We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant show so much energy”

The Legend of Grainne Mhaol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ireland's Pirate Queen , Wednesday & Thursday nights from June 15th in The Town Hall Westport, is a spectacular traditional music show based on the real-life story of the legendary Pirate Queen Grace O' Malley or "Gráinne Mhaol". The show is a wonderful celebration of Irish music, song and dance and is an inspiring epic, reliving the journey of the Irish legend Gráinne Mhaol throughout history. The show is full of energy and enthusiasm and has captured the imagination of audiences across all ages and cultures.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant show the musicians were top class as were the Sean Nos dancers. The Irish dancer was also brilliant. Great to see James Kilbane in it. Good selection of dancing, music and singing. Top show.

Thank Betty371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne Mhaol S, Manager at The Legend of Grainne Mhaol, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Betty, thanks for your great review. The musicians, dancers and singers we use in the show are second to none. They have won numerous awards in the past for their talents. We are glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Such a thoroughly enjoyable night, fantastic production, amazing team of dancers , singers and musicans. We had a fantastic night and are already planning to go see it again. Well done to all involved

Thank madaboutgrainnemhaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne Mhaol S, Manager at The Legend of Grainne Mhaol, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. We are happy to hear you are already planning a return visit. We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This show I would highly recommend to go and see if visiting Westport. The music the dancing and the wonderful singing made this an absolute memorable show. It was great to see such
young talent performing so brilliantly and the host of the show was wonderful

1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne Mhaol S, Manager at The Legend of Grainne Mhaol, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the show. Everyone involved in Grainne Mhaol puts in a lot of time and effort to make sure they give the best performance. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A truly entertaining show with something for everyone in the family. The standard of performance
was exceptionally high. I particularly appreciated the singing of James Kilbane but I also loved the Irish dancing and the host Pearse O'Reilly's gentle humour. I would recommend this show to anyone visiting Westport.

1  Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne Mhaol S, Manager at The Legend of Grainne Mhaol, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Sylvia, thanks for your comments. James is a fantastic singer and we are lucky to have him. glad you enjoyed Pierce's humour and wit. Overall, we are happy you enjoyed the Grainne Mhaol experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Highly entertaining with many traditional aspects of the Irish culture in song and dance! All the people involved have great talent and the show was well worth the time to go see. A must see for anyone in the area.

2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Legend of Grainne Mhaol also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Legend of Grainne Mhaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing