We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and homely hotel with a fab Spa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We weren't looking for a Spa hotel, just somewhere to stay with our two seven year olds whilst we had a few days in Westport. Most of the hotels in the town itself were fully booked so we ended up with Knockranny (about 10 mins walk into town). What makes this hotel so lovely is the staff...they couldn;t do enough for us, in every respect. We had a family room which was enormous, two single beds and a double. There are only four family rooms availabke so we were lucky. The food is superb, homemade granola and brown breads for breakfast as well as full Irish fry if you fancy. The food in the evening was amazing (if you can fit a meal in after the beautiful afternoon teas). A complimentary spa treatment was included - the staff make you feel like a queen for a day...it was amazing! Only complaint about our stay would be that there was an extremely nosiy family in the room above us who were horsing around until all hours and we could easily hear them through the ceiling. Also the spa (with a lovely pool) was for over 18 s only though we able to use the pool at another hotel so no big deal. Would thoroughly recommend Knockranny...thank you!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank chiswickmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Knockranny House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in the Knrokranny House Hotel in July to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. If you ever get an opportunity to visit Wesport this is the only hotel I would recommend to stay in. The staff and management were extremely friendly, professional and helpful to us which made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. Highly recommend and hopefully I will get the opporuntiy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed here for a few days last week and it was perfect. We went mid-week and got a great deal on a Grand Deluxe room. It was bigger than our appartment and was perfect for travelling with a baby. The Spa was one of the best my wife has been in and the food in the bar was lovely (never made it to the restaurant). It's in a great location a few miniutes walk from town with a view over Westport looking out towards Clew bay and Croagh Patrick.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetlaggedGMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here as we were attending a family wedding at the hotel so I thought that the hotel was going to be good. My expectations, usually dashed I might add, were surpassed on this occasion. The hotel is set in a beautiful part of west Ireland on a hill overlooking the town of Westport. The views are simply outstanding being right next door (so it seems) to Croagh Patrick mountain.

The hotel itself has been modernised tastefully but still keeps its old world charm and the legendary Irish hospitality is in full flow from the staff. Our room was absolutely huge and I couldn't find a single fault with it. We dined with other wedding guests in the hotel restaurant on our first night and the food was both sublime and delicious. The chef has apparently earned Michelin stars elsewhere and his aim is to achieve one here. If our experience is anything to go by then he is well on his way to doing so.

There is an excellent gym and spa attached to the hotel which we used both on the morning of the wedding and the day afterwards (after a little too much hospitality !). The wedding itself passed without any problems and everyone I spoke to loved the hotel.

I really can't recommend this place highly enough. I'm going to book a surprise weekend there later on in the year as it has all the ingredients for a lovely romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jedinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This hotel provided an amazing level of luxury . We stayed in the new wing in a deluxe room which was bigger than our house! The bed could easily have accommodated 4 people and was very comfortable. The room had every mod con you could imagine, including free wifi, DVD player and stereo. The bathroom was huge with a large shower, bidet, 2 basins and a spa bath, as if this wasnt enough it also had mood lighting and music piped in from the stereo in the bedroom.
The staff were all very helpful and the porter took us and our suitcases to our room without even expecting a tip. Normally we wouldn't bother with any assistance but we needed him to show us the way as the hotel is so large you could easily get lost!
The view from the room was disapointing as it was only onto a courtyard with not much to see, especially considering the location of the hotel and that the views were wonderful from other areas.
The age group was a little older but this didnt cause a problem in any way.
The hotel is very grand from the outside, set in nice grounds with excellent views and plenty of free car parking. The town is only a few minutes drive away with plenty of reasonalby priced car parks.
We didnt eat in the hotel for dinner as we felt it was too expensive but I would say the choice of restaurants in the town was quite limited too. Breakfast was nice, part buffet and part freshly cooked full irish breakfast with options of pancakes etc for those who would prefer it.
Overall we felt the price we paid for this hotel was comparable to others but Knockranny provided a far superior level of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Got a fantastic deal for 4 nights stay including dinner. Hotel has a splendid location overlooking Croagh Patrick Mountain, Clew Bay and Clare Island. We were immediately impressed by the spacious room in which we stayed and its cleanliness The staff were friendly and the food excellent. This hotel has won many awards and rightly so. We had a flickering light in the bathroom and it was fixed within 15 minutes. Although most of the guests were 50 plus it did have some young families staying including teenagers and babies

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Knockranny is a beautiful Hotel with spectacular views. We had a suite which was large nicely furnished, spotless & very comfy.
The service of the staff was brilliant, nothing to much trouble for them. I have to do dialysis 4 time a day & need a very clean environment to do it and the Knockranny was one of the best places I have had to use. The other being the Grosvenor on Park Lane.
The food was excellent. The bed so comfy. Every one of my party had a great experience. Would go again but next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notfussyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $171 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing