We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommadation”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommadation”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Really impressed by the space and cleanliness of the apartment. Had all appliances that you would need and in a great location. We stayed in a Harbour View apt which had a gorgeous view and meant the apt had lots of light coming in. Im not sure if this would apply to the courtyard view rooms as it didnt get much natural light. There was a fantastic play room that our 5 and 3 year old thought was the biz!
The location is a few minutes out of the main town (which suited us fine) but it would be too far to dander in with young children. That said, there are lots of restaurants, bars and convenience shops along the quay if you dont fancy heading into town and we had some gorgeous meals just a stonesthrow from the apartment. Westport house is a short stroll from the building and some beautiful beaches are only a ten minute drive away. We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed a few extra nights and will def be back.

Room Tip: Harbour View brighter, lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_IrelandSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    137
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
282
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Accommodation was excellent - it was what it said on the tin! Spacious, comfortable, clean. There were even teabags and coffee and a pint of milk to start us off!
Staff were most friendly, welcoming and helpful from the time of booking.

One small minus - hot water boiler a trifle noisy. We turned it off at times but had to remember to turn it on again when required.
Wi Fi service while free was very sporadic.

All in all a good experience.
M. Kavanagh,
Galway

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaireadK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much to take the time out of your day to write this review, I am glad to hear you were impressed with The Harbour Mill Apartments, we pride ourselves on our Customer Service and the high standard of our accommodation. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

WiFi is very important to our kids at the ages of 15 and 11 and the broadband connection wasn't great in the apartments. We also found the 10am check out time a bit too early.With the exception of these relatively minor issues we had a great stay and would and have recommended these apartments to many friends.

Room Tip: On our first stay we had a harbour view apartment on ground floor and it was special. Second stay we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you have returned to us and have recommended us to friends. We just had the Wi-Fi installed in the apartments from June and are still working through some minor issues but I will pass your information on to our IT department and look into having this issue resolved, we also have Free Wi-Fi in our wine bar and kiddies corner that all guests are more than welcome to use. Check out at 10am is essential during busy periods in order for us to have all apartments ready for the check in time of 4pm, we always try to be accommodating to families regarding check out time and if requested we do our best to extend the check out time, please check with reception during your stay.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I loved my time staying down at the Harbour Mill apartments. They are so convenient to the ever - scenic Westport House and the 'Railway walk' back into Westport town. The apartments have the best of both worlds as they are close to, but not right in the hustle and bustle of Westport on weekend nights.
The apartments were lovely and cosy and my apartment had a gorgeous view out over the Harbour itself. The apartments are very comfortable with all the applicances etc.. that you might need. Staff were really friendly, with plenty of tips of nice restaurants to eat in when we asked for a few recommendations, they called taxis for us too, and called up to our apartment when we needed fresh towels. I really enjoyed my time down there.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments Westport. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s what makes us love our job! Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and I will be sure to pass them on.
We hope to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill again soon.
Kind Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

If travelling with family, look no further. The Harbour Mill is the best place to stay in Westport. I've been her for a week with two kids aged 10 and 8 and we have have a fantastic time. Our 2 bed one ensuite apartment was spotlessly clean with a great views over the Harbour. The ground floor wine bar with adjoining play area is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine or read a book while children can play safely ( a welcome break after a busy day's activities). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with great suggestions for day trips, activities, restaurants and were extremely knowledgable about the wider amenities in the Westport area. Our apartment had a DVD player, washer dryer, microwave and free wifi. Secure parking onsite and included in the price.

There were plenty of other families around so my children made friends quickly. But everything was still quite reserved and was quiet after 10pm so sleep was never disturbed.

The location was excellent. The best place to be located in Westport, a short stroll to Westport house and there are plenty of good quality restaurants within easy walking distance.

We had a first class stay in the Harbour Mill and would have no hesitation in recommending or returning. We haven't even packed yet and the kids are already asking when we are coming back!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaranSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It’s what makes us love our job! I was very pleased to read that you rate us as the'Best Place to stay in Westport' we are so very happy that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We really like to hear that guests have had a great stay with us and we pride ourselves on the facilities we have to offer. I will ensure that all staff are made aware of such positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to The Harbour Mill in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in Harbour Mill with a total family group of 5 adults 2 children in two seperate apartments. We can only describe it as a fantastic week. This is a very friendly place and perfect to explore the local area. Everyone in the group (ages 8 to 74!) thought it was great. The staff were excellent, making all members of the group feel welcome, valued and totally at ease. Both of the apartments were well equiped and extreemly comfortable. The 24 hour reception is great with lots of helpful ideas and very useful vouchers for local venues. Eating out was great everywhere we went but we do feel the Helm, literally down the street from the Harbour, was exceptional! Staff service and the food were simply brilliant - it is a must for great food! Thank you all for a great experience - we will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms we experienced were excellent but it is worth going for the Harbour View - just fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear you and your family had such an enjoyable time with us in The Harbour Mill and in Westport.
I will ensure that all staff are made aware of such lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Harbour Mills and second time as good as the first. The location was great, plenty to do. Staff very friendly and helpful. Apartments lovely and very clean. Views across harbour spectular. Very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primusoptimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
923 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,058 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing