying to steal hostel property and breaking the peace.

I do not agree that my actions in relation to this stag party was bad for tourism in Westport. There are lots of other tourists who visit Westport for lots of other reasons which do not revolve around binge drinking and reckless, mindless behaviour.

As is clearly stated in our hostel rules, our dorms are not a party venue but a place to rest and sleep. If you can not understand that concept then do not stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very unhelpful and unaccommodating, wouldn't recommend at all, better of staying in a nice B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elmingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Clean, comfortable and welcoming hostel. I've stayed in plenty of hostel around the world. I've stayed at larger hostels than this one with lots more fancy facilities but the place is exactly what a hostel should be. I met plenty of other backpackers and the staff gave me more tourist info than the local tourist office, its located in the middle of westport town. If you haven't been to westport before, you should. Its beautiful and full of live music venues and great restaurants.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank robes p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place ticks all the boxes, clean,comfortable, good kitchen, friendly staff, kind to the pocket and located in the centre of beautiful Westport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faraaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Holiday Hostel

Address: Barracks Yard The Old Mill Holiday Hostel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $40 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Mill Holiday Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Holiday Hostel is a budget hostel situated in a quiet courtyard in the centre of Westport, Ireland's tidiest town. Westport provides an excellent place for those interested in climbing Croagh Patrick, Ireland's holy mountain associated with St.Patrick who by legend banished the snakes from Ireland at this place. If you enjoy good music and are interested in the Westport Arts festival you will have a good stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Old Mill Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing