We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family get together for 13 people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just returned following a fantastic weekend in Westport.The hotel was magnificent.We all had huge very comfortable rooms and the staff were extremely kind and helpful.Everything ran without a hitch.Meals for 13 at a table is not easy task but each mealtime ran very smoothly with no mistakes or disappointments ,and there was no problem on the first evening holding a meal for one family of latecomers.The food was excellent and plentiful and the 2 youngest were able to chose a more appropriate bar meal for their likes with no sense of creating a problem
The spa was very relaxing ,only disappointment was that the two youngest members of the family could not use it ,though they were happy to go to the sister hotel in the town for a swim.In fact it was probably the absence of children splashing about that made the spa so peaceful and tranquil.
We have had several of these get togethers in the past few years ,all in 4 star hotels ,but this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Knockranny House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a short break. We were upgraded to the Tower Suite which was much appreciated, especially the very comfy four poster bed and complimentary port!
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was fantastic as most reviewers have said. We really enjoyed the fact that the service although efficient was also quite laid back and informal as well.
The spa was very relaxing. The fact that it is over 18's only makes it such a relaxing place (and I have 2 young kids!) The peace is marvellous!
Loved the character of the hotel, especially the bar area, nice place for a pre dinner drink or post dinner whiskey. Looks modern outside but somehow is traditional inside.
Left feeling very relaxed!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We were attending a wedding in this lovely hotel last weekend, and we will definitely be back. From the welcoming smile at check in, the hotel lived up to all the great things we had heard. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room, huge fab room. Beds were the most comfortable we'd ever slept on- pillows were to die for. There was a jacuzzi bath in the room which didn't work unfortunately but bath was still lovely. Food at the wedding was nice and staff was very helpful and approachable. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank screamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently celebrated a family wedding at this hotel. SUPERB!.. would just about sum it up.
Excellent Service, amazing food, beautiful spacious rooms and quiet. Great Babysitting Service (Una & Maureen). Will definately be visiting again over the coming months and very much looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed at this hotel for one night only and it was brilliant,we ate in the restaurant and the food was brilliant.breakfast was superb the next morning ,staff were lovely and very helpful,overall it is a really good hotel ,stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I recently celebrated my birthday with friends in Knockranny hotel and we dined in the lovely restaurant. There was a group of us who had the tasting menu and I can only describe the whole night as superb! We started with a wine tasting class with Nick who was excellent, very informative and very professional. Then we had a yummy cocktail in the bar before dinner, we all sampled different ones , delicious, we all enjoyed them! In the restaurant we had a lovely table, we were looked after by very nice staff who were very friendly and very professional. The meal was just amazing, fabulous food, I can honestly say it was the best I have ever tasted! Each course we had was beautifully presented, hot and just delicious. Everyone was very impressed and no complaints from anyone! I look forward to going back here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Katmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived for a short stay in December to base ourselves for a visit to Croagh Patrick and Achill and found it to be the perfect location for our stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and was the perfect place to unwind after hauling ourselves up the reek! The view of the reek and the bay is fantastic from the hotel.

We had originally planned to go into Westport for the evening but decided to stay put after looking out the window at the rain and feeling very comfortable beside the open fire in the bar, we decided to stay put for some food and drinks. We couldn't get a seat in the restaurant so had bar food which was very high quality. The staff were helpful and friendly.

The Bedroom we had was very comfortable with the bookshelf and books a really nice touch!

The Jacuzzi bath was a nice surprise too, along with being able to feed in the tv sound through bathroom speakers.

The breakfast too..plenty of choice. If you like your black pudding you'll be happy!

If we find ourselves in the vicinity again in the future we'll book a room there again in an instant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Philip1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $171 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing