We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legend of Grainne Mhaol

The Legend of Grainne Mhaol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ireland's Pirate Queen , Wednesday & Thursday nights from June 15th in The Town Hall Westport, is a spectacular traditional music show based on the real-life story of the legendary Pirate Queen Grace O' Malley or "Gráinne Mhaol". The show is a wonderful celebration of Irish music, song and dance and is an inspiring epic, reliving the journey of the Irish legend Gráinne Mhaol throughout history. The show is full of energy and enthusiasm and has captured the imagination of audiences across all ages and cultures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a great dhow. DOn't miss it. Exactly the type of tradional music/dancing that we were hopign to see at some point but didn't know where to find. Amazing talent

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurengp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    16
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We liked it all, there was nothing to dislike. The musicians were brilliant, had toes tapping straight away, the singers and dancers were amazing. A fab show, not to be missed

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Irish Dancing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Loved the show, especially the Irish dancer who plays Grace. Great introduction to shan-nos dancing. Loved the soloists and excellent musicians.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathleen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Standing Ovation for a fantastic show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wow!! I went to see the show with my group of friends and we had a super night. The show had the best musicians, singers and dancers and the MC for the night, Pierce O'Reilly was hilarious. This is the fourth year of the show and it is on twice a week every Monday and Wednesday, a friendly member of the crew informed me! I would recommend this to any visitors to the West of Ireland this summer. I am definitely going to see this again before the summer is out! Well done to all involved!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clare island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

super walking, very picturesque, would like to see Granuaile's castle better taken care of, visit the local woolen shop and watch a talented woman at work

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Legend of Grainne Mhaol also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Legend of Grainne Mhaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing