We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A girlie wknd in Westport with gr8 accomodation”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A girlie wknd in Westport with gr8 accomodation”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The apartments were gr8, had all the facilities one needed and the location is lovely looking out over the quay. You are very close to Westport house which is very handy if you have kids wit you and the town is about 5mins away. The girls at reception helped in anyway they could to make our stay comfortable and fun. Thanks Aisling for recommending.
The ground level of courtyard beside reception can be abit noisy at times, kids early in the morning or adults coming in at nite. Check in could be earlier.
with regards to a comment i read from a guest about the delph and utensils- i thought their was sufficient amount to cook wit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Westport. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our reception team. I am very happy to hear that they were able to help you and make your stay more enjoyable. We are very proud of our staff, and our apartments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    139
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
288
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Harbour Mill, using it as a base from which to explore the Connemara Peninsula. Had a 4th floor, 2 bedroom "family" suite. We were there during the week, and had none of the noise issues noted elsewhere, although if there were loud revelers in the courtyard, I can understand how it might be rather loud within the apartments.

Echo the one comment below that the self-closing doors throughout the apartment are slightly annoying. We propped them open with chairs and suitcases. The utensils, dishes, etc... provided were somewhat limited.

That said, however, the Harbour Mill was a great place to stay with out two young (7 and 11) kids. There are several choices for dining within walking distance, and a supermarket (and ATM) a very short drive up the hill. The rooms are large and comfortable. It's an excellent alternative to more traditional hotels, and for the money, it's a great place from which to tour a stunningly beautiful region of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing The Harbour Mill for your break away in Westport, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Just to note for your next visit extra crockery is never a problem just contact reception and we would have some sent up to your apartment immediately. Westport is a great base from which to tour the West and we hope you will be back again soon.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in a "deluxe" (misnomer of the year) 4th floor apartment at Harbour Mill and were disappointed from the moment we stepped out of the lift onto the walkway which nobody told us about. The bedrooms of the "deluxe" apartment open onto this very depressing and very noisy walkway which was populated on all 3 nights of our stay by loud, inconsiderate drinkers who returned up until 4 am and proceeded to shout, sing and slam doors. We are a family with 2 children and would NOT recommend this complex for families like ours. I have seen other reviews here which highlighted the noisy internal dated pine floors and the response from Harbour Mill stating they are pitch pine and add to the character - obviously this person has never tried to sleep in one of the apartments. Also annoying were the springs on all internal doors which meant they all had to be held open with chairs at night due to the hot weather. The cold water taps in the bathrooms ran hot as well as the hot taps and while the maintenance man came several times to attempt repair (very friendly) this did not work. The furniture in the living room / kitchen is also dated, with faux leather sofas and cheap, shabby rugs and the kitchen is very poorly equipped with regard to delph and utensils. We complained on departure and were offered vouchers against a return visit but we would never go back. If Fáilte Ireland have given this the 4 star rating they haven't been here for a long time.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Manager at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at The Harbour Mill.

I am very sorry to hear that the Deluxe Harbour View apartment did not meet your expectations. Our Deluxe apartments are extremely popular with guests, as their top level location and private balconies offer truly magnificent views across the Harbour.

As a Fáilte Ireland approved property, we are rigorously inspected every year to ensure compliance with the standards required for a 4-star classification. Each year, we retain our 4-star status, which is the maximum grade for self-catering accommodation.

Our location and exceptional facilities make us the ideal holiday destination for all types of guest. Our children’s play area (Kiddies’ Corner), babysitting service, free Wi-Fi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park are particularly popular with families. In 2012, TripAdvisor awarded us the coveted first place position in the ‘Top Hotel for Families in Ireland’ Travellers’ Choice Award category.

Our apartments have recently been refurbished, so I am surprised to read your comments regarding the apartment interior. However, I fully accept that internal soft furnishings and décor are very much a matter of personal taste.

I also regret that you were disturbed by the noise of other guests returning to their apartments. This was a particularly busy period for us and, whilst a certain level of noise is to be expected, it is certainly not acceptable that this should have disturbed your night’s sleep. Your comfort and enjoyment is important to us and, if you had informed our 24-hour reception at the time, our Night Porters would have attended to the matter immediately. Similarly, a request for additional crockery or kitchen utensils would have been responded to straight away by a member of our Accommodation team.

It is unfortunate that you did not give us the opportunity to rectify these issues during your visit. As I am sure you will appreciate, it is difficult to rectify such grievances once you have departed.

I do hope that, in time, you may consider staying with us again. Please do not hesitate to ask for me personally and I will do all I can ensure that your stay is a pleasant one.

Kind Regards

Frances Lynn
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Harbour Mill in Westport. It is clean, the staff are friendly & it is in a great location. We would have preferred to be able to check into our room earlier than we were able to & we would have preferred the option of a late checkout but other than that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. Check out at 10am is essential during busy periods in order for us to have all apartments ready for the check in time of 4pm, we always try to be accommodating to our guests. Our receptionist's would be more than happy to help with any request you may have.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to us the next time you are coming to Westport.
Kind Regards,
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the harbour mill on the 12th july, after asking to stay on for an extra night!
We (Family of 2 adults, 2 children & 1 infant) stayed in a two bedroom "harbour view" apartment. We had enquired about one of the top floor apartments, but when booking over the phone was advised the view was better and more room in the "regular", harbour view apartments.
The apartment was great, ample storage in the bedrooms and a well appointed kitchen area(including washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and hob & oven)
With regards to othe comments re the wooden floors, fair enough- they creak a bit, but considering this I have to say that we heard minimal noise from the other apartments around us!
The reception staff were great, nothing being a problem, advising us re good local beaches- suitable for the children -we went to ? old head beach - fantastic for kids -is a blue flag, has proper parking, shallow for children, and has life guards!
Reception also included a selection of menus from local takeaways with a handy delivery service (straight to the apartment door).
They also had "deals" with local restaurants, and would give you a card for discount off your meal bill(10%)
The kids playroom, we used once or twice only - due to the glorious weather! But probably more suited to the under 6's really....
The secure car park was a bit tight, but no more than any multistorey...

On check out, they gave the children a little gift with a colouring book, crayons and a lollipop!-

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank St1r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We always try to give our guests the best advice on our types of apartments to suit their needs in order to make their holiday as special as possible, I am so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time with us in The Harbour Mill and in Westport and that you took the time to explore the surrounding area. I will ensure that all staff are made aware of such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Sharon English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed in the Harbour Mill several times now and are never disappointed with our visits. The staff are both friendly and helpful and the accommodation is comfortable and spotless. The location is lovely overlooking the bay. Fourth floor apartments with balcony are especially nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, they are always a pleasure to read! Thank you for choosing The Harbour Mill again for your short break and we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The 4th floor apartments are beautiful and I think standing on the balcony on a summer’s day, well, there is no better view in the world.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Sharon English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After reading the (mostly) glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and the description on the website, we were rather disappointed with the reality. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights, for which we paid €360. Much of what has been written we can agree with, it is situated in a lovely area close to Westport, with very friendly and helpful reception staff. We always ask for a room "on the top floor" as we are light sleepers and don't enjoy footsteps above us. The hotel honored our request by assigning us an apartment on the 4th floor. This is actually the roof top/attic space of the hotel and the dining/living area has a slanted ceiling which greatly diminishes the size of the room. To see the harbour view you need to walk up to the slanted windows or step up and out onto the small rooftop space. The floor boards creaked with every footstep, I cannot imagine the sound if there were children running through the apartment. We mentioned our disappointment to the reception staff on our first day, and only at checkout did a "supervisor"? respond by saying that they had given us an "upgrade" to the top floor at our request. Hmm.

As others have mentioned, the exterior walkways are rather depressing and the furnishings, while ok, would certainly not be considered "luxurious". Add the crackling floor boards and the strange and confusing instructions for the water heater and I would not consider this a 4 or 5 star accommodation.

We paid a maximum rate as we were only staying 2 nights, and definitely do not feel we received value for money. Certainly in comparison with our other accommodations throughout Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Manager at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Westport and your high praise of our staff. We are very proud of our friendly and efficient team
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the view from your Apartment. We noted your special request of a top-floor apartment and allocated a Deluxe Apartment with the very best of intentions. Whilst the flooring is original pitch pine and adds to the overall charm of the complex, I do acknowledge that these can be noisy at times and I am very sorry if this disturbed your stay. We receive our 4 star rating from Fáilte Ireland and feel our service and apartment standards reflect this.
We find that we offer great value for money in Westport, if you feel this was not the case please contact me personally at sales@theharbourmill.com to discuss your booking in more detail.
I hope that in time you may consider staying again if you are coming to Westport and if this may be the case please ask for me personally.

Yours Sincerely
Frances Lynn
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,078 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing