We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice from the outside but it ends there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice from the outside but it ends there”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The Knockranny is inconveniently located on top of a hill outside of city centre. The wifi in the rooms did not work anywhere in the hotel and we were given a dismissive excuse by hotel staff. There is simply no ventilation in the room. No A/C or vents, making the room uncomfortable after a shower. Parking was nonexistent. Beds were comfortable but oddly the walls were paper thin so you can hear every sound from adjacent rooms. Breakfast buffet was decent, probably the best part of the whole stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgeorgejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    308
    133
    41
    27
See reviews for
220
741
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for an extra day after a wedding . Wedding was very good with great service.
Room was poor, no aircon, and windows only opened a fraction so we sweltered in the late july heat
Breakfast was poor, when we arrived on Monday morning no basics such as orange juice or bread in buffet, waited long time to be served breakfast
Overall not what I expect for these prices

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickCumiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Knockranny House Hotel Westport and would highly recommend this Hotel. Food was absolutely wonderful each course at dinner was a piece of art presentation wonderful and very nice helpful staff.
Only a short walk to town with lots of things to do in Westport including lively pubs with music. The greenway cycle way is great for cycling or walking. We will be returning. Breda and Eddie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Myself and my husband spent the weekend in Knockranny House hotel. We found the Hotel staff very friendly and the room we had was very large and over looked the lawn to the front which was lovely. The dinner we had on the Saturday night was very good could not fault anything and when my husband asked for chips at the last minute they arrived within minutes. The beds are so good here you will have a great nights sleep.
All in all it was a lovely stay and the weather was super too which added to it. We are looking forward to our next trip there.

Room Tip: I think rooms to the front over looking the lawns are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A nice 4 star hotel with good service and well-appointed rooms that have everything you need including an iron and ironing board. Breakfast is good and hot food is made to order for you and brought to your table. The setting of the hotel is gorgeous and there are wonderful views including the view across the Clew bay. This hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The reception service was excellent, and totally fine with our 1.30am arrival following awful flight problems. There is plenty of parking here too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and to be honest found it to be quite average. We were in a standard room which we felt was a little dated. The decor and bathroom could really do with a make over (the shower was in the bath with a shower curtain .. yuk!). We didn't have a view but to be fair we probably weren't paying the rate to get a room with a view so that didn't bother us. Reception staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast staff were not friendly at all and didn't smile or wish us a good morning. The service was bad and I had to try to get staffs attention to order our hot food ... very unusual for a 4 star hotel. The buffet was ok .. nothing special. It wasn't a bad stay but considering all the hype about this hotel we were left feeling like we were missing something.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are newer rooms in this hotel. I would be a good idea to enquire as our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is a short drive up from the town centre. On arrival it looks a bit like the sort of hotel you would find on the perimeter of an airport. However, rooms are large, very well furnished and extremely clean and comfortable, with high end TV and (Bose) HiFi. We booked a family room which was in the new wing. In room dining is of good quality, but comes at a hefty premium. Breakfast is served in a classy dining room, where you can have your prunes and black sausage accompanied by Chopin. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Property: Knockranny House Hotel
Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing