We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, possibly more suited to a family trip.”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good facilities, possibly more suited to a family trip.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Not really walking distance from town, steep hill, not a stroll, taxi €5 at night. They do not give out keys and you have to visit reception each time you visit your apartment, feels like getting permission to go to the apartment you have rented… I think it may be difficult/awkward to get a guest past reception, should you find yourself in the position, which is strange when you rented an apartment…. However, this could be very comforting if you were there with a small family (no strangers) but not so much for a lads weekend. Nice setting and good pub grub in - The Helms – below. Access to a pool next door and a gym on sight is nice although I did not use it. Didn’t like the withdrawal of €200 deposit from my CC. Most places just take a swipe of your CC for deposit/disturbance…. Overall I felt micromanaged and I didn’t like it. However like I say that might be very comforting in you were staying with young children.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms. 101 -102 - 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonGunner0351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Harbour Mill. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests.
At The Harbour Mill we offer a real ‘home away from home’ environment for our guests. Many guests have connections with the Westport area and invite family and friends to visit them in the comfort of their own apartment. In the interests of health and safety, however, non-residents are not permitted to stay overnight without prior agreement.
We offer an exceptional range of services, including a 24-hour reception, so there is always a member of staff available should a guest require assistance. We encourage guests to leave their apartment key at reception on their way out and collect it again on their return. Feedback from guests is that this allows them to enjoy their time out in Westport without the worry of losing their key.
Thank you, once again, for posting your review and sharing your experience of The Harbour Mill. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    137
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
282
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just home after a 4 night stay at the Harbour Mill, Westport. Great time. We stayed in a two bedroom harbour view apartment on the 3rd floor. I'll list the good points and then the bad

Good Points
1. On arrival the reception staff are very helpful and personable.
2. The secure parking is very good.
3. The apartment is spacious, clean and very well equipped, including, wine/drinking glasses, cups, mugs, plates, bowls, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, hob, oven, sauce pans, frying pans.
4. The hot water is hot (not always the case in some apartments)
5 Nice big comfy seats/sofa.
6 Nice comfy warm beds
7 You will find a fresh pint of milk and some tea/coffee in the room (nice thought)
8. Lifts work
9 If you bring electrical equipment then there are an abundance of sockets all over the place.
10. They have discount for several local attractions and restaurants so please ask the reception staff, they have all the time in the world to help.
11. Its right in the heart of the harbour, great local pubs 2 minutes walk, eg The Helm and The Towers.

The bad points

1. Can't really think of anything that annoyed me enough to mention.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TM2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fantastic alternative to hotels/B&Bs. As we stayed here in the middle of a road trip it was great to have our own washer/drier facilities in our apartment. The kids loved the play area which is bigger than I imagined it and the covered parking area was great. The Harbour Mill is located beside the entrance to westport house which is really handy. I do agree with other reviews that sound does travel as the bedrooms face into the central courtyard so at the weekend it wasn't quite as peaceful as during the week, but it was still fine and the toss up was that our sitting room/kitchen/balcony had AMAZING views over Clew bay so it was a small price to pay. The sauna is a nice bonus. Would stay again.

Room Tip: view from 4th floor was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay in The Harbour Mill and in Westport. Westport House is a great amenity and we are so fortunate to be within walking distance to the grounds and park.
Thank you, once again, for your review and for the lovely photos. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed in early April for a week.
Good location.
Clean apartments.
Great friendly service.
Can get a little loud at night at weekends with groups of boys/girls, something they could address maybe but during the weekdays no problem at all.
Overall, a fantastic time.
Breathtaking scenery.
You have to climb Croagh Patrick,
truly amazing views at the top.
Great warm friendly Irish people,
Westport is a place definitely to go and visit.
You wont regret it.
Guiness at the Helm next door is gorgeous.
Food was delicious wherever we ate out locally.
I would strongly recommend the Harbour Mill as a place to stay whilst in Mayo, and Westport in particular.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyred1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in The Harbour Mill. It is always helpful to receive feedback from guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and amenities exceptional. I was sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. It is regrettable that during busy periods there will be a certain amount of noise caused by guest’s returning late to their apartments. I do apologise that this disturbed you and hope that it did not impact on your overall stay too much. Thank you again for staying with us and for recommending us to friends.I do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Westport.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The. 2 bed apartment is so spacious and comfortable. We stayed here with our parents. Much better than being in a B&B or hotel. Nice touch having a small jacuzzi , Steam room and sauna after walking in the bracing air. Heating is adjustable and the rooms are cosy. Local restaurants deliver food to your room. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. Great value at £99 for 4 people per night. Westport is a buzzing centre.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIXWMLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing time with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 apartments for a hen weekend. Everyone commented on the cleanliness, location, friendly staff and well-equipped apartments.
Warm, spacious apartments. Kitchen has everything you need, even a pizza slicer! The milk and tea in fridge was a nice touch.
Free wi-fi, dependent on location within apartment.
Friendly reception staff. The leisure area looked great but didn't try on this occasion.
Highly recommend Harbour Mill. Thank you for an enjoyable, hassle-free weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bronagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of our staff, and our apartments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Tha harbour mill were so easy to book with and the staff were so friendly and accommodating on the phone.
The apartments were warm, roomy and comfortable with a great shower and would suit any type of traveller a couple, family, groups etc.
lovely views of the harbour from the apartments. On site jacuzzi and sauna. Very close to town and taxis were incredibly reasonable and easy to book for going out.
Great service available to collect take always in town and bring them to the aparments. Suited our group as we landed late Friday night and couldn't face driving again to search for food!:) the Pub next door does a delicious breakfast at a reasonable price too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giddygallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
925 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,059 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing