We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”

The Tavern Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open fire's and cozy snugs await you .Locally sourced food from our award winning menu are on offer daily in the shadow of Croagh Patrick on the shores of Clew Bay. Come and visit
Mayo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good selection on menu. Nice comfortable welcome by Ruth the owner. Servers on the ball and know their job. Confident and good mix of mature and young personnel. Sumo fries are great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MickyWest.
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for your positive comments regarding the business which I have passed on to all the staff

Kind Regards
Ruth Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    119
    26
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very consistent”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I eat in the Tavern each time we visit Westport. We were there again last Tuesday and as always the meal and service was excellent.The fillet steak was cooked perfectly and the wedges were to die for..
My teenagers always ask to go back so I cant give it a better recommendation than that.
Enjoy.
Philip G

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Philip G.
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for all your positive feedback both from yourself and your teenager's.....not an easy demographic to win over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunchtime break”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting Westport over St Patricks day holiday`s. Driving back to Westport after spending a few hours on the beach we called into The Tavern for a hot drink to help us warm up. A hot drink (hot chocolate) turned into a cold drink(Guiness} which turned into lunch.My wife and i had the seafood chowder which was well cooked, tasty and very satisfying.
The staff were brilliant. The Tavern was atmospheric and friendly and if we get the opportunity to return to Westport our first stop will be The Tavern.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Steve W.
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for all of your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Westport and The Tavern in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have visited this restaurant many times and have always raved about it and recommended it to lots of people.However my last visit on the Saturday of Easter weekend was so disappointing.In fairness though the very friendly and efficient service was unchanged but our food was a let down.I always loved the fish and chips, chips still good,hardly any fish but lots of batter,very small portion of salad and that was it. My friend ordered a different dish and was also not impressed.Hopefully they were just having an off day in the kitchen!!!The atmosphere was still lovely so I'l not give up yet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAM089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sham089,
A sincere thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for your complements regarding our service and atmosphere. However I regret that your meal with us did not live up to the same standard and more importantly that we did not have an oppurtunity to right your dissatisfaction at the time of your visit. I have made all of the kitchen team aware of your feedback and hope that you will allow us the chance to get back on your rave record in the not too distant future,

Yours sincerely
Ruth Kiely
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Impossible to fault it. I come here regularly for all sorts of reasons.

great food, a great welcome and great service.

Myles, Ruth and all of the staff are a credit to their establishment.

10/10 :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJLX1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth K, Owner at The Tavern Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear CJLX1980,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Tavern Bar & Restaurant and for your lovely comments. Having a product which is enjoyed so much by our customers is greatly appreciated and is much valued by all of us as a team
Kind regards
Ruth Kiely
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Tavern Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing