We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location, great break”
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH
YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Sunset at Old Head taken from the house
Surfing at Carrowniskey beach Just 4 miles From the house
Croagh Patrick taken from house Winter . Very rare to have snow
Fully equipped utility room
Sunset on old Head
Old Head Beach  on your doorstep just 100 metres from your entrance !!!
Part of patio and Garden area
The front entrance taken June 6th 2013
This is the view of Sunset taken from within the house
Superking Beds
Front entrance June 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paddy M
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great house, great location, great break”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The forecast wasn't great for the weekend (it was May bank Holiday). But our hearts lifted when we arrived at Lagan where Eamon met us and showed us the whole, wonderful, place. Six bedrooms. Televisions everywhere. And a wonderful kitchen come dining come sitting room with views of Old Head and Croagh Patrick. We ate in and it was just great. The beach, Old Head, is just a stroll down the lane from the house, so despite it not being warm, we spent part of the next day there. There were 11 of us, six adults and five children. And we could have taken another few as well, comfortably!! We explored - did Westport House, went to the harbour, and the extraordinary drive to Leenaun. It is close to being the best and most beautiful, spectaculal, breathtaking drive in Ireland. And we knew that, always, we'd be back in our beautiful house at night. That's where we ate mostly. The equipment in the house is the best money can buy. Top of the range. Everything. And while Westport is a beautiful, friendly, unspoiled town, Louisburgh is equally welcoming. And at last there's an ATM there! We'll be back here. Great place, and great value. One of our best breaks ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nauj63
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Top notch !”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 22nd year of Easter celebratory gatherings. In that time we've stayed in numerous 'first class' establishments...and regrettably a few in the 'just OK' category. Lagan is most definitely in the former camp - superb ! Bright, spacious, modern, minimalist (in a no-fuss kind of way) and stylish, this property offered real comfort which sealed 6 days of indulgent relaxation for all 10 of us ! We ate in only for breakfast and a 'Gala Dinner' - the kitchen is very well equipped, the laundry room functional and the dining arrangements accommodated us with ease. The beds were uber comfortable, the lounge area allowing panoramic views over to Achill, Croagh Patrick and the sea. We will have to return in the Summer to experience the fantastic BBQ area... WiFi is great ; in fact this is a high tech property - certainly a technophobe could be a little overwhelmed by the modernity of the place ! Michael the Owner is a delight to deal with - responsive, considerate and intent on providing a memorable experience for his 'guests'. Eamon who manages the property was on hand to welcome us. Margaret remained in the background but she 'keeps' a super clean accommodation. And let's not forget John (?), Michael's brother who turned up on our doorstep with 2 deliciously hot loaves of wheaten bread. Heaven !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartey
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning house, simply WOW!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I spent a week here from the 28th December with my extended family. Our first impression of the house when driving up the driveway in the dark was the large glass front with a well lit Xmas tree to greet us. Within moments, the house felt like home away from home but of a 5* standard. We only wish we lived in a house like this.
Sitting having breakfast the next morning enjoying the panoramic views from Old Head Beach to Croagh Patrick was when we fully got to appreciate all this house had to offer.
We are a family of foodies and the layout of the open plan kitchen and living area was perfect for prepping, cooking and long family dinners. The kitchen is very well stocked and to a very high spec. The bedrooms are comfortable with lovely white linen and towels.
We climbed Croagh Patrick, we cycled the Greenway, we visited Achill, we did HIIT training in the garden, we had movie nights & we even swam in the sea and everytime we returned to Lagan we were met by a lovely warm house.
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Michael and enjoyed a nice chat with him. Eamonn & Margaret looked after us so well and nothing was a hassle for them.
There is so much to do and visit in the area. We recommend The Tavern for food and drinks in Murrisk, The DerryLahan in Louisbourg for a pre dinner drink, Durkans butchers in the town for cooking at home & if you like your craft beers, don't leave the area without trying Mescan Saison, brewed in the hills near the house.
In summary we couldn't recommend this house highly enough and are both sad leaving the house & area this evening. Although we will be back. Thank you Michael, Eamonn & Margaret. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarteIrel...
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“5* Accommodation in a 5* Location - doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most relaxing and enjoyable family gathering for New Years. 10 adults and 5 kids arrived in the very beautiful Westport on the 28th Dec for a 5 night stay in what one could only describe as definitely one of Ireland's Top holiday rentals. We had only one mission - adventure, good food, scenic surroundings and a comfortable home away from home, at let's just say this place ticked all of the above. This beautiful property has been developed and upgraded by its very helpful and pleasant owner Michael, who has literally thought of every minor detail and comfort for this property. The beds had to be one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in, the ensuite bathrooms are finished to a very high standard. The kitchen and living areas have every mod con available. The outside is equally well landscaped and is literally only a stones through from a very beautiful unspoilt beach. The property itself is well managed by Michaels very helpful and pleasant team, Eamon and Margaret, who were happily available to assist when required. As for adventure, there was plenty on offer, we woke to the the very beautiful Croagh Patrick every morning which we climbed, then off on a short trips to visit Lenanne and Achill and finally renting bikes and taking the kids on a cycle along the 32k Great Western Greenway - this is a stunning family friendly cycle path off road which everyone really enjoyed. Westport its self is a very pretty and well kept town as is Louisburgh which would have been the closest village. You'd be hard pressed to find anything but good things to say about this house, its owner and stunning location..... just can't wait to go back !!!! So thank you Michael and team, you definitely made our New Years family gathering and celebrations one we will fondly remember for years to come !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing House near Westport, county Mayo”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This house provides 5 star facilities and accommodation in a stunning location.
The house was updated in the last 18 months and no expense was spared.
The owner, Michael, popped in to see all was ok and was really interested in receiving our feedback to ensure any further changes he may make will further enhance the wonderful experience of staying there. From our 1st arrival when Eamon and Margaret couldn't have been more helpful right up to.our departure, everything was just perfect. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubliner5...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!!!! 5 Star Home!!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived home having spent the weekend at this amazing house at Old Head Beach, Louisburg. We were an extended family of 12 having a family gathering. The house is 5 star throughout..from the high tech kitchen to the sprawling sitting/dining area... the bedrooms are superb with the most comfiest beds ever.
.bathrooms and ensuites are so nice too. All rooms are climate controlled which was very comfortable. The views of Croagh Patrick with the sunrise was beautiful. There is a vast BBQ area which would be so good to use in good weather. The beach is just a 2min walk, it was so tranquil there.. we didn't have great weather but we enjoyed the beach nonetheless, I can only imagine how fantastic it would be with sunshine..Eamonn the caretaker, welcomed us to the house, a very nice person and very helpful, he was just a phone call away if needed. We used Ollies Cab Taxi to transport us into and from Westport which is about a 20 min journey. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Michael, he is a very genuine nice man. We have rebooked to visit again next year!! Looking forward to our return visit..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgeworth...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stunning part of the world. Amazing views of the West Coast of Ireland and of Croag Patrick...the Holy Mountain, from this very well appointed holiday home. The large picture windows give you a continuous picture of Mother Natures beauty. We were here 2yrs ago and really loved the house and position. Since then the house has been increased to sleep 11. All bedrooms have their own shower rooms. Which are well designed and you are supplied with plenty of towels. Kitchen is well equipped and great laundry room too. Outside area and garden are very accessible and great for children. A short walk down to lovely beach. When the weather is fine you can not beat it! Unfortunately, can not rely on it but still a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Will definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing