We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Eaglewood Lodge

Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Kitchen/dining room
Master bedroom
One of our new glamping pods Sleeps 2 -3
Moher lake four miles away with Croagh Patrick in the background
Traditional music session Matt Molloys pub
Quite backrods for cycling
Autumn colours
Gaelic Football Final Mayo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Edel H
1 review
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Im just back from My Hen weekend in Eaglewood Lodge, What can i say it is probably one of the most amazing places ive ever stayed, the cabin itself was so amazing, with beautiful scenery around..It was perfect for our numbers with 21 of us staying in the cabin, and if we needed to we could have used the glamping pods out the back..,Michael was so nice to deal with he left us to ourselves and Arranged our activity pottery with Roger , which we did at the house, we hit the town for dinner and drinks that evening, Michael even brought us in and out which was soo handy...Its a perfect idea for a group trip away, as long as you dont mind cooking yourself, myself and the BM's prepared lunch for everyone , had loads of food and drink for everyone...which was perfect for when everyone arried.. What can i say...Brilliant weekend, and i thinj me and alot of the hennys will be back... Thanks a million xxx

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thanks Edel for your great review.
Hopefully see you again soon.
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max b
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing House and Fantastic Host”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My family and I spent Christmas here , and it was a very special place. We stayed in various houses in Westport, but this one was amazing and no comparison to the other holiday rentals some of our group rented. Michael was really helpful and took us on a great bus tour of the area too. He was also able to pick us up from town when we'd been in the pubs, in his large bus. The location is about 15 minutes out of town, and in beautiful landscapes which Michael drove us around to see. I will certainly stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireS29...
Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Experience. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I booked this lodge for the October Bank Holiday weekend for my friends Hen Party. Choosing Eaglewood Lodge made the Hen Party an extra special experience.
It is absolutely beautiful, finished to an extremely high standard and so homely.
Everybody was so impressed and are planning return trips :-)
We hardly left the lodge the whole weekend. It is great space for everybody meet, socialise and get to know each other.
Micheal was so helpful in the build up to the weekend.

I would highly recommend Eaglewood Lodge as a perfect holiday destination for large groups of friends or family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil G
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic lodge”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with my parents, brothers and their partners and their kids - 12 in total and we had a great time. Well furnished house and good stocked kitchen. Comfortable sitting area with cool jukebox and then separate tv sitting area upstairs which was great for the kids. Location is really scenic, the large porch was cool to sit on the rocking chair in the evening, enjoy a whisky and pretend you were a cowboy :)

We also had some visits from the chickens and the kids loved the way we could go and get a fresh eggs from the chicken barn just across the front garden. Michael was very accommodating and responsive to any of our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian M
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked the lodge for my best friends hen party, we stayed here 2 weeks ago.
I have to say it was just amazing, Michael was fantastic with his help in the lead up to the hen and on the day we arrived.
We arrived on the Friday afternoon and everything was spot on. We cooked that evening and stayed in the lodge and enjoyed the amazing scenery, there was also a lovely visit from Michaels' dog,we put music on the jukebox and chilled out until the early hours.
On Saturday we awoke in our beautiful surrounding, where we ate our breakfast on the porch.
In the lead up to the hen, Michael had given me a list of activities that we could do, I picked the pottery and this was brilliant. The guy came to the lodge and we had fun for 2 hours, and it was so reasonably priced. Also, the visit from the hen was great fun.....we couldn't find any eggs though:)
Michael collected us at 715 on the dot to bring us all into Westport, only a 15 min drive away. We had dinner and drinks and we could not wait to get back to the lodge again.
I have to say this place is something special, I am considering on booking this for a family break next year, as it just amazing.
Michael thank you so much for everything, we did not want to leave on Sunday.....:(

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, and I have to say the bed leading onto the porch downstairs was the most comfortable I have ever slept!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieDub
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large group of friends and/or family”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I recently stayed at Eaglewood Lodge for a hen night and the place was fantastic. Michael the owner was extremely obliging and helpful. The place is very comfortable and very stylish and I've already recommended it to some friends as possible venues for reunions and other family gatherings.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Would liked to have stayed longer.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardeehey
Ardee, Co Louth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic retreat in a serene setting”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

When we pulled up to the Eaglewood Lodge, i knew we had made the right choice.
We were met by Michael the owner who showed us the lodge and handed over the keys. We then got to meet buster the dog and the resident hens...fantastic country retreat away from the city life.
The extended family settled in very quickly with lots of open plan spaces and private bedrooms and bathrooms.
The log fire was a great treat for the kids and the large kitchen area and table meant that 11 people could easily sit down each morning for breakfast - which was very special.
The location of the lodge close to Croagh Patrick and Westport (20 mins drive) made this a perfect stay for us. i would recommend this Lodge to any friends - and we are already looking forward to the next stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size to allow all the family to stay
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing