We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest food you will find the world over.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern Bar & Restaurant

The Tavern Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open fire's and cozy snugs await you .Locally sourced food from our award winning menu are on offer daily in the shadow of Croagh Patrick on the shores of Clew Bay. Come and visit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The nicest food you will find the world over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

For 10 years we have been visiting Westport and every year the trip over to the Tavern is our highlight. The food is consistently Devine. I would travel there every evening from Maynooth if I had the time. The saff are friendly and helpful and the pint is always good. 10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meatharemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    117
    26
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful customer care!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A group of 8 of us ate here recently and we were all delighted with our meals. The owners couldn't have been friendlier and they work hard to provide a great experience to all visitors. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Device with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Opted for the bar food rather than the restaurant as the weather was heavy and wam and we could it outside. Ordered at the bar and food arrived thin 10 mins. Chowder was excellent as was the garlic mushrooms, Plaice and Burgers. All fresh, beautifully garnished and good portions. Very relaxed atmosphere and the eating area was very clean. All in all, a well appointed eatery and one I can happily recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connemaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“the salmon melts in your mouth! plenty of vegetables too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

louise was SOOO nice as a waitress! we were famished after a long bike ride and pigged out! salmon melted in your mouth! my 8 year old daughter even ate a full adult sized piece! plenty of vegetables if you ask for them too. great soup! great booths to sit in! go for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anengineeredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent service , excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family (4adults + 3 under 8) ate here twice in July . First a very busy Sunday , then on a Thursday . Both times food and service was excellent . Variety of fish dishes , chdrens menu option. I would highly recommend this retaurant as a place to eat great value and a great experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gurtkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Tavern Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing