We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An entertaining night out.”

The Legend of Grainne Mhaol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ireland's Pirate Queen , Wednesday & Thursday nights from June 15th in The Town Hall Westport, is a spectacular traditional music show based on the real-life story of the legendary Pirate Queen Grace O' Malley or "Gráinne Mhaol". The show is a wonderful celebration of Irish music, song and dance and is an inspiring epic, reliving the journey of the Irish legend Gráinne Mhaol throughout history. The show is full of energy and enthusiasm and has captured the imagination of audiences across all ages and cultures.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Westport, Mayo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An entertaining night out.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Legend of Gráinne Mhaol is a superb mix of song, dance and storytelling. A great night out for all ages and a must see for visitors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank westwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    16
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see, fun for all ages”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Mayos answer to Pirates of the Carribean, this is has something to entertain everyone.
The musicians were absolutely brilliant, my only regret was not bring extra money to buy cds. They had fun and had a laugh and got the crowd involved.
The dancing was brilliant, especially the sean nos dancing. I must admit I was a bit taken a back with salsa dancing in the middle. I did enjoy it, just was a bit surprised to see.
The host was entertaining too, making jokes and interacting with the crowd.
Two things I would say is if you're unfamiliar with the story of Grace O'Malley I'd suggest reading up on it as there's no dialogue. The other point I would make is if you've kids it would be interesting for kids around 7years and up, it might be too long for smaller kids, but they would enjoy it.
My family and I were not staying in the hotel and got the family ticket.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Night Entertainment”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our group attened this live music, song and dance show while in Westport. The program centered around the pirate princess Grainne Mhaol. I could not understand the words the main female character sang. The male lead had a great voice. Wish there had been more content on the life of Grainne Mhaol and less dancing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Family Fun - Book it Now!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

went to show with my five year old, grandparents and spouse
5 year old was transfixed by the story and dance
grandparents loved the music and song
we loved having a true family night if entertainment that was affordable
ps these are some of the best snd brightest upcoming new talents in Irish trad music and dance
book early so you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leapyearmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BRIALLANT!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went to see this great show on Monday night, it was super the energy of the cast was electric and the audience was on their feet and a standing ovation was given.

Pierce the director was great and added to the show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rhino1mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Legend of Grainne Mhaol also viewed

 

Been to The Legend of Grainne Mhaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing