We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar/restaurant”

The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stourbridge
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice bar/restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is lovely little bar/restaurant close to Harbour Mill apartments with a roaring fire and a warm welcome. With a good menu and excellent food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“50 minute wait for food.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

three couples ordered food here on Friday 4th January at 7.30pm. Mains only, nothing fancy. At 8,10 we enquired as to what the delay was and were told the chicken took longer than normal dishes (this should have been done upon ordering the dish, or mentioned on the menu, it wasn't ). Mortified that the delay was my fault i said to bring everybody else their food and id wait for the chicken. The place was what I would call steady, certainly not busy, the staff were floating around in a daze and if we were satisfied this would have been okay. At 8.15 our food began to appear. Funnily enough chicken first. The food arrived in dribs and drabs and by 8.20 we were ready to start FIFTY minutes after ordering and without what i would call a proper 'i'm really sorry for the wait'. The word 'sorry' was mentioned as if the waitress didnt understand what we might possibly be miffed about. This is completely ridiculous and rather than leaving in a huff we mentioned the delay upon paying. Unless we mentioned it there wouldnt have been a word about the ridiculous wait. We were given two portions of chips and four of our drinks free of charge. And this might have been okay if it was backed up by a proper apology but again we got a 'sorry' and nothing else. No, 'there was a problem in the kitchen', no' we are very sorry but we for got your order'. I wish we had left or insisted on not paying for our food. I asked the lad at the till if he was management but he wasnt. No offer of can I take your number to pass on to the manager. I've looked but cannot get an email address and im still too mad to phone them. thing is i figure it would probably be a fruitless labour. they clearly dont care, nor train their staff in customer care.
Wesport heavily relies on a passing fleet of tourists who will never be back again anyway. As a customer not too far from westport I know I will never eat here again...this is my first ever negative TA feedback. Only go here if you are stuck and have all day. As you can tell I'm still mad

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yv0nnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinmouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food - iffy service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ordered from the Sunday specials list, 1 roast beef, 1 pork roast, and 1 salmon dinner. all were very good, really liked the family style vegetable dishes both were excellent and perfectly cooked. it was not crowded at the time we were there and the three waitresses were much busier socializing at the end of the bar than attending to the customers in the dining area. We were not needy patrons but it is tough to get someones attention when three backs are to you all the time. Word of advice, If you are overstaffed or simply having an idle spell, don't make it so evident to the customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenowlhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Mix Bag”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Went to this place during a Lunchtime with family group four adults and 2 kids. The service was friendly and quick but there was a very very long wait for food. Food was OK, the standard fares that were ordered by others eg. kids fish and chips, Chicken dinner and roast dinner were good but my Beef and Guinness pie was a bit of a disappointment. Now don't get me wrong as I am all for modern food but this pie was not a pie - a rich and flavorful beef stew on a bowl with a separate pasty case sitting on top, not even cooked with the pastry on top just dropped on top. Pastry was too flaky to be cut and dipped on the stew. The stew was lovely (more like a Bourguignon) but should have been sold like that and i would probably have had it if it was served with mash but passing it as a pie was a bit much for me. It was a mix bag of a day as waiting so long with the food specially with the child was a bit of an challenge (Kids bowl for the smaller child was ordered first and did arrive earlier). One of us had a soup starter and th rest had mains. This might have added to the delay but the wait was unacceptable. The other large table next to us seemed to have waited a fair bit as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlovingdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overwhelming smell of bleach”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tthe Seafood Chowder was the best we tasted in Westport. The staff were helpful and friendly, the location is great, BUT the problem is the smell of the place, the scent of bleachy mops on entry detracts from the overall enjoyment. We visited in September 2012 and instantly remembered that it smelled the same 2 years before. A second visit this week and they even mopped while we were in there, eating & drinking.
Get it sorted lads!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joereddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing