We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, lovely views of the harbour, great location and perfect for all ages.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, lovely views of the harbour, great location and perfect for all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have stayed here four times now with family and friends, ranging from eight months to eighty years of age. Perfect for all. Friendly and very helpful staff, clean and spacious apartments and lovely views of the harbour and hills. Great base for the restaurants and pubs in Westport; and for driving / cycling to Achill Island, Connemara etc.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are always delighted to welcome back guests who have been here before and we are so glad that this experience matched the last one. We are very proud of our staff and of the facilities we have to offer. Westport is a great base to stay while exploring the surrounding area and we are pleased you took advantage of this. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Mill in the future
Kind Regards
Sharon English
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    132
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
260
101
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My second visit was equal to my excellent first impressions. The apartment was very clean, very bright and perfectly equipped. Beds too were extremely comfortable. Added to that, the friendliness and helpfulness of Reception staff made our stay more enjoyable. I would absolutely recommend Harbour Mills as a great place to stay in Westport.

Room Tip: The view of the harbour and bay from the top floor apartment was to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidDubliner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
It is always a pleasure to hear good reviews from guests who have been here before and we are delighted that you again enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate that you took the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour mill again in the future.
Kind regards
Sharon English
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

After reading the reviews I have to say that I was left disappointed following our stay at the Harbour Mill Apartments. 3 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor directly overlooking the river and harbour. The view was wonderful but everything else was distinctly poor/average. Upon arrival we found a used towel in the bathroom which when we returned to reception was treated with only a casual apology. Although the apartment was clean, it was well used and could do with at a bit of a refresh if not refurbishment. We stayed for a week and after accumulating several used towels I asked if we could have some fresh ones. Upon delivery we were told that if we wanted clean linen there was a washer dryer in the kitchen! I feel it is unreasonable for a week long stay that there is not at least a mid-week clean, as this tends to be standard in my experience. One further thing to add, the bedrooms in the block back onto an atrium containing the main walkway from the lift/stairs. This means that the bedrooms are very noisy with people walking within a few feet of the bedroom window. As a result we had to keep the bedroom curtains shut and windows closed but even then, had difficulty sleeping as latecomers come back to their rooms after the pubs close.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the complex will give a good view. I'm not sure if there are any rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalachyByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Manager at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Harbour Mill, Westport. We strive for continuous improvement and, as such, it’s important that we receive the opinions of our guests.
It is regrettable that you found some aspects of your visit unsatisfactory and I am very sorry that this impacted on the overall enjoyment of your stay. It is unacceptable that you found a used towel in your apartment and I apologise profusely for this oversight. We pride ourselves on the quality of accommodation and service offered to all our guests and, as you will have read in previous guest reviews, this lapse is most uncharacteristic.
I also apologise for any confusion regarding the provision of clean towels. The Harbour Mill provides self catering accommodation. A full set of clean towels is supplied in each bathroom. These towels may be washed and dried using the washer/dryer in the apartment kitchen. A supplementary set of clean towels may be requested from reception for a small fee. In this instance, however, I am aware that a member of staff delivered a complimentary set of towels to your apartment.
During busy periods when we have a high level of occupancy a certain amount of noise can be generated by guests returning to their apartments. It is not acceptable that this should cause disruption for any of our guests and I regret that this affected your night’s sleep.
I am sorry that you did not experience the true enjoyment of a perfect break at The Harbour Mill. Should you decide to stay with us again, you have my assurance that I will personally oversee every aspect of your visit to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one.
Thank you, once again, for your feedback. I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kind Regards
Frances Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Again a most enjoyable stay.
Apartment superb:-- scrupulously clean, comfortable and including everything for a really relaxing break which I really needed after a very hectic week helping to serve teas in the Women's Institute pavilion at Balmoral Show, Balmoral Park, Lisburn--Enjoyable but a week's rest was called for!!!!!
Staff as usual were courteous, friendly and helpful making our time there most enjoyable.
Looking forward to our next stay in the Harbour Mill---- hope it's not too long away.

Room Tip: Harbour view worth the "extra"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, they are always a pleasure to read! Thank you for choosing The Harbour Mill again for your holiday and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Sharon English
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently stated in a 2 bedroom self catering apartment at this property and had a very positive experience. The property has all the conveniences of a hotel and the flexibility of self catering. The unit was well equipped and spacious for 4 adults and the staff at reception were friendly and helpful. I would happily recommend it and we ourselves hope to be back there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had a top floor apartment with views to the harbour and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cullwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in The Harbour Mill and that you appreciate how unique we are, as you said we have ‘all the conveniences of a hotel with the flexibility of self catering.’
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Harbour Mill
Kind regards
Sharon English
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The apartments are in a fab place in terms of views and location. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly on reception. The apartment was basic but adequate.

The down side the apartments was that over 4 nights we had no clean towels and no cleaning done in our rooms. The apartments are very loud and you can hear everything from everywhere. The car park is tight and made me very nervous. The floorboards in the rooms were so loud, Im glad we were on the top floor cos I dread to think what it was like for the people below.

There was lots of space in the apartments, though not many TV channels. All that you needed in the kitchen was there and clean.

It was ok but I don't think I would stop there again. For the money you could stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Manager at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Harbour Mill, Westport. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests.
The Harbour Mill provides self catering accommodation. Fáilte Ireland approved to 4-star standard, our apartments have been equipped to provide guests with everything they would need for the perfect self catering break. Each apartment comprises a fully fitted kitchen which includes a washer/dryer, so that guests may wash and dry towels and other items during their stay. Alternatively, guests may request an apartment service from reception for an additional charge.
I am very sorry to hear that you found the apartment noisy. Many of the apartments have original pitch pine floorboards. Whilst this adds to the charm, character and authenticity of the complex, I do accept that they can be noisy. A solid cement underlay, however, prevents noise from permeating through to the apartment below.
Similarly, I fully accept that the car parking spaces in our car park can be snug, particularly during busy periods where we request that guests use one space per vehicle. There is, however, ample free parking outside our building on the Quay itself and many guests choose to avail of this for convenience.
We strongly believe that The Harbour Mill offers truly competitive rates and represents excellent value for money. We encourage guests to review our prices prior to visiting Westport in order to make an informed accommodation choice.
I do hope that, in time, you may consider staying with us again. Please do not hesitate to ask for me personally and I will do all I can ensure that your stay is a pleasant one.
Thank you, once again, for your review and for the opportunity to address your concerns.

Kind Regards
Frances Lynn
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great place to stay with a family. Staff very friendly and helpful. Apartment large and comfortable with everything you could possibly need for a family holiday. The play room was a huge hit with my three kids (3 and 22 months). We used the leisure centre in westport that was free when you stayed in the harbour mill, it was super for the kids. When were checked out the kids were given a little bag with a colouring book and crayons, they were delighted and I thought it was a lovely idea. We would love to go back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenodh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for such lovely comments and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our facilities and our staff so it is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests. I am delighted the kids enjoyed the ‘Kiddies Play Area’ and were delighted with their presents on departure and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Sharon English
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing