We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Room and awful smell in hall”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My stay in the Clew Bay Hotel was a great disappointment especially after viewing how lovely it looked on their site. The room was tiny, cold and the television was a portable one with you could not view. The worst part was the smell in the corridor. The only upside were the friendly staff. Will not be staying again/

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truereflectiononly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive comments about our staff, however we were very disappointed that you were unable to express your dissatisfaction during your stay. I have made several attempts to contact you by phone. I recall meeting you during your stay and you did not make me aware of any issues.
We would have made every effort to move your room. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly, so if you can contact me here at the hotel.

Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Good value with friendly staff in excellent location. All we asked for was delivered in a friendly and efficient manner. When we sought advice, it was what was required and often more.The rooms were well equiped and very clean.All the public areas were well signed. The food we ate was all of a good standard and excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspratt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in the Clewbay Hotel in Westport last weekend and had a lovely time. The staff were very good, most obliging and friendly. Rooms were clean and bright. Breakfast was very good but the dinner on Saturday evening was second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the general area of Westport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dommo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed 2nights in Clew Bay & at 50euro a night you couldnt ask for anymore,the room was a grand size,clean,warm & comfie beds,the staff were great & were always on hand if you needed anything,they dont have a car park but theres a public car park right next door & the hotel will give you a premit,2 nights parking was 6euro which was great,for your 50euro you get breakfast which was lovely the menu had every thing you could want,the food at the bar was well priced & was lovely as was the beer,the night life was walking distance from the hotel so there was no need to be getting taxis,there was a leisure centre available to us but we didnt use it,next time im heading to Westport this hotel will be the 1st place ill try & book,thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MILLER1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, staff were excellent, so helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and warm with all the amenities. Food was lovely and again service was excellent, would highly recommend and will stay again soon

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNDemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was great such pleasent staff on arrival and so helpfull the room was lovely and no fear of being cold heating was on majority of time had to turn down setting a little as it was a little to warm the hotel was quiet and provided entertainment at night we got use of the leisure centre at the corner of hotel used sauna and heat room lovely people very chatty would definatly stay there again breakfast in the morning included in room price was lovely and good variety to choose from

Room Tip: side room let in the sun was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Rachel,

We are so glad that you & your partner enjoyed your stay with us over Valentines, and that you got the most out of the complimentary use of the adjacent Westport Leisure Park to the hotel. Our full Irish breakfast and buffet options are highly prized by guests: we are so glad you enjoyed the food.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Very best wishes,

Neil
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing