We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good”
Review of Dunnings B&B

Dunnings B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunnings B&B
Ranked #63 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food good”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

In dunnings at the moment. Just had a lovely pint of Guiness and a pork chop dinner, husband had the beef. For a tenner a head what was not to like. Food was exactly as it should be good plain food lovely mash, and pork chops grilled served with a very tasty pepper sauce. Great Guiness at €3.80 a pint what's to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    10
    5
    24
See reviews for
7
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed in Dunnings B&B for a stag weekend for two nights. Lets start with the positives, the location was great being right in the centre of Westport town so pubs weren't too far away. Staff were very friendly and polite and their was no task that was ignored. The breakfast was absolutley sensational and that alone was a selling point.

No we begin the slow decline into the neagtive aspects of this place. Overall the biggest issue in Dunnings was its room decor which were substandard. I know if accomodation is being utilised for stag weekends its going to be exposed to general wear and tear but it would have been nice to have a mould-free ceiling in the bathroom or a chair where you could sit down with out wondering if that brown line is a skid-mark or just brown fabric. No parking facilities was another issue but their is on-street parking around the area.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the decor is as rough as a bears hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in a single room at Dunnings last week. Thought it would only be a single bed but instead it was a very comfy double. Had a cute little ensuite, was very small though!! Also had a TV but on the first night I couldn't find the remote and the next day when I asked the lady gave it to me saying that they don't keep them in the rooms. The breakfast was huge, great to have it included. The location is also awesome. The wifi didn't work when I was there, they have computers but I had to keep asking the bar lady to log me on which was annoying. Also other guests were very noisy at night and walls are paper thin. But overall a great place to stay. 30 euros a night for a double bed room all to myself with ensuite including breakfast. met a girl who was paying 20euro for a six bed dorm and no breakfast just two doors down

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarz323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location but an absolute kip. Three grown men put into some rooms which were dirty. Landlady insisted on hounding us for €50 deposit each although there was no mention of it before we arrived. Nothing you could damage in the rooms that would amount to €50 anyway. Location is great though.we were on a stags and unconscious drunk most nights but I'd fear for anyone staying there sober

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulied84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westport hotels

Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

i stayed in Dunnings in Westport many times now and every time i stay n westport its for fun and craic and that is exactly what you get wen you enter Dunnings. The staff are very friendly, very laid back n meeting you, you feel like your at home but know your n one of the busiest and best towns in Ireland.. i was stayin wit a group of friends an we were al shown to our rooms, it had everythin we needed to jus get a nights sleep as we knew what our w.end was planned out to be,(full of drink and craic).. ok the rooms are not like the ritz, but sure we were not expecting that or judging them with that in mind as like i said we were n westport for what my title clearly states!!! we had an evening meal and the young bar man was very happy to accomadate us an help us out on a light meal before we had a few drinks and headed downtown later, we had beautiful homemade goujons, creamy coleslaw, salad and chips, jus wonderful and not too heavy jus like the barman said!!(A good looking, charming young man!!)P!!we had a few pints wit da local gentry which is always some craic, i luv strangers cos you make a connection with them n a way where it doesnt matter if its lies r truth you say to them an vice versa cos al n al its the conversation that matters with people, an as long as you r them are not ill mannered who cares!! the craic is wha you need, we listened to a one man band for an hour which was so entertaining, we had clearly known the barmaid made it her business to get this gent singer into entertain all the guests if they wished to join, he was very good and lively and really set out night in gud spirits.. the barmaid was a live wire behind the bar who managed it so wel al night and also got n with our conversations to brighten our night, a great worker, very cheerful!! anyway we came back to B&B, some later than others but we had knocked ourselves out no bother, we had heard plenty of others coming and going but we kne they were there with same intentions as ourselves, a hugh tasty breakfast n mornin from the friendly chef, an off we went, i will b back.. Great place for friends get together, stags and hens definatly!!!! Dont shy away, take a trip, it is westport after all!!!

Room Tip: you wan fun, craic, a memorable w.end, then choose here definatly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flys179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hard to tell what exactly makes Dunning's stand out from the crowd. Perhaps it is the mould on the walls of the rooms or perhaps it is the large punch hole in the bathroom door where a previous guest had left his mark. Was he expressing his rage at renting a room in this squalid little B&B?Was he angry over the paper thin walls, the dodgy shower, the TV that dind't work, the loud noises from the radiators that wake you early in the morning? We'll never truly know. Located in the heart of Westport you are under no illusions as to your welcome as soon as you arrive and experience genuine surlyness of the employees/owners who having already been paid in full seek a further cash deposit no doubt mindful of that bathroom door which they can't quite bring themselves to repair. And who is that friendly character at the bar mixing with the tourists? Why it's a local drunk who is spouting some kind of gibberish in a language unintelligible to all but a handful of people. But don't fret as he won't be the most annoying customer in the bar during the stay. No that would be the three local lads screaming and shouting at the bar shortly before 10am as guests had breakfast closeby. The mad look on their faces at first appeared to suggest they had some kind of mental impairment but further investigation would suggest that they just hadn't been to bed. Perhaps they had seen the rooms and decided it would be better not to attempt sleep.

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a stag weekend, stayed in dunnings bar and wasn't Expecting much so was Quite surprised when we got there, room we had was grand, clean bed clean bathroom and a lovely breakfast each morning, staff were Friendly aswell, for a stag this place was great value and would defo come back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingkevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Guest House
Elephant Guest House
#49 of 69 in Westport
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
Old Mill Holiday Hostel
#7 of 9 in Westport
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
#5 of 69 in Westport
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drummin House
Drummin House
#39 of 69 in Westport
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest B&B
Hillcrest B&B
#57 of 69 in Westport
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Nephin Lodge B&B
#55 of 69 in Westport
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunnings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunnings B&B

Property: Dunnings B&B
Address: Octagon, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing