We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here with the family over the August Bank Holiday weekend. Super place with excellent facilities. We never dined here but dined in Westport some restaurants better than others. Have to say though the staff here couldn't do enough for us! The location is central so you are in easy reach of all the amenities that Westport has to offer. We did the Croagh Patrick climb and I would really recommend it , when in Rome and all that.We will hopefully return again, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Carl O,

Thank you for writing a great review of your recent stay with us, and that we were able to do all we could to make your stay with us comfortable and relaxing.

Although it sounds like you & your family had an action-packed minibreak!

We can heartedly recommend our hotel restaurant 'Madden's Bistro' as a great place to dine, with an excellent menu choice at attractive prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay on your next visit to Westport!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the heart of town, close to pubs, shopping and restaurants. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. We only stayed here one night as a stopover on our way around Ireland but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Discodev,

Thank you for your very kind words in your recent review about your brief stay with us. We were glad to host you in your trip around Ireland, and we shall pass on your kind words about your breakfast to our kitchen team: which we are locally renowned for!

We do hope you will try the Clew Bay Hotel again on your next trip to Ireland.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Clew Bay Hotel the last weekend in July for his birthday. It is a nice 3 star hotel. The rooms are nice, basic but very clean. Hallways are a bit dated (at least the 3rd floor is). Great location and quite reasonable. I requested a room a the back which they were more then happy to accomodate and we were put in a room at the very end of the corridor which we were happy with as it made it much quieter.

I personally didn't particularly like the bed. It was two bed's pushed together with two seperate duvets on top. I didn't find it very comfortable (found it too soft!) but my boyfriend thought it was lovely so I didn't mention it to receiption. It's probalbly just a personal preference! The bathroom had a brilliant shower....I didn't want to come out of it!

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Had dinner in Maddens restaurant on the first evening. We got the curry and sea bass. Curry wasn't great but the sea bass was lovely. Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to sample the cocktails....will have to next time! Breakfast in the mornings was lovely and very fresh as it is made to order, however avoid it at peak times if you are in a rush.

Overall we had a great stay over the few days in Westport. Climbed Croagh Patrick one day and did a kayaking tour on Clew Bay on the second day. Really enjoyed it and will definitely be back to Westport and Clew Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel and possibly the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mars34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Mars34,

Thank you for writing a great review of your recent stay with us!

We are glad you had an action-packed short break, and enjoyed your kayaking and your climb of Croagh Patrick.

I will pass on your compliments to our breakfast team: we are well known locally for the quality and offering of our breakfast service.

We have recently renovated/upgraded many bedrooms in the hotel, and we have constant programme of improvement works. We are glad you enjoyed your bedroom with renovated bathroom.

We hope you will come again and stay for another mini-break at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the long weekend with some friends. Hotel is clean and in decent shape but unfortunately on our 1st night we both woke up with our backs in a bad way due to the condition of the bed. To be fair when I went to raise the issue they couldn't have been more helpful and put us into a room withs much better bed. Good breakfast here as well and the waiting staff are really nice and friendly and have no problem with you making up your own breakfast instead of what's on the menu. Really good central location also. All round, great value for money

Stayed: August 2014
Thank soundasaeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear soundasaeuro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that we were able to assist you with your bedding query, and were able to transfer you to an alternative room - and that your stay with us was not marred by this.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel facilities and we do look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was tasked with organising my sisters hen weekend from overseas and from the moment I called The Clew Bay Hotel I knew it was going to be an easy process.
The receptionist was extremely helpful from the get go and was very prompt with providing an email with the breakdown of costs and holding room for the guests.
A number of changes to plans meant emails back and forth but each one was replied to within the day and nothing was too much.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and check in was a breeze (even with 22 girls). We enjoyed group lunch in Maddens Bistro and the hotel provided a very cost effective not to mention delicious 3 course menu including bubbles. The 5 euro cocktails also went down a treat 
Breakfast was a perfect selection of hot and cold, something for everyone. We had one rainy morning but that was no drama as we were provided with rain poncho’s for our handbags (just in case) and as we waited for our bus to make the journey back home we were given local handmade chocolates.

A better level of hospitality I have not experienced in some time. The team at the Clew Bay Hotel made our weekend one to remember and every single one of the girls remarked on how fantastic you guys made it for us.

Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Evelyn M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a wonderful & comprehensive review of your recent hen party weekend with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we are glad you all had a great time!

I will pass on your compliments to our staff team.

We do all hope you will decide to come back and visit again for your next stay in Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were there for www.westportif.ie and were suitably comfortable and well fed before and after our 80km cycle. The bath was perfect for a post cycle soak, and access to the leisure centre meant all manner of recuperative exercise and steam/sauna/plunge pool were available throughout. Bed was comfortable too. We had a tasty breakfast with plenty of choice and service and then also enjoyed their delicious set dinner menu with a big group. Saturday night was a bit noisy with raucous smokers till very late but then being on a main street in summer it's understandable, and beyond the control of the hotel, short of major soundproofing. All in all we'd definitely go back and the town as a whole is very lively and entertaining on all fronts and there are also plenty of other places to try for food and lodging if only for variety.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Ian B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your stay last weekend for the Westportif cycling events. By all accounts it was a great weekend, and we were very pleased to be one of the main supporters for this event.

But more importantly it was great you were able to compete in the rides, and to enjoy a lovely stay in our hotel. Westport is certainly a lively town in these long summer nights, so thank you for understanding that, and we are glad it did not spoil your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the clew bay hotel for 3 nights stay on the 12 th July. On arrival the staff at reception couldn't do enough for us. Our room was great and overlooked the river. The breakfast was awesome ( cooked breakfast done per order not buffet great ) .We had an evening meal in maddens bistro belonging to hotel which was superb . Had ate in a top restraunt in wesport but would say maddens was much better . Definately worth a try . Had been first time in wesport but will return and definately to clew bay as all staff at the hotel had made us so welcome and made are stay such an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank inez f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Inez F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us, and the excellence of the hotel facilities (namely the Madden's Bistro and our fine food and dining offering).

We are glad you enjoyed a great break with us here in the beautiful town of Westport, and we look forward to having you join us again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
951 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $62 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing