We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventure def worth trying” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Western Greenway

The Great Western Greenway
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure def worth trying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cycled from Achill to Newport. Section from Achill to Mulranny flat with outstanding views. Section from Mulranny to Newport is just as nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heneghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    176
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great cycle track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good for occasional cyclists (like us). Not too hilly and lovely views. Above all safety for non-confident cyclists and for families.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The ride from Achill to Westport - 43 KM - STUNNING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

So happy we were able to rent bikes from the Clew Bay Bike Hire. They are very professional and the bikes are well maintained. the van took us to Achill where we were fitted for our bikes a d sent on our way with lots of good advice and tips from the staff. the dedicated greenway is wonderful with only a couple of short rides where you are sharing the road with cars.
The views are magnificent and there are several spots along the way where you may stop for a bite to eat or drink. Be sure and take plenty of water. I highly suggest Daly's Pub for lunch in Mulranmey. Whether you go for a short ride or all the way, you won't be disappointed. there is no charge for the Greenway, but there is if you rent a bike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Use Clew Bay Rentals and bring bike shorts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took the Clew Bay rental van up to Achill and came back into Westport. Stopped at Mulranny and Newport. Would strongly recommend bike shorts to make the trip more pleasant. Absolutely spectacular views---hilarious when a sheep ran in front of my 19 year old son. The biking is relatively flat and as others have mentioned, this is supposedly the easier way. And you end up in Westport with many options for dining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayR122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Newport to Mulranny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This trip was on the 'bucket list'' with certain doubts about the terrain. The bikes provided were comfortable and reliable and the service was professional, efficient and friendly. Stunning scenery and an excellent service provided by Clew Bay Cycles. To be repeated without a doubt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Greenway also viewed

 

Been to The Great Western Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing