We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cycling the Wilds of Mayo and Clew Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Electric Escapes

Electric Escapes
Ranked #8 of 15 Tours in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cycle tours in Ireland.Electric bike tours in Ireland.Bike & cycle hire in Ireland.Kalkhoff bike sales in Ireland. Explore the Wild west of Ireland with ease on the best electric bikes in the world a Kalkhoff. We'll pick you up with the bikes and take you off the beaten track to explore with ease the hills and valleys of Mayo. You'll have jeep support, maps, binoculars and everything you need to enjoy the wilderness experience. We'll be there to enhance the experience but not intrude on your time. We'll guide, not lead, and inform, not lecture, enabling you to have a unique experience, finding secrets and tales only the locals know. The picnic provided is all local award-winning cheeses, clew bay Salmon, local baked bread. And don't worry about carrying it either - we'll set it up with a vista to die for and even do the washing up! Everything is taken care of. You just cycle off into the sunset and enjoy.
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cycling the Wilds of Mayo and Clew Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Paul met myself and my new bride at our B&B in Westport for what turned out to be one of the best experiences of our Irish honeymoon. We had great conversations about the history, culture, flora and geology of the landscape we cycled over- starting in the forests of the Bangor Trail about 5km north of Loch Feeagh, a coffee and biscuit stop above an ancient peninsula fort, then past the beautiful drumlin fields of Newport Bay, on to Rockfleet Castle, an early dinner stop at Brendan's well for fresh-cooked Clew Bay mussels and smoked salmon and finally ending in Mulrany with a pub stop above scenic Clew Bay. WOW!! Paul outdid himself on an untypically warm and cloudless Irish summer day. And then he gave us a backroads tour to Westport, including a visit to an old abbey and some wild stained glass church windows in Newport before dropping us off at the B&B. He later emailed us some great photos he had taken on the trip. The bikes were easy to ride and helped on the hills. I am considering buying one later this year. I had great hopes for Electric Escapes and Paul came through with a memorable day in a very special week.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dunewalker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Getting Wild on the Wild Atlantic Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Paul met me with great enthusiasm and we had a great day out. Paul and his team were very helpful and managed to let me experience a bit on my own to get to know that part of the country and to be able to explore the area. If you are looking for an easy way to bike around Ireland in whatever area you choose, Electric Escapes allows you to do so without panic of what to expect on the roads in Ireland, with great help along the way and the comfort of knowing you have back up if you need it. I would recommend them for a great biking holiday in Ireland. It's a custom adventure and the wildness of Ireland can truly be experienced in Westport and beyond. If you have questions please don't hesitate and feel free to ask me first hand.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandGirlToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic trip on the Greenway with Electric Escapes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Last week myself, my husband and my 2 year old twins boys had a fantastic memorable day on the Greenway. Paul from Electric Escapes picked us up at the hotel in Westport and took us to Newport, he set up on his electric bikes and sent us off. It was a magical experience one we will never forget!! Paul collected us at Mulranny later that afternoon and took us safely home to the hotel. Paul is a pleasure to deal with and an absolute fountain of knowlegde. It was the best family holiday we have had and we'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JusieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant day had ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A super day had with these guys .... they could not have been more friends and helpful if they tried ... would defo recommend a day trip up the greenway .... two thumbs up .. :0)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulelectricescapes, Owner at Electric Escapes, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Louise , thanks for taking time to give us the thumbs up . Glad you had fun , enjoyed the mussels and the Electric bike ride. The whole group was great fun & it's obvious you have fun in and out of work together ! If you have any pics please stick them on our Facebook as our camera broke ! Spread the word of thanks for us please & let others know how much fun getting back in the saddle can be ! Cheers ! Paul .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rain or Shine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a great bike tour of the area surrounding Westport. Don't let the weather be a factor since you'll have fun rain or shine. The electric bikes made it easy to climb the rolling hills and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Once Paul dropped us off it was just the two of us and the sheep. But we never felt stranded since Paul was always there to make sure we had everything we needed and more. The coffee and lunch stops were more than we expected. It was nice to see that there was an emphasis on local food and products. Plus It was also nice to see Paul waiting for us just when the weather started to get a little too wet and windy. It was definitely the best way to get off the beaten track and enjoy the countryside with an experienced and knowledgeable guide. Thanks Paul!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulelectricescapes, Owner at Electric Escapes, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Brad & Kat , thanks for your kind words .Days like that & people like you remind of why I gave up the 9 to 5 and got into tourism . It was great fun and glad you enjoyed our way of exploring . No Lycra here just E bikes to help & gel saddles to help further ! .Just wrap up put on your smile and go ! You had the wilderness to yourselves .Good to meet people who love travelling and getting off the traditional route . Happy travels guys and next time Ill have the cork screw for the red !
Get out there !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Escapes also viewed

 

Been to Electric Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing