We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The best weekend ever!

Where do I start.... The house - In THE most stunning location. Right atop of a hill overlooking a... read more

Reviewed February 6, 2018
kellyperera20025
,
London, United Kingdom
Kayaking Craic

Huge thanks to Ciaran & Dara for bringing part our hen party group out Kayaking to Collanmore... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2017
Karen K
,
Ireland
Read all 240 reviews
  
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
227
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews collanmore island hot tub water activities private island amazing weekend private bar hen party living room speed boat friday evening lots of fun second to none brilliant fun boat trip westport town croagh patrick lodge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 238 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Where do I start....

The house - In THE most stunning location. Right atop of a hill overlooking a beautiful bay. When it says in the description you are hiring a private island, you really are! Not a sole to be seen other than a few curious cows.

We were a group of 18 and we had plenty of space. There's a hottub, sauna, really large kitchen which is perfect for cooking for big groups and a living room with beutiful large glass windows looking out over the bay. And of course, the house highlight, the Irish pub inside the house!! It was so quirky and so much fun and perfect for a good old Irish knees up.

Activities - Ciaron was great at organizing and providing lots of different options for indoor and outdoor activities. We did bubble football and an adventure assault course which were brilliant fun!

We also had a wonderful day at the house where we had a masseuse come to the house to do hot stone massages, a private chef which cooked us a three course meal extravaganaza at a very reasonable 30 euro pp, and a traditional Irish two man band who played in the pub. It was the perfect day in and so much fun!

Ciaron - The final thing to comment on in the 5 star department is the island owner Ciaron. He was incredibly accommodating in every aspect, even when we had to cancel our dinner reservation on the mainland due to bad weather and he brought us a Chinese takeaway by speedboat! He did everything he could to make our weekend extra special and even joined in the Irish band celebrations with a glass of fruit punch :-)

I can't wait to come back in the Summer and try the watersports. Ciaron will definitely be seeing us again (if he'll have us).

Kelly and the 17 others xx

3  Thank kellyperera20025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure-Islands, Owner at The Adventure Islands, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Hi Kelly,

Many thanks for all the comments, I also had a super weekend taking care of you all. I hope to see you all back sometime soon...

Best regards

Ciaran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Huge thanks to Ciaran & Dara for bringing part our hen party group out Kayaking to Collanmore Island. We were very well taken care of and had lots of fun out in the open water..Fantastic views of Croagh Patrick & the bay. I would highly recommend these guys to add a bit of adventure to your trip, Extremely professional & friendly. We hope to visit again, thanks again, Karen K & hen group 29.07.17.

Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Excellent experience kayaking with Daire. We had great fun and would definitely recommend this as an activity for the whole family. Big smiles on everyone!! Daire very patient and professional too. Great day. Thank you.

1  Thank Sixlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

Had a great birthday weekend away. Stunning house in a stunning part of the country. Loads of space and comfy beds. Nothing nicer than kayaking and exploring the coastal area

Thank mhanlyIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

Had a brilliant time on Collanmore Island. Ciaran was very helpful and efficient and he made us all feel at home. The Kayaking was excellent and we made great use of the hot tub. It's a fabulous house and very comfortable. Will hopefully return again, really recommended!

Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure-Islands, Owner at The Adventure Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thanks for your review Joe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

Had such a fantastic day yesterday kayaking in the sun from collanmore island lodge.. Thanks to Ciaran for such a chilled out trip around the islands.. couldn't recommend it enough! We'll definitely be making a return visit very soon! No greater place to be than Westport in the summer!

Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

We've just had the most amazing weekend at the adventure islands. I have to start by thanking Ciaran for all his help and support in arranging my sisters hen party. As a group of 16 ladies we arrived on the island on friday evening and as we stood on the island and admired the view of the bay a chorus of ' oh wow' could be heard amoung the girls. I knew from the look on Ciaran's face that this was a very common reaction. The lodge itself was second to none, from the stunning views from the very spacious kitchen/ living room to the relaxing hot tub and sauna, and for those who enjoy a drink your own private bar! On the saturday we took part in the hen survival activities and lets just say it brought out the compedative streak in everyone!! I really enjoyed the water activities even thought i can't swim myself and did end up in the cold water, but we were well looked after by Darragh and Ciaran ( thanks guys!) We finished off the morning back in the lodge for a soak in the hot tub. Saturday evening we took the quick boat trip across to the pier where a bus brought us into westport town for a lovely meal and a few hours in one of the town's busiest pubs. As the weather was nice a calm we didn't have to leave the town until 11 where Ciaran met us to insure we all got back to the lodge safely, where the party continued into the early hours. I would highly recommend the lodge for all type of groups. I have even mentioned in work for an ideal place for team building! Thanks again Ciaran really looking forward to a return visit.

Thank siobhan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

I've just returned from the most amazing Hen weekend with you guys! It was great to have Ciaran's help in arranging everything as I'm living in the UK so it really took the stress out of the whole thing. Nothing was a problem or an issue and no question was too stupid, he was brilliant! We were particularly impressed with him escorting us back to the island after our meal and night out in Westport. It was really reassuring for me as looking after a big group in this type of setting can be daunting but he made sure we were all on the bus and then came with us across on the boat and walked us right up to the front door. The Lodge itself is perfect for a group getaway and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the activities and dinner. Big thanks too to Darragh who met us at The Lodge and also assisted with the activities. Couldn't fault one thing! We will definitely be back!

Thank Roo0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I booked the lodge on Collanmore Island for a hen party of 15 and the whole experience was fantastic. Ciaran was lovely to work with, and always efficient in responding and helping us with whatever he could.

The lodge itself is a beautiful big house and the fact that there was nothing else around it on the island added to it. The kitchen was sufficiently stocked making cooking for the group very manageable.

We opted for the kayaking activity and it was great fun for all, hot port and chocolate being served to us half-way through, a nice touch.

All in all, the weekend went by seamlessly and everyone at the hen had a fantastic time! I highly recommend it as something different to do for a hen party or group of friends organising a weekend away!

Thanks to all at the Adventure Islands Team!

Thank deirdremcevoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017

Had an outstanding New Years weekend away in a group of almost 20. Plenty of space for everyone to live and a great sized kitchen to cook in. The weather didn't allow us explore the great outdoors but we were perfectly happy inside, spent quite a bit of time in the snug! Ciaran was great, very accommodating, and the house itself and location is very picturesque.

We disembarked the ferry into 2017 on a high and plan to return for a BBQ and watersports over the summer.

Overall great experience highly recommended.

Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure-Islands, Owner at The Adventure Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hi John,

Thank you very much for the super Review.

Best regards

Ciaran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews