We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. What you'd expect from the west of Ireland!!”
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel. What you'd expect from the west of Ireland!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend recently. We've been to Westport numerous times over the years but decided to stay here for the first time. My wife had stayed here on a girls weekend not too long ago and couldn't speak highly enough of it. I was a bit dubious having read some of the previous reviews but, as with most reviews, they are every person's own point of view. The majority of reviews here rate the hotel very highly and I have to agree. Hard to say enough about it really. Nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly, attentive staff. Great breakfast in the mornings and, again, staff that are more than attentive to your needs. Can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely stay here again.

I'm very fussy about hotels and particularly the staff, the welcome, and general friendliness. Don't be put off by the bad reviews.

Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: Centrally located. Convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_mck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    328
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
168
481
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Four of us booked a package deal - €125 for 2 nights B&B with dinner...and transfers to and from Croagh Patrick with packed lunches!! I would highly recommend this package because its extremely good value for money. The staff and owner couldnt have done more for us. It was a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and we had a great room in the corner of the hotel which was bright and spacious. Westport is a great town....so tidy and we loved the shops...and the food. We are planning our next trip already!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

It is amazing this is ony a 3 star hotel-it merits better. We saw an offer in the Irish Times for a 2 day stay plus free cycle hire in Westport and decided to give it a go, not having done anything like that before. The hotel was excellent, clean, comfortable with spacious modernised rooms. Though there was a "hen party" at the hotel we were never disturbed. The restaurant was first class and the pleasant touch of a free coffee/tea in the bar on arrival was very welcome. The breakfast was all you could want and the hotel gave us a packed lunch for the bicycle hire. We did the new Western Greenway track from Newport to Mulranny-38km in total and highly recommended. All in all we really enjoyed our visit, it was excellent value and we will certainly return to this hotel.
Jim and Geraldine McAdam

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim_mcadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I had read from a previous Trip Advisor report that the bedrooms were dark and would fully agree as had to ask for extra lighting to be able to read the computer keyboard. The room layout was strange as the desk was not located near plugs of the internet connection plug and had to drape around the TV.
The brochure indicates its near a babbling brook but most of the rooms overlook the public car park or the main road .
We were happy to leave

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel on a 55+three day break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were wonderful, the breakfast selection was great and the evening meals were very good quality and nicely presented. The owner Darren Madden made a point of introducing himself and was most welcoming,The location of the hotel is ideal for those who like to walk around Westport and the rooms were spotless. We are looking forward to a return next year

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glostermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This hotel was just the kind of base we wanted to stay in to explore the county. It's centrally located in Westport and the room was clean. We didn't eat breakfast as we thought it was a little over-priced but there were a number of cafes in the area (including one just across the road) in which you can get a good value breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I should state first-off that I haven't stayed in this hotel, and am writing on behalf of my parents!

My boyfriend and I often visit Westport, and the Clew Bay is a hotel I've often wanted to visit, but as we generally book at short notice it has never been available before when we wanted to go there.

I wanted to book a weekend there as a gift to my parents, but was a little put off by a recent review I saw by a guest. Nonetheless, I rang the hotel and mentioned the review, and the receptionist quickly informed me that they were aware of the review and that they would happily put my parents in a different, newly refurbished part of the hotel.

This impressed me lots, and put my mind at ease.

Anyways, for what it's worth, my parents loved the place. The room, the food, everything. Had the best holiday in years! :)

Thanks for that. :)

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank -Kate-2006-L-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,059 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Property: Clew Bay Hotel
Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing