We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good friendly staff, very busy place, good food”

The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good friendly staff, very busy place, good food”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

very friendly staff, good service little over rated as a food venue.
seabass very well presented and cooked, mash potato dry, and tasteless, but would recommend this resturant. very nice decor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurenjackmaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“*** FANTASTIC FOOD, FANTASTIC SERVISE, GREAT WITH KIDS **”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived at the Asgard, after being let down by the Towers (see my review for the Towers). We had no reservation, we were a party of 9, it was a busy eve, and they still managed to get us a table.

We only had to wait a short time, while they rearranged tables and chairs to fit us, apologising for keeping us waiting all the time.

The food here was amazing, out of 6 adults and 3 kids, we all had different food, 3 courses each, and no-one had one complaint.

The portions are large, the food and food choice is excellent, and they had a great choice on the kids menu.

We had special requests with rearranging certain meals, and checking on a nut allergy, all were dealt with excellent.

The Banoffee Pie is out of this world !!!

Great value for money, choice of set menu or seperatly priced menu.

We had one girl serving us, she was rushed off her feet, but served us everytime politely, with a smile, and engaging with the kids.

Fantastic, highly recomend it, well worth a visit. We eat upstairs which is more like a restaurant feel, than a pub feel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELLOTS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“People who care”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great Welcome great service genuine customer interest great value great food Great pint of Guinness very relaxed athmosphere

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The smell was so bad we didn't eat there!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Smell of toilets when you walked in the door was horrendous.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the asgard”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Fabulous bar restaurant. Staff couldnt do enough for us. So friendly. The portions are enormous. Fish beautiful and dont miss the beef and guiness pie. Enough to feed two people. also live entertainment at night. great atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing