We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an outstanding holiday for all the family,best...”
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH
YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Sunset at Old Head taken from the house
Surfing at Carrowniskey beach Just 4 miles From the house
Croagh Patrick taken from house Winter . Very rare to have snow
Fully equipped utility room
Sunset on old Head
Old Head Beach  on your doorstep just 100 metres from your entrance !!!
Part of patio and Garden area
The front entrance taken June 6th 2013
This is the view of Sunset taken from within the house
Superking Beds
Front entrance June 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YarrumGal...
galway
1 review
“an outstanding holiday for all the family,best ever”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented LAGAN to celebrate a special birthday for my wife Eileen whose wish for her birthday was that we would get all family together----- 8 adults and 4 children
LAGAN was ideal providing the opportunities for every activity one could hope for.
The sea is 100 meters away with an excellent safe beach a mile long with water sports activities at the Old Head end. We availed of the opportunity to cycle the Green way , others did some mountaineering on Croagh Patrick. Westport and Westport house has extraordinary activity opportunities and alternatives if there is a wet or showery day.
Lagan itself isthe last word in luxury with 5 beautiful large bedrooms 4 of which are ensuite
Beds are large and super comfortable, There is a very large living dining room luxurious furniture and the panoramic views are breath taking of mountains and sea. There is excelent heating if needed, laundry facilities and top of the range kitchen equipment. Everything is on the flat with great accessibility. Ther are tvs every where and excellent wifi Outside there are beautiful lawns and an excellent barbecue
The liaison withthe owner is very personal and informal from the start. Johns visit with lots of brown bread is a beautiful and sensitive and generous touch. The housekeeping and maintenance services are almost immediately available delivered in a kind and efficient way For a family or group get together Lagan is unlikely to be surpassed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent. Definitely going back”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just returned from a long weekend at Lagan House. Our family party consisted of 9 adults and 2 children and Lagan more than comfortably accommodated everyone. The view from the glass walled lounge was second to none available in Ireland with Old Head Beach to the left and Croagh Patrick to the right. The facilities were top class and the beds were extremely comfortable. The five bathrooms/shower rooms were of hotel standard. There was an extensive paved barbecue area outside which was well equipped with outdoor furniture. Michael, the owner, informed us that the house is still a work in progress so I imagine it will be 5 star plus on completion. We definitely recommend this luxurious property and will without doubt be paying it another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & high standard accommodation
Liked least: Nothing we can think of
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful home with equally gorgeous views”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The only bad thing I can say about our stay in Lagan that it ended too soon! We travelled with our family of eight, plus one infant. From our first minutes in the home, we were welcomed by Margaret, the housekeeper, and made to feel completely at home. Stunned by the breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick on one side and the bay on the other, we all agreed that we could have spent many more days enjoying Lagan. We were able to use the house as our home base from which to explore neighboring Westport, Bangor, Galway, and other attractions.

You really won't find a house that is as beautifully located and well appointed as Lagan. Working with the owner and his family was a true pleasure--all were so welcoming and accommodating. I cannot recommend Lagan enough! We're already planning our return!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - the location, the decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fishstone...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant time”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fantastic location with beautiful views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay. Quiet and peaceful. We had the beach to ourselves most of the time.The house was great with plenty of room for all of us. Everyone was very friendly. We didn't want to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: The pillows!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeDow
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent holiday ideal for large family reunion”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

we had our summer holiday at lagan house this year, it was a brilliant holiday
the house is located 2mins from beach, our kids had a fantastic time on beach
every day, in the evening they played in big garden surrounding the house while the adults relaxed on the patio having BBQ every night and admiring the beautiful views around the house.
We had family coming and going all week which was brilliant as the house was
big,spacious, clean and modern so we were not on top of each other . I would definitely stay here again. Loads of beautiful scenery around, we had a car so we went for drives to other beaches near by and all fantastic, we also had the best whether that week so it was an extra bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location near beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SXK526
London
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location near Blue Flag beach”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The smaller of 2 holiday rentals on this site, Lagan's living area has recently been extended to give awesome views of both Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick. The house is situated at the deserted end of the very clean Old Head Beach and is ideally located for families with small children, who will love swimming and exploring the many rock pools. The house also has a private lawn for ball games and a brick BBQ. Inside the living area is kitted out to a high standard with new TVs, but with the dome of Croagh Patrick nagging at you, you may find it hard to stay inside for too long.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing