We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay Hotel, but not worth the money.”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel, but not worth the money.”
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Had mixed feelings with this hotel.
On the plus side:
The location is perfect. Right in the middle of Westport.
The check-in staff at the front desk were fantastic. They were very helpful and friendly, booked dinner for us one night.

But, the watier/waitress/bar staff were not so good, they didn't make any effort. They just seemed hungover and apathetic.

The room was okay, nice and clean, got a really comfy bed, but it was showing signs of wear and tear, there were a few things broken in the room.

Overall, it was bad value for money... not really worth it.

  • Liked — The location was great.
  • Disliked — It was overpriced.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_fair_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    313
    69
    31
    14
See reviews for
158
455
40
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Seven of us stayed in the Clew Bay Hotel for three nights. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Westport and near some great restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at the Clew Bay for 2 nights and booked directly with the hotel on a 2 breakfast and 1 evening meal basis.

The hotel offers a really useful Knock Airport pick up service for 30 euros return. However, our holiday didn't get off to a good start as we were WAITING AT THE AIRPORT FOR 2 HOURS before a member of the Clew Bay staff came to collect us! To make matters worse when we returned home we had been charged 30 euros each way (60 euros in total), a quick telephone call to the hotel soon sorted this out and we were refunded.

For the price I expected a lot more. We upgraded our room to a superior double for an extra 20 euros per night, apart from having a wonderful view of the Carrowbeg river the room seemed no different to the standard rooms along our corridor.

Breakfast was included in our package and for a small charge it was promptly delivery to our room each morning. If you love a great big hearty breakfast then you will be disappointed as they are only small portions.

The food in both Maddens Bistro and the Riverside Restaurant is wonderful! My only complaint is that both menus were almost indentical and I feel that between the two there should have been much more choice. You will pay more in the Riverside Restaurant for the same food you can get in Maddens as you are paying for the surroundings and Riverside View.

Snacks are available in Maddens Bistro throughout the day. There are quite a few members of staff who hardly speak any English so speak clearly when placing your order as we ordered 2 meals and were delivered 4!

The hotel is placed in a great location to explore Westport. The town mainly comprises of small gift shops and bars. Matt Malloys is a must if you want to experience the true meaning of Irish people and their music.... fantastic!!! The pub gets quite busy so if you want a seat try and get there before 9pm!

If you have not visited Ireland before it is a VERY expensive place to eat out, a meal for two with a bottle of wine will cost over 100 euros! Some of the restaurants in Westport offer an early bird menu but they are only available before 7pm so if you want to save quite a bit of money try and dine out early.

The staff are really helpful and friendly, they go out of their way to please you, on a rainy day they even lent us an umbrella!

While we were there we reported a crack in our bathroom sink, we weren't certain if it was there when were arrived or not and told the staff so (although we knew that we had done NOTHING to cause any damage!). They just said to forget about it and thanks for informing them. HOWEVER, as we were waiting for our return to Knock, the hotel owner (who didn't even bother to introduce himself) approached us and asked for a CONTRIBUTION TOWARDS THE COST OF A REPLACEMENT SINK!!! Another TA member stayed at the Clew Bay prior to myself and she has also reported in her review that she had a cracked sink in her bathroom, I have sent her a message asking the room number (as I would find it most interesting to see if she stayed in the same room) but as yet she hasn't replied.

This was a short break away to celebrate my birthday. My choices were Rome or Ireland. I am of Irish descent and have never visited Ireland before so I made Westport my choice. I am not one to moan as I love to love all my holidays and short breaks away BUT I was left feeling disappointed with my first experience of Ireland and wish that I had gone to Rome instead... it would have cost a lot less too!!!

  • Liked — The food, although it is very pricey!
  • Disliked — Being charged for a broken sink that we had NOT done!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mistyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel for one night in July 2008 and we had a great time. The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a large family group, and the hotel was able to accommodate us for dinner on short notice as well. Some of our group utlized the adjacent health center for a swim, which was welcome after a long day of [stressful] driving to get to Westport from Tipperary. The rooms were very nice, and clean and comfortable. Some in our group were in the newly renovated section of the hotel and the rest of us were in the "older" section, but no complaints about either type.
The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was very good as well.
Mary at the front desk was particularly helpful, and directed us to a local tire shop to have our left [of course] front tire replaced [as noted, stressful driving!!].
The hotel is right in the center of town, and has ample parking in an adjacent lot.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean rooms and great location
  • Disliked — windows would not open
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank herbiethemisfitelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the Clew Bay for 6 days, and found it to be very conveniently located in the center of town, very comfortable and with a top-notch staff. Rooms are very clean, if somewhat small. This is an old building, so the rooms come with some "quirks", and not all are alike or even the same size or configuration. You may or may not get a tub, you may get a spacious double or a cramped double. But you don't come to Westport to stay in your room, so it's okay! Note: bring your own hair dryer. Theirs are oddly anchored into the bureau drawer and not very powerful.

The food and staff in the restaurant were both excellent and the same is true for the bistro and the bar/lounge. Every member of this hotel staff goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The owner seemed to always be around, and he never failed to stop and speak and ask how things were going. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Liked — location, staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have just returned fron the Clew Bay Hotel and stayed for 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal.We had a very smooth check in and the receptionist gave us a comlimentary tea or coffee so that we could relax from the drive.
The hotel rooms were small but spotlessly clean with lovely bathroom. We were really impressed with the friendly staff both in the dining room and the bar and reception. A smile and a bit of light conversation is always appreciated.
The staff seem very happy in their work and it shows. Very relaxed atmosphere.
We had our meal on the second night and as i am coeliac i was a bit worried that i would not be able to have a suitable meal but to my deight the hotel caters for coeliacs and vegans and the meal was beautiful- lovely dining room decor .
Overall a lovely experience and i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The large double bed and bright bathroom
  • Disliked — the room could have been a little bigger
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNDIFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Stayed here with a tour group in May 2008. Was put in top floor in the "old" part of the hotel, not yet refurbished (all other tour members had modern, updated rooms). Tired linens and the like, but adequate accommodations. OK breakfast with free newspaper. Good location in town - close to restaurants and the like.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing