We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the best place we have ever stayed,location,staff,facilities second to none. We will be back next year. The staff are all very professional,friendly and very helpful nothing too much trouble.The rooms are spot on everything you need and clean and spacious.The location is good although i havent been up Croagh Patrick maybe when i have got an helicopter. Its within reach of loads of other places of beauty and interest. We were there for The Westport International Sea Angling Festival. The Saunas and Jacuzzi were are a god send after a hard days fishing.
Thanks Fishy and the boys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Fishy, thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are so happy to hear that you had another enjoyable your stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you rate us as 'the best place we have ever stayed'. We are so very happy that we are able to meet your expectations when you stay with us. I will pass on all your positive comments to our staff.
See you next year!
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    139
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
286
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rented a two bedroom apartment. The apartment is very well equipped, spacious and has lots of light. Services in the hotel are very good, staff is friendly. There is lots of information of what to do, attractions, shows , etc. Parking on premises, but had no problem parking just outside.
The floors were a little noisy, and the doors had a closing system that is quite annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milloscampeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in The Harbour Mill and in Westport. I appreciate your comments regarding the floors and doors. The floors in the apartments are original pitch pine timber flooring. Whilst they add real character and charm to the apartments, I acknowledge that they can be rather noisy than alternative flooring. All doors in the apartments are Fire Doors in compliance with the Health & Safety Regulations. I hope this does not discourage you from staying with again and we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed in the Harbour Mill with 3 of my friends for a weekend break. The location is perfect, right at the harbour and only a short walk in to the town centre. It is also only a short drive from Croagh Patrick. The apartment itself was excellent. It was a duplex with a lovely kitchen / diner upstairs.There were two bedrooms downstairs and two bathrooms. They were extremely spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful also. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaFatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, they are always a pleasure to read! Thank you for choosing The Harbour Mill for your short break and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great place, friendly staff and with great views of the harbour, Westport house is up "the lane" to the right of the apartments and we were surrounded by lovely restaurants and a short taxi ride to the centre of the village (you could walk it but not for me) the apartments are spotless and serviced really well. Most of all the staff are fantastic nothing is too much so thank you for making our weekend a special one.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Westport. We are very proud of our staff, and our apartments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aught Upper, Donegal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at the harbour mill and would highly recommend these apartments to anyone travelling with young children. They are well equipped, very spacious and the very efficient staff are always on hand to answer questions on local activities, restaurants etc. The play room for kids is a wonderful addition to the apartments to keep them entertained. This was our first family holiday with our little boy of 16 months and we will definitely return. Some fantastic local restaurants/bars and shops a few steps away from the apartments, very handy. We had a harbour view apartment with a balcony which was fantastic. Sauna, steam room and jacuzi was great. Thanks again to all the staff at the harbour mill for making our stay a relaxing one. See you all again.

Room Tip: Harbour view, top floor worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was very pleased to read that this being your first family holiday that you really enjoyed yourselves and had a relaxing time, we are so very happy that we are able to meet your expectations when you stayed with us. I will pass on all your positive comments to our staff.
We hope to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Me my husband and our two young daughters stayed at the harbour mill for a week, we could not fault these apartments, staff excellent nothing a problem, toy room fantastic and apartments big and plenty of space, i would recommend a harbour view room view lovely

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandDarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. Yes, our Harbour View apartments have a wonderful view of The Quay area and are very spacious.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed for the third time at the Harbour Mill and cannot wait to return again. We love it there. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Deluxe apartments which have a fantastic view overlooking Clew Bay. The apartments are fabulous, a real home away from home. So cosy and have everything you could need. We had one small issue with a window hinge on arrival and when I notified reception, the maintenance man (Pat I think he was called) was straight up to fix it. He was very friendly and had the window sorted in no time at all. They are in a great location with Westport House only a short walk away. There are plenty of restaurants on Westport Quay and the town is only a 5 min drive away. We particularly love the childrens play room just off the reception area. Its a life saver on a wet day and our 1 year old had great fun playing with all the toys. If you are looking for good food, the Helm bar which is just a few doors down is excellent. When we were checking out I had my son with me and the girl on reception gave him a little parting gift, it was a goody bag with a colouring book, crayons and a lollipop. I thought this was a lovely gesture and my son was delighted with his gift. It was a lovely note to end our holiday on. Big thumbs up for the Harbour Mill. Would highly recommend. Cannot wait to return again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Apartments have a fabulous view and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Pat and I am very happy to hear that he was able to help you. We are pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us and that you would highly recommend us.We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing