We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Knockranny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockranny House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockranny House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay in Knockranny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Myself and my husband spent the weekend in Knockranny House hotel. We found the Hotel staff very friendly and the room we had was very large and over looked the lawn to the front which was lovely. The dinner we had on the Saturday night was very good could not fault anything and when my husband asked for chips at the last minute they arrived within minutes. The beds are so good here you will have a great nights sleep.
All in all it was a lovely stay and the weather was super too which added to it. We are looking forward to our next trip there.

Room Tip: I think rooms to the front over looking the lawns are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    293
    128
    40
    27
See reviews for
205
710
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

A nice 4 star hotel with good service and well-appointed rooms that have everything you need including an iron and ironing board. Breakfast is good and hot food is made to order for you and brought to your table. The setting of the hotel is gorgeous and there are wonderful views including the view across the Clew bay. This hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The reception service was excellent, and totally fine with our 1.30am arrival following awful flight problems. There is plenty of parking here too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and to be honest found it to be quite average. We were in a standard room which we felt was a little dated. The decor and bathroom could really do with a make over (the shower was in the bath with a shower curtain .. yuk!). We didn't have a view but to be fair we probably weren't paying the rate to get a room with a view so that didn't bother us. Reception staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast staff were not friendly at all and didn't smile or wish us a good morning. The service was bad and I had to try to get staffs attention to order our hot food ... very unusual for a 4 star hotel. The buffet was ok .. nothing special. It wasn't a bad stay but considering all the hype about this hotel we were left feeling like we were missing something.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are newer rooms in this hotel. I would be a good idea to enquire as our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is a short drive up from the town centre. On arrival it looks a bit like the sort of hotel you would find on the perimeter of an airport. However, rooms are large, very well furnished and extremely clean and comfortable, with high end TV and (Bose) HiFi. We booked a family room which was in the new wing. In room dining is of good quality, but comes at a hefty premium. Breakfast is served in a classy dining room, where you can have your prunes and black sausage accompanied by Chopin. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and my 4-months pregnant girlfriend stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 2013. We had originally booked it in February as a treat for us both to look forward to.

We weren’t disappointed. The hotel itself is on the way into Westport (if you come via Castlebar) so it was easy to find and it’s also only a short 10 minute stroll into the town if you don’t drive in. The hotel is wonderfully positioned in the landscape. Most of the main rooms; lounges, reception, restaurant, bar, etc, overlook the bay beyond the town and Croagh Patrick is a lovely sight. You can even see the little white chapel at the summit on a clear day. The hotel is traditionally comfortable inside. More old-fashioned than many of the newer Celtic-tiger era hotels.

We felt cheeky on arrival, so we displayed our bump, said we were celebrating and asked for an upgrade. To her credit, the receptionist came up with the goods and put us in a deluxe room with a view of the bay and Croagh Patrick.

The room was large by Irish hotel standards and comfortably furnished. There was a couch and armchair and a table for dining if you chose to eat in the room. The bed was a super king sized one, a little softer than I’m used to, but very comfortable all the same. The bathroom was large enough and well appointed. We had a Jacuzzi bath, though we never used it, sink and WC. All fairly standard stuff for the type of hotel.

The four days and three nights of our break were in the middle of an Irish heat wave (30-33 degrees) and we did note that there was no well air-conditioned area in the hotel. Only the restaurant had air-conditioning, but it wasn’t that effective. Sitting in the sunlight next to a window was downright uncomfortable. I have to stress though, I think you’re more likely to be struck by lightning than encounter similarly hot conditions in Ireland as a rule.

The hotel staff were very good. We found them all to be friendly, helpful and professional, without being too formal. The other guests were generally more middle aged to elderly. There were a few young people and a handful of children, but I wouldn’t really class this as a family hotel.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast every day. A good selection of hot and cold food, pastries, juice, full-Irish breakfast, etc. All good but nothing outstanding. We also had two evening meals there, which were quite impressive. Very nice food, well presented, tasty, good wines. Yum, yum.

We used the Spa every day we were there. We both had several treatments; facials, full body massages, pregnancy massages, etc and we also used the pool and gym. Both were very nice and are just for adults! We were very, very pleased with our spa treatments – a lovely treat!

The only minus during our entire stay was trying to get room service one night at about ten minutes after midnight. We rang and rang and it transpired that the night porter had left the phone off the hook at reception and appeared to in the bar chatting up three middle-aged ladies (fair play to the guy!). We found him in the end though and we got our sandwiches.

All in all a lovely break and if we had the money, we’d go back again. I bet it’s lovely in the winter. It really strikes me as a very cosy place to stay on a cold rainy day.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - it can't do any harm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KilbegganRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception here in June and I have to say the day was made all the more special by having it here. From the function room to the staff to the food - everything was excellent. A special mention has to be given to Claire Concannon - this lady is amazing. All our needs were met and nothing was too much trouble. We had a large wedding and she just made her job look easy - she is a credit to the hotel. We will definitely be returning in the future :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseP1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had previously enjoyed a luxurious stay in the Knockranny and raved about it to anyone that would listen. On returning we felt something had changed. The staff are definitely as helpful but the prices no longer represent good value. Nouveau cuisine can be a case of style over substance when taken to extremes. My smoked duck starter would have won a photographic contest for presentation but a couple of untrimmed slivers plus 3 dried mushrooms which were absolutely tasteless is a rip-off at €14 as are the deserts at that price. The steak was very good but should be at that price. The breakfast buffet was distinctly basic and minimalist at those prices. We stayed at a B&B that offered more choice & variety for breakfast.

Room Tip: Be careful what you wish for. We were at the front so had a view but then had to endure all the comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Property: Knockranny House Hotel
Address: Knockranny, Westport F28X340, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland's finest 4* hotels. Set in secluded grounds on a hillside, this luxury hotel stands proudly overlooking the picturesque town of Westport and enjoys breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay's islands to the west and the Nephin Mountains to the north. The welcoming atmosphere at Knockranny House Hotel begins with the open log fires in the reception hall, and is carried throughout the property with its antique furniture, excellent spa facilities, superb cuisine and friendly service, creating a genuine sense of relaxed warmth and hospitality. It was previously voted as AA Irish hotel of the year. Knockranny House Hotel & Spa is the perfect base for a touring or activity break or just to simply relax. So whether you come west to explore the Wild Atlantic Way or relax in Spa Salveo, we will do all we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing