We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of summer 2013 so far!”

The Tavern Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open fire's and cozy snugs await you .Locally sourced food from our award winning menu are on offer daily in the shadow of Croagh Patrick on the shores of Clew Bay. Come and visit
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal of summer 2013 so far!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A shellfish chowder that would make you weep with gratitude... An open crab salad sandwich served with a smile even though it wasn't on the menu... A perfect table near a window for direct light onto this sole diner's book... This was the tastiest meal I ate all summer (and I've had a few good ones) and certainly the best service. I'd been to the Tavern before, and never been disappointed, but this was superlative. Thanks and congratulations to all the team.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmandeMidleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear GourmandeMidleton,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for your very high praise. We are delighted that we were able to look after you and that you enjoyed everything so much. We are always delighted when both food and service comes together to make an evening memorable.! We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    123
    26
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Greeat Restarurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

With friends we had a great meal in the Tavern in Murrisk just under Croagh Patrick. Portions were big and everyone had a delicious meal great value for the meal we had.We eat here a few times a year and every time we have a very good meal. Lovely to be able to have a pint as well with the meal.Myles and the Staff were very friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the place always buzzing and busy sign of a good restaurant Overall one of the best restaurants in Westport. Fla.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank covieWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Covie Westport,
Thank you so much for taking time to review us and for your positive comments. It is always an added bonus when we get good feedback from local customers that enjoy visiting us time and time again. Much appreciated!

Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passau, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Setting high the bar for food in Ireland”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Best things in life happen unexpectedly - and are not necessarilly the result of prior planning.

Being on our way to Westport where we were planning to stop for lunch, with my daughter increasingly hungry and nervous, my wife read in a guide about The Tavern Bar and Restaurant and we decided to give it a try.

I shall not elaborate on anything else than the simple fact that I had my best lamb meal ever in Ireland! Nothing exceptional: Mayo lamb with cabbage and bacon - but cooked and presented in a superb way!

Food is an art - it is not engineering. So to have a pub, tavern or restaurant coming up with delicious food should be a simple two-step process:
a-- food should smell and taste good
b-- expectations of the customer should not be unmet - and here comes the price aspect.

The people of the Tavern Bar are not overpricing their menu items - this is certainly a good way to make your customers happy and win returning customers - something that I regret to say is not at all in the agendas of pub and restaurant owners and managers any more.

So congratulations to the team there - not only the managers but especially the cooks / chefs and waiters that make the place worth to visit and eat at!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Hobbit2013,
Than you so much for taking the time to review The Tavern and for the wonderful comments you posted. As you so rightly guessed It is only through having a great team that we are able to achieve so much and your feedback was enjoyed by all the staff both back and front of house.
Thank you again!


Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“used to eat here alot”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

i always did like eating here,but ever since it has gotten done up,and changed inside..i just feel the food has gone down alot,,went here for my son's birthday,everyones food that got ordered at our table ,wasnt very nice ,some of the staff are not so pleasant either
won't be eating here any more ,plus i think it's got very expensive

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liteangel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Liteangel2013.
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant. I regret that you did not enjoy either the food or service at the time of your visit. More importantly,that I did not realize your disappointment and that I was unable to offer my apologies in person.

Yours Sincerely

Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just home from our visit to Westport, loved The Tavern. The menu was full if variety catering to a wide range of tastes! Found some of the items a bit pricey but then again you are paying for quality food! The Tavern has a great buzz and seems to be very busy but the service was top class!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodlawn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Woodlawn,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for the wonderful comments on both our food and service. Its a great compliment to all our staff when we get such positive feedback and is very much appreciated

Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Tavern Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing