We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've just been back and I'll deffo be going back again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I feel 100% the same as I did last June. The only difference is that all the accommodation has been updated and the rooms are fabulous now ! Well done everyone for all your hard work.

For those of you who haven't read my last years review, here it is.

This hostel is truly a backpackers hostel. The old building has been here since 1780 !!
Yes, this means that there's no lifts or anything fancy but it is what it says it is....an old mill !
Our Double room was basic but comfortable and clean.

The staff were really friendly and so helpful. It was good to stay in a hostel where all the staff were local people and could give good tips on where to go and what to see etc.

The kitchen common room area is the heart of the old mill and is where we met new friends and chilled out.

The location is brilliant, right in town but yet in a quiet court yard. this means, no taxis or long walks home.

The homemade brown bread in the morning was fab and freshly made which we enjoyed every morning.

There is also free wifi ! Happy days.
We felt we got good hostel accommodation in the centre of town at a reasonable price which was all we wanted. The free home made bread and free wifi and excellent staff was a free bonus ! Thank you.

Room Tip: If you plan to come to Westport on a big drinking weekend....... don't stay here, its for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophistiCatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

As far as hostels go this was average, a clean and comfortable bed for the night, a clean kitchen, friendly staff, right in the centre of town. Tea/coffee and toast included in the morning, which is nice, although the colour segregated toaster was a bit odd (no brown bread in the toaster!?) We had the private room, the bed seemed brand new and the mattress was comfy. Walls were a bit thin though - bring earplugs if you want to sleep! There was no "noise reduction enforcement" in operation the night we stayed. Parking is a bit tight. Overall a good budget stop off, emphasis on the "budget". If you ant an ensuite and a quiet night fork out the extra 20Euro for a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annitot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Direct response to the points noted by the "manager" below!
The sheets smelt of urine and had stains on them when we got there!! We actually discussed how sick it was before carefully choosing each bed we slept in!! The lads did have a drink in the room but we would have tidied the 4 cans (yes 4 cans) before you did when you came up to tell us to hurry up and get out while we were all changing after having a shower (the manager had not the manners to knock before entering!!)!! Yes one of the lads did end up a little lost and in the ladies toilets but you might remember we had a good laugh about this with the very cool girl who found him there...remember...the same girl who told you to cop on when we explained you were trying to keep €500 off us for "noise"!! I could go on and on but unlike the manager of this hostel I have better things to do. No doubt he will come back with the usual response about "no stags" being allowed and all the noise we made(we did not get one warning??) but I think a quick scroll through many of the bad reviews on this page tells you all you need to know about the place. Its a pity because its a nice building and we had great fun over our weekend but unfortunately it will be remembered as the weekend we were made stand out in the cold for half an hour on sat morning (manager changed the codes when we went for breakfast) and the shocking treatment we received during our stay.
A few empty cans in a room pales into insignificance when there was bread in the canteen covered in blue mold in full view for everyone to see, the bathrooms were disgusting and there was cobwebs in every corner of the bedroom!! So to all involved in the Old Mill hostel, sort the place out before trying to scam ordinary guys out of €500 deposit!! oh yeah...still waiting for the cost of second night to be returned to us!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old M, Manager at Old Mill Holiday Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

There are two sides to every story!

Yes, we have a lovely old building in the centre of a beautiful historic town. And, yes, we
sometimes ask groups of mis-behaving men to leave the premises, and yes, these men get very upset and write lots of bad reviews on tripadvisor.

This group of men did the following things:

01: Urinated in their beds & left other disturbing stains on the sheets.
02: Jumped into other guests beds while they were asleep causing distress to other guests
03: Used the Ladies toilets, one was found fast asleep in the w.c cubicle
04: Smoked cigarettes, drank beer and ate fast food in the dormitory
05: Kept other guests awake all night

In other words these men did not follow any of the house rules.

We are entitled to refuse admission / throw out people who behave in this manner.

The mess left behind them tells the real story, which we were left with.

I think this large group of lads who had no intention of behaving themselves from the minute they arrived in Westport were "surprised" that they found themselves without a hostel bed for their second night of revelry. The other guests who stayed with us for the rest of weekend did not miss the group and thanked me for not letting them stay.

This Hostel does not accept Stag / Hen party groups. Once we found out that this
group were in fact a Stag group (contrary to their booking description)we asked them to leave.

I am not ashamed to refuse Stag / Hen groups as our hostel is not suitable for this type of business. There are plenty of other places for them to stay in Westport.

The reviews posted by this group are not helpful. The building is ideal for groups like families, cycling/hiking groups, schools, universities and scouts. Unsurprisingly we never have trouble with these groups and they keep coming back year after year. We have been in business for over 20 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was the worst experience of staying in a hostel I have ever experienced.... We were thrown out after 1 night due to "noise"! We came back and literally were having a chat, the next morning they locked us out!!! Eoin the business guru refused to give us our deposit back!!!unreal!!! an absolute pack of idiots!!! Even other guests were saying how ridiculous they were being,,,,, not only a kip, but a bunch of idiots running the place.... I hope this place is run into the ground... Never never never never ever stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wellliveforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The staff were hostile and very unfriendly. Talked down to by staff in a very unreasonable way due to 'noise', which was quite harsh in our opinion. You couldn't put any value on the breakfast - mouldy white bread, awful homemade soda bread and luke warm coffee. Bed linen was dirty. In a word - wretched.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank upthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old M, Manager at Old Mill Holiday Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Do not stay here if your are in a Stag / Hen group as you will be as disappointed as this group were when they were asked to leave.

As this group were told at the time of booking, we do not take Stag Parties. This group pretended to be something else until they arrived and then it was too late.

I stand over my management decision to refuse Stag Parties. If you are not prepared to follow the basic rules of a hostel then you should not stay in a hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A friend and I completed a charity cycle through Ireland in August 2011 in aid of Enable Irealnd. We would like to thank the Owner/Management for their kindness and generosity in supporting us and providing us with a complimentary room during our stay in Westport! We were given a private room which was simple but clean and comfortable! The hostel had a large communal area which was clean and had good cooking facilities! Free tea,coffee and toast in the morning! The staff there were friendly and helpful! Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

One member of staff, the man who seemed to be in charge of the place, was incredibly unfriendly. He lectured myself and my friends when we were checking about noise-making/eating in the rooms etc. He was very patronising and, because we were students, presumed we would cause trouble. We had to pay a 350 security deposit, which is ridiculous for a two-night stay. We did not feel welcome at all, and in fact, felt we were an imposition in the hostel. The two female members of staff were, however, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank oconnec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old M, Manager at Old Mill Holiday Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Hi, I'm the guy who seemed to be patronising to the students. I apologise for my behaviour but as the manager of the hostel I was very concerned about keeping alot of people happy that weekend. I wanted to be very clear about our rules and maybe I was a bit too serious looking in my presentation of them. We welcome students from all over the world to our hostel and they have a great time staying here. The behaviour deposit and other rules may be intimidating for young people staying here but they help ensure that everyone who stays in our hostel gets a good nights sleep. We had no trouble that weekend even though we had 5 different groups staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,089 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Holiday Hostel

Address: Barracks Yard The Old Mill Holiday Hostel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $25 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Mill Holiday Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Holiday Hostel is a budget hostel situated in a quiet courtyard in the centre of Westport, Ireland's tidiest town. Westport provides an excellent place for those interested in climbing Croagh Patrick, Ireland's holy mountain associated with St.Patrick who by legend banished the snakes from Ireland at this place. If you enjoy good music and are interested in the Westport Arts festival you will have a good stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Old Mill Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing