We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockranny House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely views and excellent food. We were with Gate 1Travel touring Ireland and this hotel was on our itinerary. It was fantastic! We dined late with friends one evening and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and the food more delicious. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    295
    128
    40
    27
See reviews for
205
712
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

What is not to like at this fabulous hotel ,been coming here for over 12 yrs ,that in itself is some
recommendation.This hotels keeps giving & now it has a wonderful Hair Salon attached to the spa

Just returned after 5 wonderfully relaxing days with food up there with the best hotels in Europe.
Seamus Commons& his team deliver night after night ,beautifully crafted food of best quality.
Will be back soon again , once a yr is not enough to visit this lovely place .
The dining room looks out on Croagh patrick and Clew bay. Superb scenery ,
Congratulations to all involved , I feel this is a long overdue tribute to a peaceful ,relaxing hotel

Room Tip: The large rooms with Jacuzzi are wonderful & also the standard rooms with the view of Croagh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I attended a wedding and we found this hotel to be great. Our room was incredible and our ensuite was even better. Dare I say you could play football in it. Patrick was quite the host and the whole experience was fantastic, as was the Guinness!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Seoirse1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A large group of adults and children have just returned form spending the long weekend in Knockranny House Hotel. We had a large double room which comfortably accommodated 5 of us. The room is nicely furnished and beds very comfortable. The staff throughout are very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast each morning and it was very good as was our dinner.

Just to make a few constructive comments. The furniture in the public areas would not be considered antique just very dated which is a pity as it does take form the overall appearance of the place.

The extractor in the bathroom is 'weak' - once you had a shower, the bathroom filled with steam and it remained that way, making the floor wet and slippy. The television reception in our room was poor but it didn't really matter to us as we were out most of the time.

The pool for the children is at the sister hotel, Castlecourt, in the town, which was not a problem as we were given passes to access it. It was fine but again felt it could do with a make over.

Having said that, I would recommend the hotel and we very much enjoyed our stay there and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had an enjoyable few days in Mayo. Knockranny House was a great place to stay and ticked all our boxes. The spa was excellent but the food was the highlight. The staff were very friendly and helpful. After a day cycling the greenway the large jacuzzi bath in our room was very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a company meeting. I was thoroughly delighted with the hotel and in particular the service offered. I did have a problem with the wifi reception in the first room I was in. But I was particularly pleased when the duty manager offered me a different room without any fuss.
I would recommend the food in the bar which was brilliant. And the waiter in there was simply brilliant in serving us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have visited this hotel many times already and it never fails to give a good experience. The main restaurant has a beautiful view of the area and as my husband and myself have food allergies (gluten and nuts) we are not the easiest of clients to have but they always go out of their way to accommodate. The staff are very accommodating and interiors very nice and on a lovely elevated site over the town. I am very surprised at some of the negative comments I am reading in this site as every time I have visited I had no problems but I am happy to recommend. If you are looking for a very buzzy modern boutique hotel maybe this is not the hotel for you, but for a relaxing break I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grainne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Property: Knockranny House Hotel
Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing