We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Break”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay had a lovely welcome on arrival and having just climbed Croagh Patrick we needed to comfort ourselves with a nice warm shower and weren't dissappointed

Darren the owner was very hospitable on arrival in the Bar/Restaurant and gave us some tips on choosing from the menu .We all went for Fish nChips which was very tasty.

Breakfast was first class we'd highly recommend the porridge and honey and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon the service was always with a smile and the staff were very welcoming.
The hotel is very well located in the centre of Westport and has a pay and display very reasonably priced car park a cinema and a swimming pool right on its doorstep.
We look forward to a return visit soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Michael Joseph,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us, and for leaving such kind comments about our hotel. This is really appreciated.

We are glad you met Darren - one of the hotel owners - and that you relaxed in the local area. The quality of our food offer from our breakfast service and bistro restuarant is well-known, and we are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rooms were dirty and had not been updated in years. Housekeeping was non-existent. Loud guests which made sleeping and relaxing difficult. Their restaurant however was very good as was the morning breakfast. I would not stay again. Spend your money elsewhere in Westport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flanne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel with partner and 2 young children. Location is perfect, in town centre, close to tourist information office, shops and chemist at either side of building. At the rear of the hotel is a playground. Hotel offers passes to the leisure centre which has a large swimming pool, a toddler pool and access to sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi. Our room was comfortable, a huge king bed, and 3 single beds. Breakfast was beautiful. The staff at the hotel are so friendly and helpful. Our deal included a 2 day pass to the local Westport house and pirate park which the kids loved. I would recommend the hotel to anyone but especially perfect for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Siobhan 594,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, and for leaving such kind comments about our hotel.

We are all glad you had a great family break with us.
Do survive this last week of the school holidays with the children!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I flew Halifax Nova Scotia at midnight to Heathrow, transferred to another flight to Dublin, then took a train across Ireland. The train was awesome for its speed, Wifi and reasonable cost. It took 5 minutes to reach the Clew Bay Hotel that I was able to work out on line and got a good deal as I was going solo. My only request was that I have a bath on my arrival as I would have been up over 24 hours. The front desk was efficient and delightful. None of this oh lets see what we have. The room was large the bathroom was spotless w a huge tub & shower. But breakfast blew me away. I thought it was simply a very good buffet so my cereal and yogurt
was doing fine for me. Then the waitress gives me the breakfast menu --- so I chose well I could not help myself smoked salmon and scrambled egg. What with a croissant and tea to wrap things up I would say this breakfast was the best I have had anywhere. I travel a lot.
Later I needed to purchase a phone so the front desk again directed me to the Vodaphone folk only a few doors away and the young man there was brilliant. I needed a connection for my little Acer and the man at the appliance store checked my cord and gave me my attachment in a minute. I say this because if I was on my own I might never have found these important tools for the rest of my stay. They also arranged a taxi for me to make to my particular destination. I would definitely would return and stay as the attitude w customers was spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartestartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Smartestartist,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review of your stay with us.

We are so pleased you had a very comfortable and relaxing stay with us after your transatlantic dash from Canada!

We are glad you found your room nice, and that you enjoyed your sumptuous breakfast (one of our key selling points).

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ireland and the Clew Bay Hotel again on your next travel adventure.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with the tour group. It was nicely situated in the town of Westport and enjoyed being able to walk through the town with this hotel as the base. The lobby was nicely decorated with some local? art and jewelry that was available for purchase. The breakfast was traditional of many of the hotels/B&Bs we stayed with a nice cold selection and the opportunity to order hot items. Staff was very friendly. There was a bar attached to the hotel where we enjoyed some jazz music which was a nice change of pace from the trad music which we enjoyed as well.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NevadaSoulTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Nevada Soul Train,

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent holiday to Ireland and your stay with us at the Clew Bay Hotel.

The live jazz in Madden's Bar on Thursday evenings is one of the highlights of the week and we glad you enjoyed the 'craic' in there!

We are unique in Westport in having our very own art gallery off the hotel lobby, and to give guests the opportunity to purchase local art & jewellery.

Our excellent staff team are the hotel's key asset: we are glad you enjoyed their service to you.

We hope you enjoyed your tour of Ireland, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very central, staff were friendly and our room was great - quiet and the beds were soooo comfortable! Would definitely recommend it!

Thank sheepish7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thanks to the staff at Clew Bay for their flexibility and personal touch when we had a last-minute change in our travel plans. We got to stay over subsequently and can only echo what other authors have written about this hotel. The location, welcome and interest in the guests' comfort are things other hotels could learn from.
This is a 3-star hotel with all the ingredients for a great visit to Westport: comfortable rooms, clean environment, quiet at night and a hearty, unfussy breakfast. Tuesday night features some nice jazz in the lounge and the atmosphere there was very pleasant indeed.
We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear ErnestBT48,

Thank you for your very warm review of your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate your time taken in writing about your stay: we were so pleased to read that you had really enjoyed it!

As you described, the strongest elements of our hotel offering, are our professional yet friendly staff team, the quality of our food service (both breakfast in the Riverside restaurant & lunch/evening meals in Madden's Bistro), and our friendly/cosy atmosphere in our family run hotel. Live jazz music on Thursday evenings, and occasional live music at the weekend's in the hotel bar, adds further to what we can offer.

Thank you for sharing in our hotel, and for your excellent review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
981 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $65 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing