We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find in an unexpected locaion.”

The Tavern Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open fire's and cozy snugs await you .Locally sourced food from our award winning menu are on offer daily in the shadow of Croagh Patrick on the shores of Clew Bay. Come and visit
Tubbercurry, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful find in an unexpected locaion.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife, Carole, and myself are Texans who relocated to Ireland 4 years ago and reclaimed our Irish citizenship. Since then, we have had aR steady stream of visitors and family from the USA come to see our new home. Quite by accident while driving toward the Connemera, we came across The Tavern and stopped for lunch. What a great find. The food was exceptional, the seafood fresh from Clew Bay and the innkeepers very friendly. We often return, although it is a good hours drive from our home in Tubbercurry, County Sligo. The Tavern is a rare find in a wonderful setting. We just celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarrigenagownaCookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    127
    27
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly environment”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

An early evening family meal was a delight. This is a very child and family friendly restaurant with excellent food, as the constant stream of family groups confirmed. We have been several times and always appreciated the high standard of produce and cooking. It's especially good in winter with an open hearth fire that warms and invites. The Moroccan lamb starter and the seasonal berry crumble are uniquely good and worth returning for time and time again--as we do. Old fashioned Irish service is not overly attentive and very efficient. One of the best in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent the best in westport”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tastie food staff very friendly fast service go there every time for lunch when I'm down in murrisk great place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mclisanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary celebration meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice restaurant,very busy but the service was still very good.Beautiful food with all courses very tasty but the prices were about 10% "over-cooked"!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galvingang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tavern Westport”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Called in very hungry after the Rick and received the best Fish Chowder i have ever had!!!!!

We were all tiered and the Kids enjoyed their soup and Crab claws!!!

We were served our Food and drinks by a some very friendly staff and the waiting period was very good!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Tavern Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing