We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for all Mayo attractions”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very clean, comfortable hotel. The staff very extremely helpful and a good breakfast set me off on the right track for exploring Crogh Patrick etc. I look forward to staying there again. Although the hotel does not have it's own gym guests have access to a nearby fitness centre. With so many outdoor activities in Westport you may not need or have time to go to the gym. Maddens bistro(part of the hotel), is worth visiting as well for food or a relaxing drink.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DublinTheresa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Dublin Theresa32,

Thank you for posting such a complimentary review of your stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel.

One key feature of your stay was your use of the adjacent Westport Leisure Park. As you mentioned, all our guests have COMPLIMENTARY & UNLIMITED use of this modern leisure centre right next to our hotel: featuring a swimming pool, children's pool, sauna, steam room, and a full health & fitness suite. Another incentive to book your stay again at the Clew Bay Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spent two nights during Paddies weekend in the Clew Bay Hotel, I have nothing but positive feedback with regard to my stay. The rooms were really comfortable, the food was super, we had dinner in the bar and breakfast each morning, the menu and quality of food overall was excellent. The staff were really lovely and helpful. I would highly recommend the Clew Bay Hotel and look forward to my next stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Nor H,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel which you posted a few days ago after your stay with us over St.Patrick's Weekend.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the good-natured craic of Westport, and that you had a comfortable stay with us. Our strongest and most well-known features are the friendliness and professionalism of our staff, and the quality and taste of our food!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon,

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A few of us stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel at the weekend and I would recommend this Hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, walking distance from pubs and shops. I would stay here again if I was to go back to Westport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone I have stayed here twice in the last six months and had a fantastic time .I also the privilege of eating in maddens restaurant on two of the nights which was excellent .the next we are down in mayo I will be staying in the Clew Bay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your very kind review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we are so glad you decided to stay with us again.

One of the key highlights of our hotel are our menu's and the quality of our food. Do leave a review of your dining experience on the Madden's Bistro Trip Advisor page.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Clew Bay Hotel is situated in ground zero! A couple of minutes from the main street and the mall. .Parking (€3/24 hours) right opposite the hotel.

Lovely friendly welcome in a bright clean reception. Our room (215) was nicely furnished if a bit tight. There was no heating and so the room was cold. The phone didn't work so we called down to reception and the girl turned on the heating for us. As we were going out anyway this wasn't a big deal. Big spotless and modern bathroom. BIG plus!!

We had BIG issues with noise in the early hours of the morning. We were woken at 02.00, 03.00, 03.30 and finally at 04.20 by loud mouthed, door banging laughing idiots. Some people are just so bl**dy ignorant and disrespectful. When we woke at 08.30 I made it my business to pound down their corridor, talk loudly and bang my door. I had a right chuckle when I saw a couple of doors open with sleepy heads to see who was making noise! Sauce for the goose......?? At least for them it was daylight and late morning.

The hotel can not be fully responsible for the conduct of guests. But then we did phone 2 weeks before arrival and asked the girl to keep us a nice quiet room...she said she would and clearly forgot. The genuinely concerned Maria called us to apologise and handled the issue in a thoroughly professional way. She runs a good show.

However I would suggest;

1. Dampen the sound of footfall on the ramp by 215 by placing a thick rubber may under the carpet.. It sounds like a drum inside the room when people pound down this ramp.
2. Place signs as you exit the lift to ask guests to respect others who are asleep when they are arriving back late.
3. Another big similar sign, after 23.00, as you enter the lift.
4. Have night reception keep an eye on guests as they arrive. They will have been drinking when the come back in the early hours.
5. I would think of closing off 215, because of the ramp and the closeness of the lift.

Very good brekkie and we were lucky to have a window seat. Just lovely to see the river flow past. For brekkie I missed fresh fruit and hot crispy bacon/sausages. They unfortunately were old and cold.

Overall this is a very well run hotel that deserves to do well and, like us, all I am sure they are finding it challenging. We would stay again but we would be absolutely clear what room we were getting.

I gave 4 because, as I said, the guests behaviour is down to the guests. Other than that it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear HarleyClarkey,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We are pleased that you were able to speak with Maria who was able to assist you with feedback from your stay. Do contact the hotel again directly should you have any further queries.

We do welcome you back to the hotel, and we look forward to providing future hospitality for you.

Very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clew Bay is located in the heart of Westport - walking distance to St. Mary's, the river, shopping, restaurants and pubs. Hotel was quiet and clean - suite style was a refreshing surprise. Full Irish Breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was great - food and service. We were only in for one night, and the front desk rushed through some laundry for us for only 7 Euros, and they made sure our dry cleaning was ready when we went to breakfast in the morning. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: "Family Room" was suite style with enclosed king and separate room with two twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripOfALifetime_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and email to us...we were really encouraged to read both. Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Just like the room you stayed in, the majority of our bedrooms are very spacious and well appointed. Our family rooms represent excellent value with the separated sleeping areas.

The two strongest features of our hotel which guests pick up on is our friendly, warm, and professional staff, and the central location of the hotel to Westport town centre. Everything is within a five minute walk of our front door!

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday in Ireland, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 9th March 2013, It was very disappointing and in no way resembled its pictures on the website. The room was tiny and freezing the hallway was filled with a terrible odour. Only thing this hotel had in its favour was that the staff were really friendly.

Room Tip: try another hotel there are loads of them in Westport. Especially the Wyat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive comments about our staff, however we were very disappointed that you were unable to express your dissatisfaction during your stay. I recall meeting you during your stay and you did not make me aware of any issues.
We would have made every effort to move your room. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly, so if you can contact me here at the hotel.
Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $62 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing