We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Do With Refurbushment - Don't Honour Bookings”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Planned to stay there for a week - booked well in advance - got a phone call 6 weeks beforehand to say that there was a little issue - they would now be closing the hotel during weekdays and were only open on weekends. Nevertheless we made alternative arrangements and stayed there for the weekend - the apartment , whilst clean was a little tatty - could do with a refurbishment - this applies to the entire complex. In reality there are little services / amenities available at the complex. In addition, the location is quite some distance from the centre of Westport - i.e. where most of the restaurants are. One final negative - in principle I disagree with the principle of taking full payment in advance of the stay . Finally the childrens play area was excellent however.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHAKEYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 590 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

We absolutely love The Harbour Mill. We have stayed 5 times in the past 2 years and always enjoy our stay. We get such a warm welcome every time we return. Its like coming back and meeting old friends. The staff are just wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and they are so friendly. We are in our seventies so the presence of a 24 hour reception / night porter gives us great comfort.

The apartments are spacious, have all mod cons and are lovely and clean. The are some very good restaurants within walking distance and there is so much to do in the area. We learn something new about Westport every time we come back.

I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thank you for giving us such wonderful holidays and memories!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCoupleClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed here with husband and 18 month old daughter. Courtyard view apartment very quiet (stayed Sunday - Thursday so no hen parties!!) and very spacious rooms. Everything we needed was provided, beds comfortable, very clean and ideal location for pushing pram along quay each evening! Quite a walk into Wesport town up a few hills!! Parking is a tight squeeze esp when needing to get child out of car, but everything else was ideal. I would def stay here again - only thing holding me back would be the price of meals in the local restaurants - very expensive!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettiBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at the Harbour Mill for our first family holiday i.e myself, hubby and our new young son of 4 months. We rented a 2 bed self catering apt for a week at the end of July. We couldnt fault the Harbour Mill at all, it was perfect for our needs especially since we had such terrible weather that week and ended up not getting out all that much with our small baby, we didnt mind as much being confined to our lovely apartment.
I notice people complain about the size of the parking spaces but we never had a problem with the size of them at all, we drive a Toyota Avensis. my hubby did park in the disabled parking space by accident one night as it wasnt very clearly signed but other than that we never had a problem with parking, I would say though that if you arrived there in the early evening you might have trouble finding spaces inside.
The play area for the children is great, they even had something for my little fella to play on!
We did have one night of bad noise where the children above us were up til about 2 in the morning slamming doors and running riot but one call to reception put a stop to it fairly quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We rented a two-bedroom self catering apartment for a week at the end of August/beginning of September. What a pleasant surprise! Beautiful hardwood floors, excellent views over Clew bay, outstanding staff, well-appointed kitchen, lovely furniture and comfortable beds, as well as a secure car park and free Wi-fi in the lobby area justify the higher-than-average cost for a self-catering unit (about 600 euros/week, pre-booked online). The units were very clean (in fact, upon check-in in the late afternoon, the desk staff told us to check out the room and ring right away if there were any problems as the cleaning staff would only be around for another short while). We were delighted with our unit. Two days into our stay the hot water heater required replacement and as this turned out to be a fairly large job, we were seamlessly relocated to another (even nicer, if that's possible) apartment which was also quite beautiful. Groceries were a quick walk around the corner, Crough Patrick was a 10 minute drive away, and there were excellent restaurants on the Westport Quay (where Harbour Mill is located) or a 15-20 minute walk/2 minute drive away in Westport proper (we usually drove since we had a baby and it rained much of our stay). The play room is amazing. The entire stay was spectacular and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this excellent facility, rain or no rain.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We're just back from a week in Harbour Mills and overall we had a good time. Westport is a lovely location. While it's a "tourist town" the local businesses aren't out to fleece you. Well done Westport!!

There's lots to see and do ... Achill Island is around a 45 minute drive; Clare Island is a MUST do; Foxford Wollen Mills; Westport House; Croagh Patrick is about a 15 minute drive away

Let's start with the good bits:
1. Friendly staff - they always had a smile and were extremely helpful.
2. Free use of Westport Leisure Centre - this was our first stop every morning. You need to pay for parking but it's only 60 cent for the first hour and then 30 cent for each hour after that.
3. Well equipped apartment... It had everything we needed; fridge, freezer, oven, hob, washing machine / dryer, microwave, dishwasher. There was also some tea, coffee and milk left for us in the apartment on arrival, which was a nice touch.

Now for the not so good bits:
1. Noise... noise .... noise .... as has been mentioned in previous posts, the apartments are built around a courtyard and this carries any sort of noise. The last night of our stay we were all (2 adults and 3 kids) woken by a VERY NOISY stag party at around 4 am. My wife called reception to complain and by all accounts we weren't the only one's to complain. When we were checking out, the receptionist mentioned the noise to us and apologised but the damage was done ... we had to put up with 3 tired kids for the rest of the day. As we had paid in full 2 weeks prior to arrival, we couldn't negotitate a discount for the sleepless night.
2. Parking .... unless you're driving a mini, don't even think about trying to use the car park. We arrived on the Bank Holiday Sunday evening and couldn't get parking. Due to size of the parking spaces, some people parked in 2 spots making even fewer spaces available. There was one reasonably sized space (number 18 I think), but this was full with tables and mattresses. We did find a parking spot outside on the Quay and chose to park outside for the duration of our stay.
3. Broadband - as this is 4 star accommodation, I would have expected broadband to be available (not necessarilly for free)

Before our "stag night" experience we were talking to our friends (who have 1 child) and we recommended these apartments to them. They asked us to enquire about a 2 night stay for them for the following weekend. There was availability and I was quoted 399 euro. They then said they'd do it for 350 euro. I thought this was still quite high, so I walked up the road to the Atlantic Coast Hotel (no more than 200 meters away) and asked them about availabiltiy for the same 2 nights. They offered 2 nights B&B for 299. They have an on-site leisure centre and access to this is part of the deal too. Guess which one we recommended to our friends!!??

Would I go back to Westport - absolutely YES. Would I stay in Harbour Mill - absolutely NO; there's certainly better value to be had.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard1970Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My family (a girl aged 12 and boy 15) stayed here for 4 night midweek break just before Easter. We booked a harbour view room and were given number 410 which is a refurbished suite. The twin room and double room with en-suite bathroom were perfect for our needs. The apartment had a harbour view with a small terrace. The TV with DVD player and sky family films were an added bonus especially on rainy nights. The apartments are not serviced for short stays but there is a dishwasher, washing machine, iron, cooker, microwave in a small kitchen and towels are provided at the start of your stay.. The apartments were fairly quite at this time and we had no problems getting parked in the secure parking although for the number of apartments the are very few spaces. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are restaurants, pubs and a shop within a short walking distance. The apartments are a very short drive out of Westport town which is lovely. A great base for exploring this side or Ireland

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nabows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,006 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 13 in Westport
1,712 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $54 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing