We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay in westport”
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Mill
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the place to stay in westport”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

great location fab views everything near bars and food you cant go wrong with the harbour mill. I have stayed lots of times and have always had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-hols112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    134
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
269
101
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My family and extended family took a last minute family break to the Harbour Mill during the mid term break in February. We had never visited Westport or the Harbour Mill before so we weren't quite sure what to expect.
We were all totally blown away with the service and facilities at the Harbour Mill. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, 8 days later! it was more than we could ever have hoped for. The standard of the accommodation was very high and the apartments were spotless. We had booked with Jackie on reception and she met us on arrival (and had a beautiful log fire burning in the reception area). Everything was very welcoming and we felt very comfortable and at home during our time here.
The facilities on site including the bar and kids play room were fabulous to have and the standard of restaurants and pubs within walking distance was again better than we expected. If possible, go for a harbour view apt as the views are well worth the extra money and the apts are very bright and airy .
We will difinitely return and could not praise or thank the staff enough, all in all, a fabulous trip for all 22 of us!! The consensus we reached was when in Westport there's only one place for us to stay.

Room Tip: Take a harbour view room - you're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs.mops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time with us in The Harbour Mill and in Westport.
I will ensure that all staff is made aware of such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked an apartment for 3 nights for 6 people as it was probably the cheapest and most convenient way for us. I wasn't really sure what to expect as I hadn't done much research but we were really delighted with what we found. Right on the harbour front, the Harbour Mill is a huge and impressive building. Immaculate reception area which operates 24 hours. Our apartment was fab. I was a bit worried that we'd all be on top of each other but all of the rooms were huge with and well spaced out. The bedrooms were well-equipped and well-lit. The three bathrooms (2 en-suite) were stylish and immaculate with both showers and baths. The kitchen was very well equipped and we were able to self-cater with no fuss at all. The lounge/diner was comfy and stylish again. The harbour area has a few shops, hotels and bars and is just over a mile from the actual town of Westport but it's a pretty level and easy walk to get there. Westport town is a brilliant place for a night out and also has some nice boutiques - not too gift shoppy. It's is a busy tourist destination but mainly for the amazing scenery nearby and the dozens of great pubs in the town many of which have fantastic live music. The people are friendly too. Great town, great accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you very much for such lovely comments and for taking the time to post this review. We really like to hear that guests have had an enjoyable stay with us and we pride ourselves on the facilities we have to offer. I will ensure that all staff is made aware of such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The appartments at the Harbour Mill in Westport are fantastic,very clean and spacious,excellent value for money and the staff are very welcoming and helpfull.we defo intend to stay there again and will be reccomending the appartments to family and friends,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank master2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

What can i say absolutely brilliant from beginning to end from the friendly staff to the spacious apartment and the little but very important extras like the coffee,tea bags and milk in our fridge on our arrival.There is also a supermarket within walking distance for those who want to cook in their apartment.The great view our apartment had looking out to Clew Bay and beyond to Clare Island.And of course not forgetting the great view of Croagh Patrick for those adventurous enough to climb to the top. Also the excellent sea food available locally and the great pubs particularly "The Helm" next door to our apartment.The weather was very kind to us too !!!! Only one down side we didn't stay long enough, great place too unwind and chill out.Everyone should go here, my wife and i will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnc008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
I will ensure that all staff are made aware of such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Fabulous location, wonderful apartments, very clean. Staff couldn't be more helpful. I have no hesitation recommending Harbour Mill

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

just stayed at harbour mills for the 6th ime , each time i love it more , the service , the setting , the aura of the place just does it for us every time . the peace & quiet , the lovely pubs & restaurants in the local area , especially "the helm" next door is just great . roll on next year

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank briankdrogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon..
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Property: Harbour Mill
Address: The Harbour Mill, Westport Quay, Westport F28 EW73, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th-century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the west of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just a short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012.' With a 24-hour reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, babysitting service, free secure car parking, on-site sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This year's winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by TripAdvisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing